Guides: Health and Nursing: Databases

Databases

The links below are to databases that could be useful in your search for information:

Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures) > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers anatomy and physiology with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations.
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window The ABS website provides free access to Australian statistical information and census data.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window The APAFT database brings together over 260 journals coving Australia's political, economic and social affairs and forms an essential reference for study and research.
CINAHL Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINaHL) is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 indexed journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The care and health policy is published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Cochrane produces systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy. Intervention reviews assess the benefits and harms of interventions used in healthcare and health policy.
Health & Medicine [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window This resource offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals as well as curriculum-based health videos. It includse Nursing and Allied Health, OSH and Family Health.
Joanna Briggs Institute > SMT This link opens in a new window The JBI - EBP Database provides a collection of Educational Health Care subjects and issues. The JBI Evidence-Based Practice Journal and the JBI database of Systematic Review and Implementation Reports. Health issues include Medication Errors - (Best Practice sheets), Wound Care (Recommended Practices), Falls - Consumer Information Sheets and Information, plus Instructional Material.
MIMS Online > SMT This link opens in a new window Authoritative information about medications, including descriptions, prescribing information, interactions and side effects. Also allows search by pill size, shape, colour, and markings.
Social Sciences [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window ProQuest Social Science Journals provide information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.

Set up an Email Alert

Want to remain current on a subject or with new issues of a journal? You can create what is called an email "Alert" in the various databases. Below are tutorials and information on how to set these up for EBSCO, ProQuest, and Informit.

What are databases and why use them

Database Login Information

If you want to access our electronic resources (from home or a personal device), you will be asked to log in.

Students: Please use your Student username and password
Lecturers: Please use your Staff login username and password