Skip to Main Content
eBooks - Pharmacology & Medication
Antibiotics simplified (2018)
This text simplifies learning infectious disease pharmacotherapy and condenses the many facts that are taught about antibiotics into one quick reference guide. This guide will help students learn the characteristics of antibiotics and why an antibiotic is useful for an indication. With an understanding of the characteristics of the antibiotics, students will be able to make a logical choice to treat an infection more easily.
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! (2013)
AAustralian and New Zealand edition. Part I presents fractions, decimals, percentages, ratios and proportions. Part II introduces the metric system, and also discusses unit and millimole systems. Part III looks at what constitutes a legal prescription, looks at the abbreviations that are used and presents the essentials of documentation. This section also includes a chapter devoted to preventing errors and promoting patient safety. Part IV covers oral, topical and rectal drugs. Part V focuses on parenteral administration.
Part VI deals with special considerations for paediatric, obstetric and critical care patients.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses. 4th ed. (2020)
This new edition has been carefully expanded to include new chapters on cardiovascular pharmacology and chemotherapy in cancer nursing. There are more details on drugs used in chronic and long-term conditions applied to nursing competencies and standards. It incorporates the new 2018 NMC standards for nursing education and links to practice guidelines. Additional case scenarios have been added spanning all areas of practice and include adult, elderly care, child, mental health and learning disability applications. This allows nurses to apply their knowledge to a range of different people with varying and complex needs to enhance their application to practice.
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance (2020)
Providing a visual overview of pharmacology, and describing the basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption, and excretion.
Clear and accessible chapters organised around common diseases and conditions facilitate efficient clinical learning, and include references
to drug classes and side effects, disease pathophysiology, prescribing guidelines, and more.
Explains drug mechanisms and the principles of drug action Discusses practical topics including drug misuse, drug indications, and side effects
Medical Surgical Nursing for Australian Students (2022)
Chapter 2 - Indigenous health and remote area nursing.
Understand social determinants, explain impact of closing the gap, discuss the role of a remote area nurse, common conditions experienced by indigenous Australians.
Pharmacology (2014)
Pharmacology fundamentals, including where drugs come from and how they're classified and administered Drugs by pharmacological class for all body systems Pain medications, anti-infective drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance, and much more Nursing process steps for each drug class Potentially dangerous drug interactions Easy! series this text includes relevant language, references, legislation and measurements for the Australia New Zealand marketplace.
Pharmacology for Dental and Allied Health Sciences. (4th edition) (2017)
SECTION 1: GENERAL PHARMACOLOGY -- SECTION 2: AUTONOMIC NERVOUS SYSTEM DRUGS SECTION 3: DRUGS ACTING ON THE KIDNEY -- SECTION 4: CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEM DRUGS SECTION 5: CENTRAL NERVOUS SYSTEM DRUGS -- SECTION 6: AUTACOIDS -- SECTION 7: RESPIRATORY SYSTEM DRUGS -- SECTION 8: DRUGS ACTING ON BLOOD -- SECTION 9: GASTROINTESTINAL TRACT DRUGS -- SECTION 10: CHEMOTHERAPY I -- SECTION 11: CHEMOTHERAPY II -- SECTION 12: HORMONES -- SECTION 13: MISCELLANEOUS DRUGS -- SECTION 14: DENTAL PHARMACOLOGY
Pharmacology made incredibly easy! (2017)
Fundamentals of nursing pharmacology - Autonomic nervous system drugs - Neurologic and neuromuscular drugs - Pain medications
- Cardiovascular drugs - Respiratory drugs - Gastrointestinal drugs - Genitourinary drugs - Hematologic drugs - Endocrine drugs - Psychotropic drugs - Anti-infective drugs
- Anti-inflammatory, antiallergy, and immunosuppressant drugs
- Antineoplastic drugs - Drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance
Patient Centred Care - Medication
Introduction to health psychology in Australia. 3rd ed. (2019)
In addition to the original European focus, this is a comprehensive Australian-focused textbook.
Updated/current content, mapped to industry standards.
Provides a comprehensive and balanced coverage of health psychology from an Australian and international perspective.
Including rural and regional areas, indigenous populations, and the high immigrant populations.
