Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Referencing Guide 7th edition: Books & eBooks

Books & eBooks

Reference List

Author Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of book (edition). Publisher.

Campbell, J. (2018). Web design: Introductory text for beginners (6th ed.). Cengage Learning.

Note: First word of the subtitle is capitalised

Note: Edition statement goes after the title

 

In-text
(Author Surname, Year)  OR  (Author Surname, Year, Page/s) 

(Campbell, 2018)  OR  (Campbell, 2018, p. 101)  

Reference List

Author Surname, Initial., & Author Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of book. Publisher. 

Bell, J., & Stathaki, E. (2018). The contemporary house. Thames & Hudson.

 

In-text

(Author Surname & Author Surname, Year)  OR  (Author Surname & Author Surname, Year, Page/s)

(Bell & Stathaki, 2018)  OR   (Bell & Stathaki, 2018, p. 101)  

 

Reference List

Author Surname, Initial.  (Year). Title of book. Publisher.

Berman, A., Snyder, S.J., Levett-Jones, T., Dwyer, T., Hales, M., Harvey, N. ... Stanley, D. (2012). Kozier and Erb's fundamentals of nursing (2nd Aust. ed.). Pearson.

Note: The first nineteen are listed; subsequent authors are omitted and replaced with an ellipsis (...) and then the last author is listed.


In-text

(Author Surname et al.,Year)  OR  (Author Surname et al., Year, Page/s) 
(Berman et al., 2012) OR (Berman et al., 2012, p. 101)

Note: Use the first author then et al.

Reference List

Title of book. (Year).  Publisher.

Tell me about the human body: Answers to hundreds of fascinating questions. (2016). Chancellor.

 

In-text

(First few words of the title, Year)  OR  (First few words of the title, Year, Page/s) 

(Tell Me About 2016) OR (Tell Me About, 2016, p. 101)

Note: In-text - you may shorten long book titles to a minimum of 3 words. You should capitalise each word in the in-text entry. 

Reference List

Editor Surname, Initial. (Ed.). (Year). Title of book. Publisher.

Fortenberry, D. (Ed.). (2017). The art museum. Phaidon Press.

 

In-text

(Editor Surname, Year)  OR  (Editor Surname, Year, Page/s) 

(Fortenberry, 2017) OR (Fortenberry, 2017, p. 101)

Reference List

Chapter Author Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of chapter. In Editor Initial. Editor Surname (Ed.), Title of book (Inclusive page numbers). Publisher.

Hughes, M., & Wilson, J. (2016).  Advocacy: An overarching approach. In E. Moore (Ed.), Case management: Inclusive community practice (pp. 143 -164). Oxford University Press.

 

In-text

(Author Surname, Year)  OR  (Author Surname, Year, Page/s) 

(Hughes & Wilson, 2016)  OR (Hughes & Wilson, 2016, p. 144)

Note: If you use the CITE/CITATION function you may need to edit the reference to align with NMTafe's practice

Reference List

Author Surname, Initial.  (Year). Title of book. http://xxxx

 Briggs, J.K. (2019). Triage protocols for aging adults. http://ovidsp.ovid.com.elogin02.dtwd.wa.gov.au/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=booktext&D=books&AN=02087434/1st_Edition/2&XPATH=/OVIDBOOK%5b1%5d/METADATA%5b1%5d/TBY%5b1%5d

In-text

(Author Surname, Year)  OR  (Author Surname, Year, Page/s) 
(Briggs, 2019) OR (Briggs, 2019, p. 7)

Dictionary with author/s

Reference List

Author Surname, Initial., Author Surname, Initial. & Author Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of book (edition). Publisher.    

King, J., Hawley, R. & Weller, B.F. (2016). Australian nurses' dictionary (6th ed.). Elsevier.

In-text

(Author Surname, Author Surname & Author Surname, Year) OR (Author Surname, Author Surname & Author Surname, Year, Page/s) 

(King, Hawley & Weller, 2016)  OR  (King, Hawley & Weller, 2016, p.252)  

 

Dictionary no author/s

Reference List

Title of book (edition). (Year). Publisher.

Collins Pocket English dictionary (9th ed.). (2012). Harper Collins.

Note: The title is not italicized, if there is no author.

In-text 

(First Few Words, Year)  OR  ("First Few Words", Year, Page/s) 

(Collins Pocket English, 2012)  OR (Collins Pocket English, 2012, p.58)  

Note: In-text, use a few words of the title in double quotation marks, with capitals or the whole title if it is short.

Online Dictionary

Reference List
Entry Title. (Year). In Title. http://xxxx

Diabetes. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster's online dictionary. Retrieved 28 Jan 2019 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/diabetes#medicalDictionary

Note: When an online dictionary is continuously updated, and not archived, such as the Merriam Webster Dictionary, you have to use n.d. for date of publication and include the "retrieved from" and date.

In-text
(Entry Title, Year)
(Diabetes, n.d.)

APA discourages the use of secondary sources and it is best practice to locate the original source, if possible. 

Reference List

Only the book or article that has been read is the one included in the Reference List. 
 

Book

Author Surname, Initial., Author Surname, Initial., Author Surname, Initial. & Author Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of book (ed.). Publisher

Veal, A.J., Darcy., & Lynch, R. (2013). Australian leisure (4th ed.). Pearson.

In-text

Acknowledge the author/s of the secondary source and the in-text will state (as cited in Author Surname, Year, Page) 

Smith, Austin & Kennedy, note that accessibility to all locations and buildings needs to be considered (as cited in Veal, Darcy & Lynch, 2013, p. 386)...

Journal article

Author Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of article. Journal TitleVolume(Issue). Page/s. http://xxxx

Kumar, R., Sarkar, B., Saha, S., & Equebal, A. (2017). Efficacy of myofascial release technique in chronic plantar fasciitis: A randomized controlled trial. Indian Journal of Physiotherapy & Occupational Therapy, 11(1), 118–123. https://doi-org.elogin02.dtwd.wa.gov.au/10.5958/0973-5674.2017.00023.5

In-text

Acknowledge the author/s of the secondary source and the in-text will state (as cited in Author Surname, Year, Page) 

The study by Chueh et al (as cited in Kumar, Sarkar, Saha, and Equebal, 2017, p. 122)...

Reference List

Author Surname, Initial. or Corporate Author. (Year). Title of book (edition). Publisher.

Cohen, B., & Hull, K. (2019). Memmler's the human body in health and disease (14th ed.). Wolters Kluwer.

In-text

(Author Surname, or Corporate Author, Year, page number)

(Cohen & Hull, 2019, p.138)