Search for a database
Create email forms here, then copy and paste html to required location.
When embedding links in html create here and then copy and paste hmtl code
All currently enrolled students regardless of campus are eligible to borrow from the Library.
A current Student ID card is required. Please present this card when using library services.
Students may borrow up to 10 items at a time.
| Collection | Loan Period |
|---|---|
| Books | 3 weeks |
| DVDs | 7 days |
| Journals/Magazines | 3 weeks |
Please note that you are responsible for the safe return of all items you borrow.
Only borrow for your own use. Other students are not permitted to use your ID card.
If you are studying off campus, you may be entitled to additional Library services to allow you to take full advantage of our items.
If the item you want is on loan, you can request that we hold it for you on its return.
Speak to Library Staff if you want to place a request. We will contact you when it is ready to collect.
Most items can be renewed up to 3 times.
This can be done in person, by phone, email or via Supersearch.
Loans cannot be renewed if:
We will send a courtesy notice by email prior to a items due date.
If you do not return items by the due date you will receive a reminder notice.
If an item is not returned within a reasonable time, you will be charged for the cost plus a non-refundable administration fee.
Borrowers with outstanding accounts may have their borrowing privileges suspended.
CRT students may borrow items from other WA TAFE Libraries and Universities such as Curtin, Murdoch and Edith Cowan.
You will be required to present your current Student ID card and proof of enrolment at the relevant library. Membership is valid for the current year only.
The conditions of use will vary at each institution so please check before you borrow.
Printing, copying and scanning are done via a multi-function device (MFD) and these are available at most campuses.
At the Geraldton campus your student ID card is required to operate a MFD.
All copying and printing must be done in compliance with Copyright Act requirements. For more information on Copyright go to our Copyright Guide for Students.
The Centre provides currently enrolled students with 24x7 access to modern computing facilities with internet access.
All computers have Microsoft Office software. Some multimedia and business software are also installed.
Printing, photocopying and scanning services are available in the Centre.
For after-hours access to the Centre please speak to one of our friendly library staff.
Your student ID card is essential for after-hours access.
The room provides currently enrolled students with modern computing facilities with internet access during business hours.
All computers have Microsoft Office software and printing is available.
A large multi touch screen is available for group interactive learning.
For information on your student login and how to access the student network (e.g. Student Portal, Blackboard, student email) visit the CRT website.
If you have forgotten your password, use Password Manager to reset your password. Instructions are available here: How do I Reset my Password?
Can't reset your password? Contact the Library or Bookshop for assistance. Please have your student ID number handy.
Instructions on how to connect your own device to the Central Regional TAFE wireless network, are available from your campus library.
BYO devices on the wireless network are not able to be connected to any MFD/printer.
If you are experiencing difficulties, bring your device into the Library and we will assist you.
Phones,tablets and laptops can be charged in the library. Please bring your own cable.
Most enrolled students studying on campus are entitled to a Student ID card.
Charges may apply for your card.
To enquire about a Student ID Card, contact Library staff.
Kalgoorlie students should contact Client Services at the Kalgoorlie Campus.
Laminating and document binding services are available. Fees are charged for these services.
Study/AV pods are available for group study. A PC, data projector, whiteboard wall, TV and DVD player are provided. See Library staff to book these.
Laminating services are available. Fees are charged for these services.
The Bookshop provides document binding services.
Orientations to the Library may be scheduled by your Lecturers during class time or during your student induction.
Personal training sessions are available to help you develop your referencing, research and library skills or use our online subject guides. Your lecturer may also schedule a training session during class time.
Contact Library staff to arrange a personal training session either face to face or online.
This service is free of charge to all CRTAFE students.
Only course related items not held by us may be requested using this service. Limits do apply.
For further information, please ask the Library Staff.
The Central Regional TAFE Library Service provides a shared study and learning environment for all students.
The information below describes the behaviour expected of all users, to ensure that we work together to provide a pleasant, safe and productive environment for all.
This supplements the Central Regional TAFE Student Code of Conduct, Student/Third Party Computer Acceptable Use Policy, Managing Student Behaviour Policy and other relevant College policies.
Use of the Central Regional TAFE Libraries signifies agreement with these conditions.
The Library Service offers a range of information literacy and orientation sessions for your students.
Orientation sessions explain the use of the library facilities and the services we offer. These are available in the campus libraries, for International Students Orientation Day, and, on request, at campuses without a library. Library Orientation sessions are conducted at the beginning of each term, generally in the Library, and may be booked by Lecturers during class time.
Information Literacy sessions can be conducted at most campuses on topics such as:
Please contact your local campus Library for more information about information literacy and orientation sessions.
We also have this information available online as self-paced courses. See our Library Know How page for more information.
We value your input in suggesting new resources for the Library. The expertise of lecturing staff is a critical element of building our collections.
Please let us know as soon as possible if you wish to request new resources for the collection, particularly if you need new books for your course. The lead time for adding new material to the Library collections can be long (up to six to eight weeks in some cases). You can use the form below to make requests. We will ask you which Campus or Online Library to add the resource to, and also which Subject Guide.
Need some help to discover new resources for your subject area? Talk to your Campus Senior Library Technician who will be happy to research your subject. They may provide you with a list of materials for consideration.
Alexander Street Press contains over 3500 instructional videos from Teachers TV from Education in Video (the UK's Dept of Education). These programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and watch relevant television content instantly. The database includes over 20,000 free- to-air and Foxtel programs including documentaries, drama and series. Informit EduTV is an essential resource for teaching and learning. The streaming technology combined with powerful search, sharing and storage functionality make this the perfect tool for integrating multimedia in the education sector. Be advised that Informit require advance notice if you would like a specific program or series to be included in this collection. Please contact your campus Senior Library Technician for further advice.
EduTV programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Kanopy is an on-demand, online video service for educational institutions. Kanopy provides access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.
Kanopy programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Safetycare produces Occupational Health and Safety DVDs and videos and these are streamed online via the Safetyhub interface. The Facilitator Guides for individual videos can be accessed by contacting your campus Senior Library Technician.
Safetyhub programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Video created by Lecturers for use with students can be hosted by the Library on our YouTube channel. Our guide is available here or on the E-Learning page of the Intranet.
Managing In-House VideoSharing quality information resources with your students is an important part of the teaching and learning experience, but what if the copyright of that resource is owned by somebody else?
In order to comply with your responsibilities under the Copyright Act, you need to understand the requirements of the Act in an educational institution, and to label (attribute) resources correctly
Use the DTWD Copyright Advisor to work out what you can copy, and how to correctly attribute your third-party content.
Do you have a Copyright query? Email copyright@smtafe.wa.edu.au for help
Check the Learning Development Unit calendar for upcoming training sessions.
Complete the self-paced online module Copyright: Doing it Right. This recently updated online learning module is easy to use and specially tailored to help VET practitioners interpret the copyright rules when developing learning resources.
South Metropolitan TAFE staff members can apply to become Library members. Contact your Campus Library for information on how to become a member. A Library card will be created for you upon your enrolment in the Library system. You must have a valid Staff ID card to borrow library material.
Do your students need a printed copy of an Australian Standard? Staff and students can download and print their own copies on all SMTAFE PCs. For more information see our Standards Australia help page for more information.
Adding eresources to Blackboard helpsheets coming soon!