Guides: Science: Books/Standards/Video

Featured Laboratory Books and eBooks

Nielsen's Food Analysis Laboratory Manual

Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests

Australian Standards

Our Standards Australia collection may be searched directly. We have also listed the standards we feel most relevant to your subject.

Standards Australia Database > SMT The Standards Australia Database allows access to select Australian and New Zealand Standards as well as some ISO Standards

Subject Searches

A search of Supersearch (library catalogue) will find resources in varied formats by using search terms and Filters. We have created a few subject searches for you here below. If you find a title of interest, the link will either take you directly to the online resource, or show you which of our libraries hold the physical items.

Chemistry [Resource type - Books]

Laboratory [Resource type - Books]

Microbiology [Resource type - Books]

eBook Collections

You can search our ebook collections for relevant book titles using appropriate search terms.

eBooks on ProQuest Central > SMT Covers many subject areas including Fine Arts, Business Studies, Education and Languages, Geography, ICT, Travel, Tourism and Hospitality. Health, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy, Psychology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Computer Science, Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Maths and Science.
eBooks on EBSCOhost > SMT The eBook Collection has a selection of online books customised to the needs of SMT staff and students. Titles include Business and Economics, Computer Science and Technology, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health and Medicine, and Study Aids.
eBooks on Ovid > SMT Ovid eBooks contain the Nursing made incredibly easy series as well as other medical based e-book titles.
Knovel [Collection] > SMT A wide range of engineering resources (ebooks, dictionaries, encyclopedia, conference proceedings) and tools for the targeted subjects such as oil and gas, mechanical engineering, marine engineering and industrial engineering and related topics. Tools include a unit converter, material properties data, equation worksheet. See our Knovel Guide for more details

Video on DVD

DVDs may be borrowed from our libraries, usually for 7 days. Use Supersearch to find titles and use Resource Type to limit by Videos.

Chemical Equations in the Real World This program takes an in-depth look at five common products that are in use all around us and explores the chemistry behind their manufacture and/or use, including chemical equations. Using graphics and footage from inside manufacturing plants, we see examples of how chemistry is so prevalent in the real world - and examine various reactions taking place. The products are soap, polystyrene, aluminium, paint and car batteries.
Safety in the Senior Science Lab
Science Lab skills 1
Science Lab Skills 2

Streamed Video Collections

Search our streamed collections for yourself.

Tip: Videos play best in Chrome

Alexander Street Press Video Collection > SMT Alexander Street Press Video Collection includes Music and Performing Arts, Classical and World Musio. Issues in Health Science, Social Science and Engineering, Anthropology, Business Economics, History, Diversity, Art and Design, Personal Interest, Psychology and Counselling.
EduTV > SMT EduTV includes over 20,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series
Kanopy > SMT Kanopy is a streaming video service with customised content on a wide range of subjects, including health and safety, child care, education, hospitality and engineering. (Note that requests for additional titles are only available to staff via the online request form. Students should consult their lecturers or our guides for alternative content.)
Safetycare Safetyhub > SMT Safetycare Safetyhub contains Safetycare's comprehensive library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training video programs.