Relevant chapters include breeaking bad news, setting up the interview, perspectives on medication adherance (achieving concordance).
Journals Online - Pharmacology & Medication
Australian Prescriber
Australian Prescriber is an independent peer-reviewed journal providing critical commentary on drugs and therapeutics for health professionals.
Journal of Research in Pharmacy Practice
The main focus is on evidence-based drug-related medical research, particularly in the Eastern Mediterranean region. Topics include pharmaceutical care around the world, clinical toxicology, pharmacoepidemiology, social pharmacy, pharmacy education, process and outcome research, pharmacy administration, pharmacoeconomics, health promotion and education and health informatics.
Online Videos - Pharmacology & Medication
The 6 rights for safe Medication Administration (2017)
Our hospital staff are trained to follow the six rights for safe medication administration process to help reduce the risk of medication errors happening. As the patient, you are involved in this process. This video will help you understand the six rights, outlined the process to you and explain how you can contribute to your care.
Bedside Medication Administration Workflow (2017)
How to administer medications at the bedside. Including controlled medications and IV Fluids.
Generalized side effects (2017)
This video begins with an introduction to adverse drug reactions, looking at the generalized side effects for psychotropic medications used in the treatment of mental disorders. It teaches how to manage the different adverse reactions to ensure the patients continue their course of treatment in order to experience the potential benefits of psychotropic medication.
Pharmacodynamics: What a Drug Does to the Body (2017)
Mechanisms of Action 03:26
Using Drugs to Treat Disease 03:46 Monitoring 03:24
Drug Interactions 03:04
Adverse Drug Reactions 06:09
Pharmacology and the healthcare process (2017)
Discussing common causes of medication errors, this video teaches how to perform a patient medication assessment and reconciliation. It explains how a patient's age affects response to medications, defines the term polypharmacy, lists four criteria for setting patient care goals. The video also shows how to properly document medication administration.
Websites - Pharmacology & Medication
Department of Health - Australia - Safe Use of Medicines (2022)
QUM means:
Selecting management options wisely;
considering the place of medicines in treating illness and maintaining health
recognising that there may be better ways than medicine to manage many disorders
Enrolled Nurses and Medicine Administration
Enrolled nurses (ENs) are able to administer medicines if they have completed medication administration education at some stage in their career. An EN is able to administer medicines unless they have a notation on their registration which advises that they have not completed medication education.
Medication Safety (AS)
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare.
Medicines - Australian Dept of Health
Medicines help to prevent, treat or cure disease. Some are available over the counter, others need a doctor’s prescription. Find out what we’re doing to make sure medicines in Australia are safe, good quality and do what they say they will do.
Medicines - HealthDirect
A-Z list of medicines and their effects
Nursing Calculations - RMIT
The following tutorials are an introduction to basic drug calculations for nursing. After each tutorial, test your knowledge with the interactive activities.
The Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS)
This website contains information on the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme including details of the medicines subsidised by the Australian Government as well as information for consumers, carers, health professionals and the pharmaceutical industry. The PBS is part of Australia’s broader National Medicines Policy.
The Poisons Standard
The Poisons Standard consists of decisions regarding the classification of medicines and poisons into Schedules for inclusion in the relevant legislation of the States and Territories. The Poisons Standard also includes model provisions about containers and labels, a list of products recommended to be exempt from these provisions, and recommendations about other controls on drugs and poisons.
The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne - Peripheral intravenous (IV) device management.
The aim of this guideline is to provide an outline of the ongoing maintenance and management of the PIVC for patients in hospital, outpatient, and home healthcare settings. For information related to insertion of PIVC, please refer to intravenous access guideline (https://www.rch.org.au/clinicalguide/guideline_index/Intravenous_access_Peripheral/). Nurses who are deemed competent in IV insertion could continue to insert PIVC in consultation with NUM/CSN’s.
Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA)
Health professional information and education
Types of drugs - Australian Dept of Health
Drugs can be grouped together in different ways – by the way they affect the body, how they are used or where they are used. Find out which drugs we are focused on reducing in Australia.
eBooks - Anatomy - Pharmacology & Medication
Atlas of Human Anatomy (2018)
Every plate in the Atlas--and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions--are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate.
