Guides: Training and Assessment: Databases

Databases

The links below are to databases that could be useful in your search for information:

Education Journals [Proquest] > SMT
Contains the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. Offers complete information on hundreds of educational topics in primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education subjects.
Education Research Complete [EBSCO] > SMT
Education Research Complete is a online resource for education research and covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, including multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, full text for more than 1,200 journals, and full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Indigenous Collection [Informit] > SMT
Informit Indigenous Collection is an Australian database that covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies
Teacher Reference Center [EBSCO] > SMT
The Teacher Reference Centre provides a comprehensive guide to issues in Education. This includes: Education Research, Reference Tools for Teacher's including Web Publication Tools. Education Intervention for Mental Health, Asthma and Autistic Children, Pregnancy, and so on. Also covers Moderation and Education Reform, Education and Art Therapy, and Diet and Nutrition Programs.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] > SMT
Australian Bureau of Statistics
The ABS website provides free access to Australian statistical information and census data.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) [Informit] > SMT
The APAFT database brings together over 260 journals coving Australia's political, economic and social affairs and forms an essential reference for study and research.
Australian Standards Online > SMT
Standards Australia has introduced Digital Rights Management on all its Standards. This will affect how you access and use the Standards accessible to you through South Metropolitan TAFE. Click on the Lock Icon to see details and access help sheets.
ProQuest Central [Multiple Databases] > SMT
ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across all major subject areas and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] > SMT
SocINDEX with Full Text has a variety of information including Sociology, Additional Research on Drugs, Human Behavour and Social Work. Also includes a dictionary, books, journals, abstract, articles, Image Quick View, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations. Note that not all records are full-text.

What are databases and why you need them

Quick Links

SUPERSEARCH APA REFERENCING LIBRARY TV LIBRARY WEBSITE STUDENT PORTAL

Why use databases?

Databases are rich sources of journal, news and magazine articles. Journal articles provide quality, up to date information and students use them to complement other sources of information such as books.

Database Login Information

If you want to access our electronic resources (from home or a personal device), you will be asked to log in.

Students: Please use your Student username and password
Lecturers: Please use your Staff login username and password