Guides: Conservation and Environment: Weblinks

Weblinks

Interactive Keys assist with identification of species. These are on-line versions available both on and off campus.

AusGrass2 AusGrass2 builds on the foundation of AusGrass, from data maintained in DELTA format, one for species and infra-specific taxa and another for genera. Features include: Australian grass literature references, references to Australian illustrations, basionyms and protologue information and derivation of species names
EUCLID - Eucalypts of Australia An interactive key to the 917 Australian species and subspecies of eucalypts (Angophora, Corymbia and Eucalyptus), based on taxonomy up to December 2009.
Families of Flowering Plants of Australia Flowers without a perianth, or perianth if present very small and not clearly discernable Flowers with a clearly discernable perianth (petals and/or sepals, or tepals) in one or more whorls, (the perianth may be small but is clearly discernable using a hand lens)
FloraBase - the Western Australian Flora Western Australia is recognised as possessing one of the most diverse and unique floras in the world. The isolated south-western corner of Western Australia, with its mediterranean climate, is considered amongst the world’s 34 plant biodiversity hotspots. This web site delivers the latest authoritative information about the Western Australian flora in an accessible and interactive manner. Information is presented in a thematic way, so that users focused on particular components of the State’s flora, such as the conservation taxa or naturalised weeds can readily keep up to date.
Goodeniaceae A key to the Western Australian species in the family Goodeniaceae by Chris Hollister and Kevin Thiele.
Haemodoraceae A key to the Western Australian species in the family Haemodoraceae by Chris Hollister and Kevin Thiele.
Proteaceae A key to the Western Australian species in the family Proteaceae.
WATTLE Acacias of Australia The WATTLE ver. 3 key (which is also available as an App) enables users to identify wattle plants that occur anywhere in Australia or elsewhere in the world where they are grown. It includes 1,057 formally described species of Acacia, plus several hybrids and informal taxa of this genus. It also includes two species of Acaciella, four species of Senegalia and nine species of Vachellia that occur in Australia and which were previously included in Acacia.
Flora of Australia This new digital platform integrates a wide range of botanical information from many sources, such as nomenclature, distribution maps, images, biodiversity data, and identification keys.

The following links are to government web sites you could use for your studies.

BoM: Climate Change in Australia Bureau of Meteorology - Learn about the underpinning science, explore projections and data, learn about possible impacts, get news and updates and download technical and regional reports.
CSIRO: Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation is an independent Australian federal government agency responsible for scientific research. Its chief role is to improve the economic and social performance of industry for the benefit of the community.
Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water Responsible for matters including environment protection and conservation of biodiversity as well as energy policy.

Agriculture

Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development: agriculture and food Role in growing and protecting Western Australia’s agriculture and food sector. Working to help deliver meaningful results to industry, government and the community. Supporting all aspects of food and fibre production at each stage of the supply and value chains. Develops and enforces regulations that ensure the production of high-quality, safe and healthy food.
Soils: department of primary industries and regional development The department develops management practices to maximise soil productivity and minimise land degradation. It also provides technical information on managing soil constraints, including acidity, water repellence, subsoil compaction, erosion along with nutrient management. And supports agriculture through soil and land condition monitoring, condition assessment and providing management strategies and tools to improve soil condition.
Agriculture - Managing Risks Safe Work Australia

Biodiversity

Australian Biological Resources Study (ABRS) The Australian Biological Resources Study (ABRS) provides national leadership and support for the discovery, naming and classification of Australia’s living organisms. Information on Australia’s biodiversity, provided through taxonomy, underpins knowledge and decision-making across government, science and industry.
Databases: flora and vegetation for land management Table listing relevant databases compiled by Gudrun Wells, 2003, as part of research undertaken for Environment Australia on accessibility of national botanical and vegetation data.
Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions The department responsible for managing lands and waters described in the Conservation and Land Management Act 1984, the Rottnest Island Authority Act 1987, the Swan and Canning Rivers Management Act 2006, the Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority Act 1998, and the Zoological Parks Authority Act 2001, and implementing the state's conservation and environment legislation and regulations.
EPBC Act List of Threatened Fauna: Species Profile and Threats Database (SPRAT) The database is designed to provide information about species and ecological communities listed under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999. It provides information on what the species looks like, its population and distribution, habitat, movements, feeding, reproduction and taxonomic comments. The information has been compiled by summarising information from a range of sources and contributors.
Environmental Protection Authority An independent Board providing advice to the Minister for Environment. The website contains information about environmental impact assessment of significant projects, and policy and guidance on environmental matters.
Swan River Trust An advisory body providing independent, high level strategic advice on the protection of the Swan and Canning rivers and related developments. The Trust is vested with the care, control, and management of the river reserve with various responsibilities including developing policies, and preparing and reporting on strategic documents relating to the management of Perth’s iconic Swan Canning Riverpark.
TERN: Australia’s land ecosystem observatory Observes, measures and records critical terrestrial ecosystem parameters and conditions for Australia over time from continental scale to field sites at hundreds of representative locations. This information is standardised, integrated and transformed into model-ready data, enabling researchers to discern and interpret changes in land ecosystems.
Threatened Species & Ecological Communities The Department designs and implements Australian Government policy and programs to protect and conserve the environment, water and heritage, promote climate action, and provide adequate, reliable and affordable energy.
WA Herbarium

