Guides: General Education: Computing

Hardware

Be Connected - Get Started with your Device A course on how to use different computer components, including mouse, keyboard and touch screen.
Be Connected - The Absolute Basics The essential basic information about computers and devices, including; Laptops, smartphones, tablets and the internet.
Computer Fundamentals - Types of Computers This video covers the use of desktop, laptops, tablets and many other types of devices.
Digital Devices A general purpose course covering all the basics on computers and digital devices.
The Keyboard and Mouse - Learn How to Use A 10 minute instructional video about how to use a keyboard. including some handy shortcuts.
Types of Computers This is a list of different types of computers with a short definition of each.
Working at a Computer - Office Workplace Health and Safety This training program deals with health problems caused by poor ergonomics and provides simple yet effective tips for those working long hours in front of the computer.

Digital Literacy for Dummies (2014) Digital Literacy for Dummies, makes it easy to get a grip on computer basics, the internet, the cloud, browsing the web, programs and applications and a lot more.

21 Google Search tips you'll want to learn. Tips on how to get to get better results from a Google search.
Beginner's Guide to Google Basics and Tips and Tricks "This beginner's guide covers the very basics of using the Google Search bar, but it also covers several little-known features and tips and tricks to help you get the best results you can from your Google searching." -- taken from description.
How to use Google Search Google is the most popular search engine in the world. But while so many people use it everyday, few actually get formal instruction on how. Here are to tips on how to Google search.
What is a library database? Can't find anything good via Google Search? How about trying a database?

Outlook on the Web - 7 great features! This video highlights various features for outlook on the web. Including: Suggested Replies, Send Later, Search Settings, One Drive, Teams Chat and Contact Information.

How to write an email. "Learn how to write an email that is courteous, professional, and formatted correctly. This video covers each part of an email and gives examples." -- taken from description.

PowerPoint for Dummies, Office 2021 Edition Chapter 1: Welcome to PowerPoint. This introduction shows the basics of PowerPoint and some of its basic functions.

The Beginner's Guide to Excel - Excel Basics Tutorial Learn the basic anatomy of a spreadsheet and how to enter data
Introduction to Microsoft Word 365 A beginners guide to Microsoft Word. From how to open a new document and some of its basic features.
Learn Microsoft Excel Tutorial for Beginners This webinar teachers beginners how to navigate Excel, enter formulas and some of the various tabs and functionality.
Microsoft Word 365 Tutorial Basics for Beginners This video for beginners, explains how to change fonts, insert tables and how to use the main menu.
The Beginner's Guide to Microsoft PowerPoint "Learn everything you need to know to get started using Microsoft PowerPoint! You'll learn all the basics plus more, including: how to choose a design theme, add text and pictures to a slide, adding new slides, animating items, and more" -- taken from description.

The Basics of Digital Privacy (2013) This book teaches you how to protect privacy of you data and identity while, surfing, searching and interacting with others in a virtual world.
How the Internet Really Works (2020) This book is a guide discussing the basic internet operations, written clearly with illustrations.
Online Safety (2015) This book presents a range of cyber-safety tips which will arm readers with an informed awareness of the risks online and offer advice on how to stay protected.
You: for Sale Chapter 5: Social Media and the Dangers of Over-Sharing (2015) This chapter discusses the ethics of privacy as it relates to social media. Including the dangers of over-sharing on social media and advice on how to protect yourself.

Can you spot a scam? Are you smarter than a scammer? Find out by taking this quick quiz thanks to SBS.
The Ultimate Guide to Help Users Stay Safe on Social Media A short article offering tips about how to stay safe and increase your privacy on social media.

ABC News ABC News is a good source of information about local and international events,
Encyclopedia Britannica "For more than 250 years, Britannica has kindled the spark of curiosity with stories of discoveries, people and events that changed the world." -- taken from website.
World Book The World Book is a collection of online research tools including, articles pictures and video.
The World Factbook "The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities" -- taken from website.

Evaluate Your Resources Learn about how to evaluate resources with the library's Assessment Help guide.
Fake News "Anyone can post a story online and news travels fast on social media. So we need to question what we read and watch, before trusting that it's right." -- taken from website
How to spot fake news online This article explains, what fake news is, how it spreads and how to spot it.