Guides: Maritime Operations: Databases

Databases of eBooks

eBooks on EBSCOhost > SMT This link opens in a new window The eBook Collection has a selection of online books customised to the needs of SMT staff and students. Titles include Business and Economics, Computer Science and Technology, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health and Medicine, and Study Aids.
Marine Engineering and Naval Architecture [Knovel] > SMT This link opens in a new window Knovel describes the engineering, design, and operation of boats, ships, offshore structures, oil rigs, floating platforms, and their related mechanical and electrical equipment. Provides approaches for improving ship stability, better hydrodynamic design to minimize drag and improve fuel efficiency, improving the corrosion-resistance of metals at sea through coatings, paint, and new materials, and offers compliance guidelines for life saving equipment and design of safer vessels and structures.
Industrial Engineering and Operations Management [Knovel] > SMT This link opens in a new window Knovel industrial Engineering include subjects like ergonomic design, human factors engineering, workspace design, equipment maintenance and facility management, project management, quality control and six sigma, and supply chain management. Of use to industrial and manufacturing engineers improving facility design, assembly processes, and worker effectiveness to improve quality, achieve faster assembly, and lower worker injuries and downtime
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering [Knovel] > SMT This link opens in a new window Knovel covers the design of motors and drives, pipe design, hydraulics, fluid mechanics and rheology, boiler and pressure vessel design, HVAC, systems and equipment, ship and vehicle design and manufacturing, Finite Element Method, and control of vibration. Of use to mechanical, aerospace, manufacturing, plumbing, and automotive engineers designing mechanical devices for improved performance, increased energy efficiency and user satisfaction. Includes a collection of Knovel Equation Solver interactive equations.

Find out more about Knovel Databases
Use our Guide to find out all about Knovel, how to use it and all about the interactive tools

Databases of Journals and Articles

Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) This link opens in a new window AustLII is an online free-access resource for Australian legal information, including legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals; as well as law reform and Royal Commission reports.
Australian Standards Select Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The Techstreet database allows access to Australian and New Zealand Standards
Engineering Collection [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit’s Engineering Collection covers chemical, civil, electrical and mechanical engineering. The database offers scholarly journals, trade publications, reports and conference proceedings.
Business [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes ABI/Inform Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles and others. This database provides vocational information focused on the arts. Subject coverage includes architecture, building and construction, business, design, education, fashion, media and more.
Science & Technology [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window This database includes vocational level information focused on science and technology. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of subjects including arts, children, humanities, multicultural, psychology and more. (Full text back to 2001 for Journals like- Aviation Week, Art and Australia, Discover, New Scientist)
ANZ Reference Centre Plus [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Provides information from the Australian/New Zealand Reference Centre. Australian National News Wire, AAPPS Bulletin, Premier & Regional News, Advertiser Adelaide, Perth, Aboriginal Art of Australia.
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier Publications provides information on Company Profiles and Analysis including MarketLine Company Profiles Authority, Cited References, Images and Indexes.
Environment Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
GreenFILE [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE has general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Partial Full text only.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost has Magazines, Review Reports, Trade Publications and Academic Research has educational information on Hospitality and Tourism issues. Interesting information on the Hospitality and Toursm Industry, Management, Tourism impact, Development, Marketing, Planning and Developing and future trends.

Set up an Email Alert

Want to remain current on a subject or with new issues of a journal? You can create what is called an email "Alert" in the various databases. Below are tutorials and information on how to set these up for EBSCO, ProQuest, and Informit.

What are databases and why you need them

Why use databases?

Databases are rich sources of journal, news and magazine articles. Journal articles provide quality, up to date information and students use them to complement other sources of information such as books.

Maritime Operations: Databases

Databases of eBooks

Databases of Journals and Articles

Set up an Email Alert

What are databases and why you need them

Why use databases?

Your Login