Guides: English, Foundation and Employment Skills: Databases

Databases

You have access to online journals, conference papers, theses and dissertations via the databases:

World Book Discover > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes information on a variety or research topics plus dozens of videos on high-interest topics. Translates research articles into 31 languages and also reads text aloud in English.
World Book Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools including encyclopaedia articles, primary source collections, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit - Australia and New Zealand, an essential reference for study and research.
ANZ Reference Centre Plus [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes leading journals from Australia and New Zealand, more than 80,000 biographies and over 510,000 photos, maps & flags
EBSCO [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window EBSCO contains Academic Journals, Books, Monographs, Essays, Periodicals, Conference Proceedings. Included are Image Quick View Type with Photos, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations.
ProQuest Central [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across all major subject areas and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world
Informit [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit has a number of data bases including APAFT (Australian Public Affairs, Full text); Engineering, and EduTV

Why use databases?

Databases are rich sources of journal, news and magazine articles. Journal articles provide quality, up to date information and students use them to complement other sources of information such as books.

Set up an Email Alert

Want to remain current on a subject or with new issues of a journal? You can create what is called an email "Alert" in the various databases. Below are tutorials and information on how to set these up for EBSCO, ProQuest, and Informit.

English, Foundation and Employment Skills: Databases

Databases

Why use databases?

Set up an Email Alert

What are databases and why you need them

Your Login