Land and Water

Australian Soil Resources Information System (ASRIS) Provides online access to the best available soil and land resource information in a consistent format across the country. ASRIS uses a hierarchy of mapping units with seven levels. Information relates to soil thickness, water storage, permeability, salinity, fertility, and erodibility. ASRIS includes a soil profile database with fully characterized and representative sites.
Better Urban Water Management Integrated land and water planning is based on the principle of total water cycle management which holistically considers all aspects of water including drinking water, groundwater, stormwater run-off, wastewater, waterway health and water reuse. This informs sustainable urban planning and development decisions. The Department of Water have developed a range of supplementary guidelines, publications and tools to assist land the implementation of Better urban water management.
Department of Water and Environment Regulation
Water and Land Use Planning When assessing risks from land planning and development proposals, the department may provide advice, including but not limited to, the following water resource considerations: The need to apply for licences and permits; Public drinking water source areas; Flood planning and mapping; Rivers and estuaries; Stormwater and urban water design; Water quality; Environmental water requirements; Water services; Water recycling and efficiency.
Landscape Data Visualiser The Visualiser allows you to drill into time series for any location, compare to data sets, and download data for further processing. An interactive map including: Biomass and carbon, water, soils and landscape, biodiversity and habitat and contextual data.
Water Notes The Water note series provides a general guide to river and wetland ecology, restoration and management. Some water notes refer to wetland management. For more detailed current information about wetland management, see A guide to managing and restoring wetlands in Western Australia (available on the Department of Parks and Wildlife website)
Soil and Landscape Grid of Australia Provides relevant, consistent, comprehensive, nation-wide data in an easily-accessible format.
UNDO Tool (Urban Nutrient Decision Outcomes) Aconceptual decision support tool that evaluates nutrient reduction decisions for urban developments on the sandy Swan Coastal Plain in south-west Western Australia. It is designed for ease-of-use by urban development proponents and for assessment by local and state government authorities. Providing users with the ability to implement a range of structural or non-structural design options to evaluate and reduce nutrients exported from an urban development.

Pests and Weeds

Agriculture and Food: weeds Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development - Articles on: Pest plants, declared plants, crop weeds, and weeds of national significance
Outbreak: national pest & disease outbreaks This website has been developed by the Australian, state and territory government agricultural agencies with the aim to provide information about emergency responses to animal and plant pest and disease incursions that affect Australia’s agriculture industries and environment.
Pests, Weeds and Diseases: department of primary industries and regional developmen Pests, weeds and diseases pose a serious risk for primary producers as they can impact on market access and agricultural production. To reduce the impact of pests, weeds and diseases, the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development: Works with landholders, grower groups, community groups and biosecurity groups. Provides diagnostic services and information on prevention, management and treatment. Provides biosecurity and quarantine measures.
Swan Weeds: list of weeds Swan Weeds is a database developed to provide accessible information on the most problematic environmental weeds in the region.
Weeds in Australia Invasive weeds are among the most serious threats to Australia's natural environment and primary production industries. They displace native species, contribute significantly to land degradation, and reduce farm and forest productivity. Australia spends considerable time and money each year in combating weed problems and protecting ecosystems and primary production on private and public land.
Weeds (Parks and Wildlife Service)

Work Safe

Safe Work Australia An Australian government statutory body established to develop national policy relating to WHS and workers’ compensation. Working in partnership with governments, employers and employees to drive national policy development on WHS and workers’ compensation matters.
Worksafe WA The development of a world class regulatory environment and enforcing the law in respect of safety and health in Western Australian workplaces has priority focus within the agency. Mission – to inspire employers and workers to ensure workplaces are safe through partnership, education and enforcement.

The following links are to web sites you could use for your studies.

Online Publications

DTWD Industry profile

For the Department of Training and Workforce Development's industry profile of your area:

Evaluating Websites

Not all of the information you find on the internet is accurate, up-to-date and reliable.

It is important to evaluate your information before you decide to use it in your assignment.

Ask yourself:

- how relevant is it?

- is it current and up-to-date?

- is it published by a reputable author or organisation?

Conservation and Environment: Weblinks

Weblinks

Online Publications

DTWD Industry profile

Evaluating Websites

Fake News and "Alternate Facts"