Guides: Building & Construction: Databases

Databases

The links below are to databases that could be useful in your search for information:

Australian Standards Select Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The Techstreet database allows access to Australian and New Zealand Standards
EBSCO [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window EBSCO contains Academic Journals, Books, Monographs, Essays, Periodicals, Conference Proceedings. Included are Image Quick View Type with Photos, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations.
Engineering Collection [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit’s Engineering Collection covers chemical, civil, electrical and mechanical engineering. The database offers scholarly journals, trade publications, reports and conference proceedings.
GreenFILE [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE has general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Partial Full text only.
Knovel [Collection] > SMT This link opens in a new window A wide range of engineering resources and tools for the targeted subjects such as oil and gas, mechanical engineering, marine engineering and industrial engineering and related topics. Tools include materials and properties data, as well as the data mining tool which finds numerical data embedded within charts and tables in the resources included in the database. See our Knovel Guide for more details
National Construction Code > SMT This link opens in a new window The National Construction Code (NCC) contains the Building Code of Australia and the Plumbing Code of Australia. It documents the technical requirements for building design and construction. Please complete the ABCB registration form to obtain a login and password to access the NCC Online.
ProQuest Central [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across all major subject areas and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world

Set up an Email Alert

Want to remain current on a subject or with new issues of a journal? You can create what is called an email "Alert" in the various databases. Below are tutorials and information on how to set these up for EBSCO, ProQuest, and Informit.

What are Databases and Why Should I use Them

Database Login Information

If you want to access our electronic resources (from home or a personal device), you will be asked to log in.

Students: Please use your Student username and password
Lecturers: Please use your Staff login username and password