Anatomy Databases
Anatomy T.V. Primal Pictures
Home of the World’s most accurate and comprehensive digital human anatomy and physiology content – trusted by over 1,500 academic institutions globally.
Interactive: Human Anatomy [Gale] > NMT This link opens in a new window
This database is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
Medication Resources Online
Australian Medicines Handbook > NMT This link opens in a new window
Concise, reliable and comprehensive information for comparative drug data allowing users to compare drugs and make informed prescribing choices.
Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook > NMT This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date and vital information on more than 500 injectable medicines and is an essential frontline resource ensuring patient safety and quality care.
MIMS Online > NMT This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information about medications, descriptions, prescriptions and interactions. (Note: only four users can be online at any one time.)
Books - Medications & Drugs
Australian drug guide (2022)
What the drug is for how it works in your body how to take the drug what to do if you miss a dose how long before you
can expect to benefit from taking it severe and minor side effects things you must tell your doctor before taking the drug
when you should not take the drug chemical names and drug classes all brand names and if a cheaper generic version is available
Australian Drug Guide also includes a safety checklist for age, pregnancy, breastfeeding, sport, driving, alcohol, pre-existing conditions and interactions with other medications.
Australian Medicines Handbook (2020)
Australia's leading independent medicines reference providing concise, practical and reliable drug information. The book is designed with the busy health professional in mind. AMH structure is broken into easy to use chapters, drug classes and monographs, treatments and appendices.
Clinical dosage calculations (2020)
Part 1: Fundamental skills -- 1. Basic mathematics -- 2. Units of measurement -- 3. Medication charts -- 4. Using quality and risk management principles in dosage calculations -- 5. General dosage calculations -- 6. Infusion calculations -- Part 2: Skills deepening -- 7. Paediatric calculations -- 8. Aged care calculations -- 9. Midwifery calculations -- 10. Mental health calculations -- 11. Critical care and high dependency dosage calculations -- 12. Oncology calculations -- Part 3: Skills practice -- Practice questions -- Answers.
Gatford and Phillips' Drug Calculations (2023)
Supports the fundamental mathematical skills needed provide context and tips for application. With examples taken from everyday practice, learn calculations
for administering injections, tablets and mixtures, intravenous infusions, and safe dosages for children and the elderly.
Case scenarios and practical examples bring drug calculations to life
Introduction to the forms of medications - solid, liquid, infused and paediatric.
Covers medication administration concepts, mathematical formulas and pharmacokinetics related to calculating the
bioavailability of medications Safety messages and alerts ensure patient safety.
Havard's Nursing Guide to Drugs 11th ed. (2022)
This edition has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to ensure that usage, dose, side effects, contraindications and precautions are consistent with current Australian pharmaceutical guidelines. Available forms, action, use, dosage, adverse effects and interactions Formulae to calculate drug doses and drip rates All drugs listed by therapeutic class and body system Nursing points, including administration advice and cautions Patient education notes Midwifery/pregnancy considerations
Medication & Calculation
Basic Maths for Nurses (2021)
Nurses in clinical environments will often encounter situations that require the use of mathematical formulas and computations, such as metric conversions, to provide safe and effective patient care. Therefore, it is essential for the nurse to have a strong understanding of basic math and good math skills
Free Pharmacy Technician Practice Tests
If you’re working towards your pharmacy technician certification, and preparing for your PTCB Exam, then be sure to try our PTCB practice tests. Our tests all have challenging questions that are similar to those found on the actual exam. We also have many other PTCB test prep resources. Be sure to check out our top 200 drugs quiz, our pharmacy abbreviations quiz, and our controlled substances quiz.
Nursing calculations (RMIT) (2022)
Papragraph about each unit. The link takes you to an online video showing how to perform each calculation. • Finding the volume required.
• Using proportions with liquid solutions.
• Converting between large and small units
• Medication dosage by body weight
• The flow rate formula
• Managing fractions and decimals
• Drop factor: converting between millilitres and drops
• Converting flow rates between mL/hr and dpm
Books - Pharmacology
Community pharmacy - ANZ edition (2019)
This book has been carefully and thoroughly revised and reflects changes to over-the-counter drug scheduling and new over-the-counter drugs. In addition, the text highlights trends in pharmacy education and practice, with an emphasis on counselling, communication skills, evidence-based practice and customer requests specific to Australia and New Zealand.
