Guides: Fashion Design and Merchandising: Books/Standards/Video

Patternmaking and Cutting

Digital Pattern Cutting for Fashion with Lectra Modaris

Fashion Patternmaking Techniques. Vol. 1, how to make skirts, trousers and shirts : women/men

Fashion Patternmaking Techniques. Vol. 2, how to make shirts, undergarments, dresses and suits, waistcoats and jackets for women and men

Fashion Patternmaking Techniques. Vol. 3, how to make jackets, coats and cloaks for women and men

Fashion Patternmaking Techniques for Children's Clothing: dresses, shirts, bodysuits, trousers, shorts, jackets and coats

Pattern Cutting: the architecture of fashion

Fashion Patternmaking Techniques - Haute Couture [vol. 2]

Fashion Business

The Dirty Side of the Garment Industry: fast fashion and its negative impact on environment and society

Fashion Branding and Consumer Behaviors: scientific models

Fashion Retail Supply Chain Management: a systems optimization approach

Australian Standards

Our Standards Australia collection may be searched directly.

Students, please contact your lecturer if you are referred to a standard you can't access (not currently in our subscription).

Australian Standards Select Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The Techstreet database allows access to Australian and New Zealand Standards

Subject Searches

A search of Supersearch (library catalogue) will find resources in varied formats by using search terms and Filters. We have created a few subject searches for you here below. If you find a title of interest, the link will either take you directly to the online resource, or show you which of our libraries hold the physical items.

Fashion design [Resource Type - Books and Video]

Fashion business [Resource Type - Books and Video]

eBook Collections

You can search our ebook collections for relevant book titles using appropriate search terms.

eBooks on ProQuest Central > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers many subject areas including Fine Arts, Business Studies, Education and Languages, Geography, ICT, Travel, Tourism and Hospitality. Health, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy, Psychology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Computer Science, Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Maths and Science.
eBooks on EBSCOhost > SMT This link opens in a new window The eBook Collection has a selection of online books customised to the needs of SMT staff and students. Titles include Business and Economics, Computer Science and Technology, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health and Medicine, and Study Aids.
eBooks on Ovid > SMT This link opens in a new window Ovid eBooks contain the Nursing made incredibly easy series as well as other medical based e-book titles.
Knovel [Collection] > SMT This link opens in a new window A wide range of engineering resources and tools for the targeted subjects such as oil and gas, mechanical engineering, marine engineering and industrial engineering and related topics. Tools include materials and properties data, as well as the data mining tool which finds numerical data embedded within charts and tables in the resources included in the database. See our Knovel Guide for more details

Video on DVD

DVDs may be borrowed from our libraries, usually for 7 days. Use Supersearch to find titles and use Resource Type to limit by Videos.

Streamed Video Collections

Search our streamed collections for yourself.

Tip: Videos play best in Chrome

Alexander Street Press Video Collection > SMT This link opens in a new window Alexander Street Press Video Collection includes Music and Performing Arts, Classical and World Musio. Issues in Health Science, Social Science and Engineering, Anthropology, Business Economics, History, Diversity, Art and Design, Personal Interest, Psychology and Counselling.
EduTV > SMT This link opens in a new window EduTV includes over 20,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series
Kanopy > SMT This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a streaming video service with customised content on a wide range of subjects, including health and safety, child care, education, hospitality and engineering. (Note that requests for additional titles are only available to staff via the online request form. Students should consult their lecturers or our guides for alternative content.)
Safetycare Safetyhub > SMT This link opens in a new window Safetycare Safetyhub contains Safetycare's comprehensive library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training video programs.