Guides: Horticulture: Books/Standards/Video

Featured Books and eBooks

Australian Native Plants: Cultivation, use in landscaping and propagation

Botany in a Day: The patterns method of plant identification

Print & eBook

eBook

The Practical Gardener's Guide to Trees, Shrubs and Climbers

Print & eBook

Australian Native Plants: the Kings Park experience

Print & eBook

RetroSuburbia: the downshifter's guide to a resilient future

Costa's World: Gardening for the soil, the soul and the suburbs

A Gardener's Guide to Propagation Techniques: The essential guide to producing plants

eBook

A Field Guide to Australian Orchids Epiphytes: including the island territories

Weeds, Pests and Diseases

Western Weeds: A guide to the weeds of Western Australia

Pests, Diseases, Ailments and Allies of Australian Plants

Pests, Diseases and Beneficials: Friends and foes of Australian gardens

Plant Protection 1: Pests, diseases and weeds

Plant Protection 2: Control methods and their management

Yates Garden Problem Solver: A visual guide to easy diagnosis and practical remedies.

Garden Pests, Diseases and Good Bugs: The ultimate illustrated guide for Australian gardeners

Print & eBook

Viticulture

The Grapevine: From the science to the practice of growing vines for wine

Australian Winegrape Load Assessment: A visual guide

Australian Wine: Styles and tastes: people and places

Healthy Soils for Healthy Vines: Soil management for productive vines

The Australian and New Zealand Filed Guide to diseases, pests and disorders of grapes

Subject Searches

A search of Supersearch (library catalogue) will find resources in varied formats by using search terms and Filters. We have created a few subject searches for you here below. If you find a title of interest, the link will either take you directly to the online resource, or show you which of our libraries hold the physical items.

Australia* AND Native Plants

Australian AND Flora AND Fauna

Note: The * symbol lets you find a word with alternate endings. For example, propagat* will find the keywords: propagation, propagating, propagate.

For more search tips, see our Resource Help: Supersearch online guide.

eBook Collections

You can search our ebook collections for relevant book titles using appropriate search terms.

eBooks on ProQuest Central > SMT Covers many subject areas including Fine Arts, Business Studies, Education and Languages, Geography, ICT, Travel, Tourism and Hospitality. Health, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy, Psychology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Computer Science, Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Maths and Science.
eBooks on EBSCOhost > SMT The eBook Collection has a selection of online books customised to the needs of SMT staff and students. Titles include Business and Economics, Computer Science and Technology, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health and Medicine, and Study Aids.

Streamed Video Collections

Search our streamed collections for yourself.

Tip: Videos play best in Chrome

Alexander Street Press Video Collection > SMT Alexander Street Press Video Collection includes Music and Performing Arts, Classical and World Musio. Issues in Health Science, Social Science and Engineering, Anthropology, Business Economics, History, Diversity, Art and Design, Personal Interest, Psychology and Counselling.
EduTV > SMT EduTV includes over 20,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series
Kanopy > SMT Kanopy is a streaming video service with customised content on a wide range of subjects, including health and safety, child care, education, hospitality and engineering. (Note that requests for additional titles are only available to staff via the online request form. Students should consult their lecturers or our guides for alternative content.)
Safetycare Safetyhub > SMT Safetycare Safetyhub contains Safetycare's comprehensive library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training video programs.

Featured Streamed Videos

How to Tell if Your Tree has Borers - Gardening Australia

Botany in a Day

Hand Tools - Safety and Technique

Cuts and Bleeding

Principles of Safe Carrying and Lifting

Chemical Safety

Australian Standards

Our Standards Australia collection may be searched directly. We have also listed the standards we feel most relevant to your subject.

Standards Australia Database > SMT The Standards Australia Database allows access to select Australian and New Zealand Standards as well as some ISO Standards