Infection Control - unmapped vanessa to assess - North Metropolitan TAFE: Reusable content

eBooks - Infection Control - Health Services Asssistant

Block's Disinfection, Sterilization, and Preservation (2020) The book focuses on disease prevention--rather than eradication--and has been thoroughly updated with new information based on recent advances in the field and understanding of the risks, the technologies available, and the regulatory environments.
Essential Microbiology (2013) Considering all aspects of their biology (structure, metabolism, genetics), and illustrates the remarkable diversity of microbial life by devoting a chapter to each of the main taxonomic groupings. The second part of the book introduces the reader to aspects of applied microbiology, exploring the involvement of microorganisms in areas as diverse as food and drink production, genetic engineering, global recycling systems and infectious disease.
Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance (2012) This concise and popular introduction to medical microbiology andinfection encapsulates the fundamental facts and principles of thisrapidly growing and changing subject area. Written by experiencedclinicians and teachers, it covers the basic concepts of medicalmicrobiology, and the main human pathogens and infectioussyndromes, in an accessible and lucid format. This fully updated fourth edition is now supported by acompanion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/medicalmicrobiologycontaining extra self-assessment cases, colour slides, furtherreading, and key point summaries. Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance is aninvaluable revision aid for medical and allied health students andjunior doctors, and is ideal for anyone seeking a comprehensive andconcise guide to this subject area.
Medical Surgical Nursing for Australian Students (2022) Includes chapters on the integumentary system, respiratory system, circulatory system, digestive system, urinary system, endocrine system etc
Microbiology and infection control for health professionals. 6th Edition. (2016) The only fully Australian ground-up microbiology text with a focus on infection control for nursing and allied health students. This resource aims to provide a comprehensive guide to microbiology, infectious diseases and infection control. It is suitable for students, clinicians and educators in the health professions. Microbiology is rapidly changing due to new research, the discovery of new diseases and pathogens, and changes in clinical practice. This edition presents a comprehensive update in new diagnostic techniques and improved guidelines for antibiotic use and infection control. Where appropriate, the emphasis is placed on Australian data, the incidence of diseases in Australia, and Australian guidelines for infection control practices.
Microbiology and Infection Prevention and Control for Nursing Students. (2016) Preventing and controlling infection has long been an on-going challenge for all healthcare workers at every level. High profile examples like the Ebola outbreak in West Africa or the prevalence of 'super bugs' like MRSA demonstrate that this challenge is not going to go away. As a nurse you have a responsibility to protect your patients from harm and preventing and controlling infection is a crucial component of this. By introducing microbiology principles to explain how infection occurs and spreads and the practical steps and precautions that you need to follow, this book will equip you with the knowledge and information necessary to play your part in preventing and controlling infection.
The Royal Marsden Hospital Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures

Australian Standards - Infection Control

AS/NZS 4187:2014

Reprocessing of reusable medical devices in health service organizations

Cleaning, disinfecting and sterilizing reusable medical and surgical instruments and equipment, and maintenance of associated environments in health care facilities .

Reprocessing of reusable medical devices in health service organizations.

Access Australian Standards by using the link below. Enter your student number & current password.

Standards Australia Help and Access > NMT This link opens in a new window A complete listing of all the Australian and New Zealand Standards that you require for your work and study. FAQ's to assist you are also to be found here.

National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards The NSQHS Standards were developed by the Commission in collaboration with the Australian Government, states and territories, private sector providers, clinical experts, patients and carers. The primary aims of the NSQHS Standards are to protect the public from harm and to improve the quality of health service provision. The eight NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health services.