Pharmacology for Health Professionals (2019)
Introduces essential pharmacology principles and concepts required to understand the therapeutic effects and clinical uses of current drugs and medicines.
For health sciences and nursing students and underpinned by current evidence-based medicine, this substantially updated edition continues to cover
topics vital to a holistic understanding of pharmacology.
These topics include historical, legal and ethical considerations, pharmacokinetics, and the therapeutic applications and adverse effects of current Australian and New Zealand drugs.
Pharmacology in Nursing (2020)
This text is a resource for nurses and health professionals in their understanding of drugs and their actions, especially with regard to the responsibilities of nurses in relation to medication administration and patient management.
The Pharmacy Technician (2020)
Master the latest knowledge and skills you need to work successfully with today's licensed pharmacists in a variety of clinical or retail settings. Moini's THE PHARMACY TECHNICIAN: A COMPREHENSIVE APPROACH, 4E provides readings that explore the latest medical and pharmaceutical terminology, pharmaceutical calculations, and techniques.
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! (2013)
AAustralian and New Zealand edition. Part I presents fractions, decimals, percentages, ratios and proportions. Part II introduces the metric system, and also discusses unit and millimole systems. Part III looks at what constitutes a legal prescription, looks at the abbreviations that are used and presents the essentials of documentation. This section also includes a chapter devoted to preventing errors and promoting patient safety. Part IV covers oral, topical and rectal drugs. Part V focuses on parenteral administration.
Part VI deals with special considerations for paediatric, obstetric and critical care patients.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses. 4th ed. (2020)
This new edition has been carefully expanded to include new chapters on cardiovascular pharmacology and chemotherapy in cancer nursing. There are more details on drugs used in chronic and long-term conditions applied to nursing competencies and standards. It incorporates the new 2018 NMC standards for nursing education and links to practice guidelines. Additional case scenarios have been added spanning all areas of practice and include adult, elderly care, child, mental health and learning disability applications. This allows nurses to apply their knowledge to a range of different people with varying and complex needs to enhance their application to practice.
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance (2020)
Providing a visual overview of pharmacology, and describing the basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption, and excretion.
Clear and accessible chapters organised around common diseases and conditions facilitate efficient clinical learning, and include references
to drug classes and side effects, disease pathophysiology, prescribing guidelines, and more.
Explains drug mechanisms and the principles of drug action Discusses practical topics including drug misuse, drug indications, and side effects
Pharmacology (2014)
Pharmacology fundamentals, including where drugs come from and how they're classified and administered Drugs by pharmacological class for all body systems Pain medications, anti-infective drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance, and much more Nursing process steps for each drug class Potentially dangerous drug interactions Easy! series this text includes relevant language, references, legislation and measurements for the Australia New Zealand marketplace.
Pharmacology for Dental and Allied Health Sciences. (4th edition) (2017)
SECTION 1: GENERAL PHARMACOLOGY -- SECTION 2: AUTONOMIC NERVOUS SYSTEM DRUGS SECTION 3: DRUGS ACTING ON THE KIDNEY -- SECTION 4: CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEM DRUGS SECTION 5: CENTRAL NERVOUS SYSTEM DRUGS -- SECTION 6: AUTACOIDS -- SECTION 7: RESPIRATORY SYSTEM DRUGS -- SECTION 8: DRUGS ACTING ON BLOOD -- SECTION 9: GASTROINTESTINAL TRACT DRUGS -- SECTION 10: CHEMOTHERAPY I -- SECTION 11: CHEMOTHERAPY II -- SECTION 12: HORMONES -- SECTION 13: MISCELLANEOUS DRUGS -- SECTION 14: DENTAL PHARMACOLOGY
Pharmacology made incredibly easy! (2017)
Fundamentals of nursing pharmacology - Autonomic nervous system drugs - Neurologic and neuromuscular drugs - Pain medications
- Cardiovascular drugs - Respiratory drugs - Gastrointestinal drugs - Genitourinary drugs - Hematologic drugs - Endocrine drugs - Psychotropic drugs - Anti-infective drugs
- Anti-inflammatory, antiallergy, and immunosuppressant drugs
- Antineoplastic drugs - Drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance
Introduction to health psychology in Australia. 3rd ed. (2019)
In addition to the original European focus, this is a comprehensive Australian-focused textbook.
