Guides: Mortar Trades: Concreting

eBooks

Foundations and Concrete Work This revised edition features 17 new articles from Fine Homebuilding magazine, all focused on helping builders form and pour the absolute highest-quality foundations.
Green Building with Concrete With superior fire resistance, strength, and a long service life, concrete is the most widely used construction material in the world. A sustainable material, concrete is also easily and affordably reused and rehabilitated. The first book to provide an overview of sustainability and concrete, Green Building with Concrete: Sustainable Design and Con
Innovative Materials and Techniques in Concrete Construction Recent years have seen enormous advances in the technology of concrete as a material, through which its strength, compactness and ductility can reach levels never dreamed of before.

Construction Engineering Australia Provides readers with a comprehensive, highly informative and highly targeted publication specialising in all aspects of construction.

Formwork for Concrete Structures Provides current information on designing and building formwork and temporary structures during the construction process.
Reinforced Concrete Basics A book on analysis and design of reinforced concrete structures, starting with the fundamentals followed by the developing of advanced approaches.
The Sustainable Use of Concrete Presents guidelines on how to move toward sustainable concrete construction. It examines environmental, social and cultural, and economic aspects, then considers an evaluation system of sustainability.
Pre-Apprenticeship Maths & Literacy for Concreting Provides students with the skills they need to confidently pursue a career within this trade. It includes hundreds of example assessment questions and also supports concepts that students studying VET may use.
Basics Concrete Construction This title imparts the basic knowledge every architect needs to master for planning reinforced and non-reinforced concrete construction.
Good Practice Guide: Concrete Masonry The design, detailing and weatherproofing principles of this good practice guide can also be applied to single-skin masonry wall construction.

Concrete Masonry Association of Australia CMAA is the peak body that represents the concrete masonry manufacturers of Australia. This includes bricks, blocks, pavers and retaining walls.
Engineering Training Institute Australia: Technical Information A list of common terms in the cement and concrete industry. Beneath each term is some basic technical information regarding this topic.
Steel Reinforcement Institute of Australia A national non-profit organisation providing a high quality technical support and information service to the Australian building industry.

Concrete Masonry Handbook This manual is suitable for students and can be downloaded from the Concrete Masonry Association of Australia. It provides general information about concrete masonry, its construction as well as general maintenance.
National Code of Practice for Precast, Tilt-up and Concrete Elements in Building Construction Provides practical guidance on ways to eliminate hazards and/or minimise risks in the safe handling of concrete elements in building construction.

Some relevant Australian Standards for this subject area are:

AS 1379 Specification and supply of concrete (Reconfirmed 2017)

AS 2870-2011 Residential slabs and footings

AS 3600-2018 Concrete structures

AS 3610.1:2018 Formwork for concrete

SA HB 84:2018 Guide to concrete repair and protection

AS 2783-1992 Use of reinforced concrete for small swimming pools

AS 3850.1:2015 Prefabricated concrete elements - General requirements

AS/NZS 4058:2007 Precast concrete pipes (pressure and non-pressure)

AS 5100.5:2017 Bridge design - Concrete

A Little Book of Concrete From the National Precast Concrete Association of Australia, this guide examines the use of precast concrete as a building product.
Precast and Tilt-up - what is the Difference? The differences between tilt-up and precast walling systems are explained.
The Different Types of Concrete Finishes This article will focus specifically on the different types of concrete finishes available, which play a big part in the appearance of the finished product.
Topics in Concrete A to Z listing of topics from the American Concrete Institute.

How it's Built: Concrete Series: Megastructures - DVD Cross the globe, visiting the break-neck construction in Dubai and the batch plants of the Panama Canal as well as the concrete pours of Hoover Dam before travelling back in time to see one of the first concrete icons, the Pantheon in Rome.

National Geographic Megastructures - Hoover Dam Bridge - Video To save the Hoover Dam required a feat of engineering. Spanning the canyon below the dam, the Bypass Bridge took six years to complete at a cost of US$240 million, it is a masterpiece.

Toolkits and Information Resources: Construction Articles in this website will help you to learn about the safety requirements and issues in the construction industry.
Hazard Identification Tool – Concrete placement This educational article has been developed to assist in the identification of occupational safety and health (OSH) hazards. The hazard identification tools were developed following interviews with principal contractors and subcontractors, which highlighted the accurate identification of hazards as significant in the successful management of subcontractor safety.
Construction: Concreters These are the most common injuries and hazards for concreters, as shown by injury claims.

Concrete Institute of Australia Their mission is to promote and develop excellence in concrete research, technology, application, design and construction.
Concrete Pipe Association of Australasia The Association aspires to represent excellence in design, manufacture, application, and technology of steel-reinforced concrete pipe and associated products.
National Precast Concrete Association of Australia National Precast has grown to become the peak body for the Australian precast concrete industry and is an organisation which is well known within the construction sector.
Steel Reinforcement Institute of Australia A national non-profit organisation providing a high quality technical support and information service to the Australian building industry.
How to Become a Concreter: Your Guide to Entering the Trade Embarking on a career as a concreter in Australia involves a combination of formal training and hands-on experience. A concreter plays a vital role in the construction industry, responsible for setting out, laying, compacting, and finishing concrete for a variety of structures such as floors, stairs, and footpaths. This trade requires not only physical strength and endurance but also a keen eye for detail and the ability to work precisely to specifications.