Physical Books in the Library - Infection Control - Health Services Asssistant

Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (2018) Emphasizing the relevance of microbiology to a career in the health professions, the book provides the vital microbiology information students need to protect themselves and their patients from infectious diseases. Enhanced by the expertise of a new lead author, this edition maintains its student friendly approach while adding new animations and videos and up-to-date coverage of key topics.
Infection Control Manual for Healthcare Professionals (2015) It educates healthcare students practicing in a clinical setting by providing a comprehensive understanding of infection control. The text is mapped to competency HLTIN301C and provides valuable underpinning knowledge and skills required to reduce infection transmission, prevention and control. Handy in size, complete with spiral binding and coated paper, make this handbook a great resources for use within clinical settings, or as a reference guide.
Medical Microbiology (2018) It provides ideal coverage for medical and biomedical students - with 'Key Points' boxes throughout to highlight the essentials. New and expanded coverage of hot topics and emerging areas important to clinical practice, including: Genomics The Human Microbiome Direct acting antiviral agents for the treatment of HCV infection Molecular methods in diagnostic microbiology Antibiotic Stewardship Clinical cases - to introduce how patients with infections present and help relate key principles to practice MCQs for each chapter.
Microbiology for the Healthcare Professional. 3rd Edition. (2021) Microbiology for the Healthcare Professional, 3rd Edition offers an excellent foundation for understanding the spread, treatment, and prevention of infectious disease - critical knowledge for today's healthcare professional. This straightforward introductory text makes microbiology approachable and easy to learn, presenting just the right level of information and detail to help you comprehend future course material and apply concepts to your new career.
Tabbner's Nursing Care 2 Vol Set (2021) Chapter 8 on work, health and safety

Online Videos - Infection Control - Health Services Asssistant

5 Moments For Hand Hygiene - HHA [2009] 5 points that include videos explaining the different parts of clean hand health. 'Based on the 'My 5 moments for Hand Hygiene' © World Health Organization 2009.
Hand Hygiene - Clean hands can save lives (2020) A fun video on the importance of hand hygiene by staff at Cabrini Health.
Hand Hygiene Australia - 5 Moments For Hand Hygiene (2009) Five Moments for Hand Hygiene have been identified as the critical times when Hand Hygiene should be performed.
Hand Hygiene | NEJM (2011) Health-care associated infections are a threat to patient safety and the most common adverse events resulting from a stay in the hospital. Approximately 5 to 10% of hospitalized patients in the developed world acquire such infections, and the burden of disease is even higher in developing countries.
Infection Control: Basic Infection Prevention Techniques (2012) This program will discuss the chain of infection as well as some of the basic interventions that can be performed to protect patients and staff including the use of standard precautions and personal protective equipment (PPE), proper hand washing, and cleaning personal equipment between patients.
Infection Control: Break The Chain (2010) The "break the chain" video shows how easy it is for hospital-acquired infections like MRSA and Clostridium difficile to be spread.
Infection Control Challenges: Real Risks for Patients and Staff — A Lecture (2016) In this video seminar, epidemiologist William Inman, who works with the CDC on disease outbreaks, teaches essential strategies to protect patients and staff from resistant microorganisms, reemerging vaccine-preventable diseases, and new infectious disease threats. He discusses proper aseptic technique, types of infections, immunization guidelines, the recurrence of such diseases as pertussis and measles, protection against multi-drug resistant organisms.
Infection Control for the Medical Assistant (2021) The importance of infection control has increased in recent decades due to diseases such as AIDS, hepatitis B and hepatitis C, and diseases caused by drug-resistant pathogens. This program focuses on the basic principles of infection control
Infection Control in Healthcare (2021) Introducing infection control policies, this program explains the importance of performing proper hand hygiene, shows how to properly perform the different hand hygiene methods and fingernail care, demonstrates use of personal protective equipment, teaches how to remove personal protective equipment properly, and discusses considerations related to infection control safe practices.
Infection Control in Long Term Care (2021) This program introduces infection control policies, explaining that gowns and gloves should be worn by staff for all interactions that involve contact with the resident's bodily fluids, blood, secretions, or excretions, as well as contact with potentially contaminated areas in the environment and that personal protective equipment (PPE) should be donned before entry into the room and discarded before exit.
Principles of sterile technique (2016)
Rise of the Superbugs
Safetyhub - Covid 19 Management - Hand Washing Basics [Safety short] Coronavirus - How is it spread? [Safety short] Coronaviruses are a large group of viruses that can cause illnesses ranging... Coronavirus and COVID-19 Prevention and Management [current version] Coronaviruses are a large group of viruses that can cause illnesses ranging... Coronavirus Control Measures [Safety short] As a family, coronaviruses are common across the globe. This safety short... Face Mask Basics - Coronavirus Control [Safety short] Face Masks are an effective control measure that can be used to control the... Hand Washing Basics [Safety short] Effective hand washing technique is crucial in helping avoid infectious...
WHO: SAVE LIVES - Clean Your Hands - No action today; no cure tomorrow (2014) Every year, millions of patients are affected by infections transmitted during their stay in a health-care facility, where resistant germs are often transferred via the hands of health workers. Resistance to antimicrobials reduces or impedes the effectiveness of any treatment for the prevention and cure of infections. Hand hygiene is the most effective intervention to reduce transmission of infections and resistant germs.