Updated/current content, mapped to industry standards.
Provides a comprehensive and balanced coverage of health psychology from an Australian and international perspective.
Including rural and regional areas, indigenous populations, and the high immigrant populations.
Relevant chapters include breeaking bad news, setting up the interview, perspectives on medication adherance (achieving concordance).
Atlas of Human Anatomy (2018)
Every plate in the Atlas--and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions--are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate.
Australian drug guide (2022)
What the drug is for how it works in your body how to take the drug what to do if you miss a dose how long before you
can expect to benefit from taking it severe and minor side effects things you must tell your doctor before taking the drug
when you should not take the drug chemical names and drug classes all brand names and if a cheaper generic version is available
Australian Drug Guide also includes a safety checklist for age, pregnancy, breastfeeding, sport, driving, alcohol, pre-existing conditions and interactions with other medications.
Australian injectable drugs handbook (2020)
The handbook offers concise, referenced information for nurses and pharmacists for use at the ward level when preparing medicines for administration by injection.
Australian Medicines Handbook (2020)
Australia's leading independent medicines reference providing concise, practical and reliable drug information. The book is designed with the busy health professional in mind. AMH structure is broken into easy to use chapters, drug classes and monographs, treatments and appendices.
Clinical dosage calculations (2020)
Part 1: Fundamental skills -- 1. Basic mathematics -- 2. Units of measurement -- 3. Medication charts -- 4. Using quality and risk management principles in dosage calculations -- 5. General dosage calculations -- 6. Infusion calculations -- Part 2: Skills deepening -- 7. Paediatric calculations -- 8. Aged care calculations -- 9. Midwifery calculations -- 10. Mental health calculations -- 11. Critical care and high dependency dosage calculations -- 12. Oncology calculations -- Part 3: Skills practice -- Practice questions -- Answers.
Gatford and Phillips' Drug Calculations (2023)
Supports the fundamental mathematical skills needed provide context and tips for application. With examples taken from everyday practice, learn calculations
for administering injections, tablets and mixtures, intravenous infusions, and safe dosages for children and the elderly.
Case scenarios and practical examples bring drug calculations to life
Introduction to the forms of medications - solid, liquid, infused and paediatric.
Covers medication administration concepts, mathematical formulas and pharmacokinetics related to calculating the
bioavailability of medications Safety messages and alerts ensure patient safety.
Havard's Nursing Guide to Drugs 11th ed. (2022)
This edition has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to ensure that usage, dose, side effects, contraindications and precautions are consistent with current Australian pharmaceutical guidelines. Available forms, action, use, dosage, adverse effects and interactions Formulae to calculate drug doses and drip rates All drugs listed by therapeutic class and body system Nursing points, including administration advice and cautions Patient education notes Midwifery/pregnancy considerations
Community pharmacy - ANZ edition (2019)
This book has been carefully and thoroughly revised and reflects changes to over-the-counter drug scheduling and new over-the-counter drugs. In addition, the text highlights trends in pharmacy education and practice, with an emphasis on counselling, communication skills, evidence-based practice and customer requests specific to Australia and New Zealand.
Pharmacology for Health Professionals (2019)
Introduces essential pharmacology principles and concepts required to understand the therapeutic effects and clinical uses of current drugs and medicines.
For health sciences and nursing students and underpinned by current evidence-based medicine, this substantially updated edition continues to cover
topics vital to a holistic understanding of pharmacology.
These topics include historical, legal and ethical considerations, pharmacokinetics, and the therapeutic applications and adverse effects of current Australian and New Zealand drugs.
Pharmacology in Nursing (2020)
This text is a resource for nurses and health professionals in their understanding of drugs and their actions, especially with regard to the responsibilities of nurses in relation to medication administration and patient management.
The Pharmacy Technician (2020)
Master the latest knowledge and skills you need to work successfully with today's licensed pharmacists in a variety of clinical or retail settings. Moini's THE PHARMACY TECHNICIAN: A COMPREHENSIVE APPROACH, 4E provides readings that explore the latest medical and pharmaceutical terminology, pharmaceutical calculations, and techniques.