The Library Service offers a range of information literacy and orientation sessions for your students.
Orientation sessions explain the use of the library facilities and the services we offer. These are available in the campus libraries, for International Students Orientation Day, and, on request, at campuses without a library. Library Orientation sessions are conducted at the beginning of each term, generally in the Library, and may be booked by Lecturers during class time.
Information Literacy sessions can be conducted at most campuses on topics such as:
Please contact your local campus Library for more information about information literacy and orientation sessions.
We also have this information available online as self-paced courses. See our Library Know How page for more information.
Please let us know as soon as possible if you wish to request new resources for the collection, particularly if you need new books for your course. The lead time for adding new material to the Library collections can be long (up to six to eight weeks in some cases).
Please contact your local Campus Library for information about how to request new library resources or to request a specific title.
Need some help to discover new resources for your subject area? Talk to your Campus Senior Library Technician who will be happy to research your subject. They may provide you with a list of materials for consideration.
Alexander Street Press contains over 3500 instructional videos from Teachers TV from Education in Video (the UK's Dept of Education). These programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and watch relevant television content instantly. The database includes over 20,000 free- to-air and Foxtel programs including documentaries, drama and series. Informit EduTV is an essential resource for teaching and learning. The streaming technology combined with powerful search, sharing and storage functionality make this the perfect tool for integrating multimedia in the education sector. Be advised that Informit require advance notice if you would like a specific program or series to be included in this collection. Please contact your campus Senior Library Technician for further advice.
EduTV programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Kanopy is an on-demand, online video service for educational institutions. Kanopy provides access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.
Kanopy programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Safetycare produces Occupational Health and Safety DVDs and videos and these are streamed online via the Safetyhub interface. The Facilitator Guides for individual videos can be accessed by contacting your campus Senior Library Technician.
Safetyhub programs can be easily integrated into your LMS and have fully authenticated access.
Video created by Lecturers for use with students can be hosted by the Library on our YouTube channel. Our guide is available here or on the E-Learning page of the Intranet.Managing In-House Video
Sharing quality information resources with your students is an important part of the teaching and learning experience, but what if the copyright of that resource is owned by somebody else?
In order to comply with your responsibilities under the Copyright Act, you need to understand the requirements of the Act in an educational institution, and to label (attribute) resources correctly
Use the DTWD Copyright Advisor to work out what you can copy, and how to correctly attribute your third-party content.
Do you have a Copyright query? Email firstname.lastname@example.org for help
Check the Learning Development Unit calendar for upcoming training sessions.
Complete the self-paced online module Copyright: Doing it Right. This recently updated online learning module is easy to use and specially tailored to help VET practitioners interpret the copyright rules when developing learning resources.
South Metropolitan TAFE staff members can apply to become Library members. Contact your Campus Library for information on how to become a member. A Library card will be created for you upon your enrolment in the Library system. You must have a valid Staff ID card to borrow library material.
Do your students need a printed copy of an Australian Standard? Staff and students can download and print their own copies on all SMTAFE PCs. For more information see our Standards Australia help page for more information.
See all our FAQs
Answer not there? Maybe it's not something the library can help with. If it is a library question then send us your name, email address, and question. We will respond via email in opening hours