Skip to Main Content

Education Support: Practicum Resources

Welcome to our Library guide to education support.

Early Childhood Collection

The Early Childhood Collection includes all the toys, posters, books and other items shelved in the Early Childhood Collection at both Murdoch and Thornlie campus libraries. 

Note that the toys are not shown in Supersearch results - if you are looking for something in particular please ask the library staff.

Who may borrow from the Early Childhood Collection?

All currently enrolled Children's Services and Education Support students while they are doing their supervised field placements.  All items must be replaced once the placement is finished.  Students will also be able to borrow items for class projects.

Students may borrow ten items from the Early Childhood Collection for a three week period.  They include the toys, children's fiction, children's non-fiction and poster sets.  These may be renewed, if not in demand.

Arrangement of the Collection

The children's fiction is shelved alphabetically by the first letter of the authors surname and includes storybooks, picture books and large format books.  The children's non-fiction is shelved according to the Dewey Decimal System and can include large and small format books.  Toys are shelved in cupboards and shelves and arranged according to type.

The toys are grouped according to the Torrens Classification System.  The developmental areas to which the toys are aimed are:

 

61    Speech and Language Development
62  Socio-Dramatic Play
63 Pre-Reading and Reading Materials and Programs
64 Mathematical Materials
65 Science Materials
66 Social Studies
69 Performing Arts - Music
80 Sensory
81 Sensory-Motor
82 Perceptual
83 Perceptual-Motor
84 Motor
85 Conceptual and Abstract Reasoning
86  Self-help Skills                                                       

Quick Links

SUPERSEARCH APA REFERENCINGLIBRARY TVLIBRARY WEBSITE STUDENT HUB

 

Good Early Childhood Collection User Procedure

  1. Check the condition and confirm the pieces with the label, before borrowing item(s).  Notify the Library immediately if anything appears missing or damaged.​
  2. Set bags and containers aside, and any small pieces that you think may get lost.  Use your own boxes to transport to your field placement Centre.  Keep an eye on the toys while you are at the Centre; make sure they don't get "packed away" with the Centre's toys.
  3. After use take the items home and clean as necessary.  Make sure the toys are complete and re-box / re-bag correctly.​
  4. Return items to the Library and wait until the Library staff checks them in.

Maintenance

Manipulative Toys, Transport Sets & Baby Toys

These items must be washed in hot soapy water and dried thoroughly (no residue water before storing).

Any toy that has come into contact with body fluids (urine, saliva, faeces etc.) will need disinfection (Bleach 1:20 solution).  Allow to dry.

Jigsaws and Wooden Toys

Do not submerge in water.  Use sterilised cloth and wipe over pieces (use dry cloth for excess moisture) or use disinfectant spray and allow to dry.

Books

Books with cardboard pages should only be wiped according to jigsaw instructions.  Please do not wipe any other books.