Guides: Early Childhood Education and Care: Databases

Databases

The links below are to databases that could be useful in your search for information:

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of subjects including arts, children, humanities, multicultural, psychology and more. (Full text back to 2001 for Journals like- Aviation Week, Art and Australia, Discover, New Scientist)
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window The ABS website provides free access to Australian statistical information and census data.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window The APAFT database brings together over 260 journals coving Australia's political, economic and social affairs and forms an essential reference for study and research.
Australian Standards Select Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The Techstreet database allows access to Australian and New Zealand Standards
EBSCO [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window EBSCO contains Academic Journals, Books, Monographs, Essays, Periodicals, Conference Proceedings. Included are Image Quick View Type with Photos, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations.
Education Journals [Proquest] > SMT This link opens in a new window Contains the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. Offers complete information on hundreds of educational topics in primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education subjects.
Education Research Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is a online resource for education research and covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, including multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, full text for more than 1,200 journals, and full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window ERIC is an online library of education research and information. It is searchable via a keyword search or Thesaurus.
Indigenous Collection [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit Indigenous Collection is an Australian database that covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies
ProQuest Central [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across all major subject areas and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text has a variety of information including Sociology, Additional Research on Drugs, Human Behavour and Social Work. Also includes a dictionary, books, journals, abstract, articles, Image Quick View, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations. Note that not all records are full-text.
Teacher Reference Center [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window The Teacher Reference Centre provides a comprehensive guide to issues in Education. This includes: Education Research, Reference Tools for Teacher's including Web Publication Tools. Education Intervention for Mental Health, Asthma and Autistic Children, Pregnancy, and so on. Also covers Moderation and Education Reform, Education and Art Therapy, and Diet and Nutrition Programs.
World Book Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools including encyclopaedia articles, primary source collections, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.

Database Login Information

If you want to access our electronic resources (from home or a personal device), you will be asked to log in.

Students: Please use your Student username and password
Lecturers: Please use your Staff login username and password

What are databases and why you need them

Set up an Email Alert

Want to remain current on a subject or with new issues of a journal? You can create what is called an email "Alert" in the various databases. Below are tutorials and information on how to set these up for EBSCO, ProQuest, and Informit.