Websites

5 Moments For Hand Hygiene - HHA [2009] 5 points that include videos explaining the different parts of clean hand health. 'Based on the 'My 5 moments for Hand Hygiene' © World Health Organization 2009.
Australasian College of Infection Prevention and Control The College is the peak body for Infection Prevention and Control professionals in the Australasian region.
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Australian Guidelines for the Prevention and Control of Infection in Healthcare (2023) The Australian Guidelines for the Prevention and Control of Infection in Health Care provide evidence-based recommendations about the critical aspects of infection prevention and control, focusing on core principles and priority areas for action. All health service organisations should consider the risk of transmission of infection and implement these recommendations according to their specific setting and circumstances.
Better Health Channel – Infection Control Transmission of infection Assumption of risk Personal hygiene practices Food preparation Cleanliness in the workplace Dealing with spills of body fluids Infectious waste Handling needles and other sharp contaminated objects Occupational exposure Where to get help Things to remember
Control of communicable diseases manual (2023) PDF Link under related links on side of page: For teachers, childcare workers, local government authorities and health practitioners
Emerging Infectious Diseases Emerging Infectious Diseases, an open access, peer reviewed journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, promotes the recognition of new and reemerging infectious diseases around the world and improves the understanding of factors involved in disease emergence, prevention, and elimination.
Hand Hygiene Online Certificate
Hands-On Infection Control - Links page Hands-On Infection Control aims to provide health care providers, other human service organisations and their clients with a service that offers quality and value, and meets the infection prevention and management needs as defined by the customer.
History of Vaccines The story of vaccines did not begin with the first vaccine–Edward Jenner’s use of material from cowpox pustules to provide protection against smallpox. Rather, it begins with the long history of infectious disease in humans, and in particular, with early uses of smallpox material to provide immunity to that disease.
Immunisation Handbook
Infection Control CPG Glossary - St John Ambulance - WA (2023) List of terms with descriptions.
Infection Prevention and Control - WA Health Infection prevention and control operational directives and circulars. Includes policies for various infectious diseases.
Infection Prevention and Control Online Modules
Infectious Diseases
Infectious Diseases (WHO) Browse through the 'A to Z' of health topics from WHO
Management of Occupational Exposure to Blood or Body Fluids in Healthcare Settings (2022) These guidelines have been released by the Communicable Disease Control Directorate, Public and Aboriginal Health Division, Western Australian Department of Health, to provide consistent and evidence informed advice to agencies involved in the prevention of infections and management of communicable diseases in Western Australia.
Preventing Infections in Health Services
WHO Standard Precautions in Health Care Standard precautions are meant to reduce the risk of transmission of bloodborne and other pathogens from both recognized and unrecognized sources. They are the basic level of infection control precautions which are to be used, as a minimum, in the care of all patients.

North Metropolitan TAFE: Reusable content: Infection Control - unmapped vanessa to assess

eBooks - Infection Control - Health Services Asssistant

Australian Standards - Infection Control

Physical Books in the Library - Infection Control - Health Services Asssistant

Online Videos - Infection Control - Health Services Asssistant

Websites