Skip to Main Content
Cabinet Making & Furniture Finishing
-
The Lathe Book
Completely revised and updated, The Lathe Book, 3rd Edition is the definitive guide to this essential turning machine written by legendary woodturning author, teacher, and lathe designer Ernie Conover.
-
Modern Woodworking
Modern Woodworking is a comprehensive text designed to meet the needs of both beginning and advanced woodworking classes. This text provides full coverage of standard woodworking procedures, as well as new methods, tools, and materials. Safety is strongly stressed throughout the book, with particular emphasis given to explanation of OSHA and EPA regulations as they apply to woodworkers.
-
Taunton's Complete Illustrated Guide to Bandsaws
The format is highly visual, covering all there is to know about working with a bandsaw -- from basic uses to some of the most advanced techniques -- including shaping operations and sophisticated joinery.
-
Woodworking with Power Tools
Expert craftsmen and craftswomen explain how they choose, maintain, and use every kind of power tool, from tablesaws to plunge routers, bandsaws to bench planers. There's advice on tool maintenance, techniques for getting the most from your tools, and projects made using power tools.
-
Hand Tools for Woodworking
This program shows how to use a variety of saws, planes, and chisels. It explains how to measure and mark out a project and then safely secure it.
-
How to Use a Circular Saw
Circular Saws are one of the most basic and versatile woodworking tools around - and you can get your hands on one for nearly nothing. Here's some advice on how you can use them safely and effectively.
-
Tools of the Trade: Inside the Carpenter's Toolbox
This program takes a look at the tools and construction materials carpenters depend on every day.
-
Tool Tip Basics: Jigsaw
The jigsaw is a tool that is commonly used to cut designs into wood. Get tool tips on the jigsaw with help from a foreman for Lighty Contractors.
-
What Chisels do you need?
There are obviously lots of types of chisels out there. But the question is, what do they do and which ones do you need? In this video I'll be explaining the uses behind each type of chisel to give you a clearer understanding of what you need to get started in woodworking.
-
What Planes do you need?
Starting woodworking is a daunting process. What tools do you invest in? What do you need?
-
Why Use Hand Tools in Woodworking
Why I choose hand tool woodworking as a furniture maker. I delve into the hand planes you need and what to look for in a hand plane. Hand tool woodworking eliminates dust, noise with minimal space requirements. I explore the hand tools and hand planes used in my furniture making. Little maintenance is required with hand tools. Woodworking with hand tools is often quicker than power tools. Hand tools excel at detail work with emphasis on the process.
-
Woodworking Tools Series
Demonstrates correct operation and maintenance. Changing blades, cutters, bits, and other parts is also illustrated, where applicable.
-
Working with Lathes
This program covers the safe and correct use of the Lathe. (1992: 25 mins).
Power Tools
-
Angle Grinders - Pre-Operational Checks [Safety Short]
The use of angle grinders can be extremely dangerous, posing a risk not only to the operator but to others in the work area. This safety short gives you some checks that should be performed before operating an angle grinder. (1 min)
-
Angle Grinder Safety
This program covers types of angle grinders, pre-use checks, safe operation, disc shatter, kick back, other angle grinder hazards and control measures. (2014: 9 mins).
-
Circular Saw Basics [Safety short]
Circular saws are used extensively for a variety of cutting operations. This safety short gives you a quick overview of how to operate a circular saw
-
Hand-Arm Vibration Syndrome
Hand held power tools, hand guided equipment, and holding materials being worked by hand feed machines, can all transmit vibrations to the hands and arms. Regular exposure to hand-arm vibration can lead to what is known as hand-arm vibration syndrome, also referred to as HAVS. (2017: 12 mins).
-
Off Hand Grinding and Safety
This program covers types of grinding machines, components which make up a grinding machine, types of abrasive wheels, abrasive wheel identification, inspecting an abrasive wheel, fitting a new wheel, personal safety, dressing and truing abrasive wheels, how to use an off-hand grinding machine and sharpening a twist drill. (2012: 19 mins).
-
Portable Drill Basics [Safety short]
Power drills are versatile tools which can drill a variety of materials ranging from wood to steel. This safety short gives you a quick overview of how to operate a portable drill.
-
The Safe Operation of Chainsaws
This program looks at a range of operations and cutting procedures that are crucial for the safe and successful operation of the chainsaw in all situations. (1993: 14 mins).
-
Safety Rules for Using Power Tools
From Safe Work Australia - Nick, a leading hand carpenter, knows first-hand the risks that can arise when using power tools and appliances.
-
A Comprehensive Guide to Hand Tool and Power Tool Safety
Tools are such a common part of our lives that it is difficult to remember that they may pose hazards. All tools are manufactured with safety in mind but, tragically, a serious accident often occurs before steps are taken to search out and avoid or eliminate tool-related hazards.
In the process of removing or avoiding the hazards, workers must learn to recognize the hazards associated with the different types of tools and the safety precautions necessary to prevent those hazards.
Hand Tools
-
The Tool Book
Clear photography and illustrations present more than 200 hand tools from every angle, showing you how to use and care for them, why each tool is right for the job and why it deserves pride of place in your collection.
-
Woodworking with Hand Tools
In Woodworking with Hand Tools, expert craftsmen explain how they choose, sharpen, and use every kind of hand tool. There's advice on tool maintenance, techniques for getting the most from the tools, and projects made using hand tools. With clear photographs, drawings, and step-by-step instructions, Woodworking with Hand Tools will be a useful and necessary resource for anyone who works wood.
-
Hand Tools - Safety and Technique
A Safetycare video - This program shows techniques and safe work practices relating to a wide range of basic hand tools. (1989 : 15 mins).
-
Off Hand Grinding and Safety
This program covers types of grinding machines, components which make up a grinding machine, types of abrasive wheels, abrasive wheel identification, inspecting an abrasive wheel, fitting a new wheel, personal safety, dressing and truing abrasive wheels, how to use an off-hand grinding machine and sharpening a twist drill. (2012: 19 mins).
-
General Hand Tools for Flooring Installation
Some general purpose tools are used in just about all of the trades that involve on-site installations. Below are the main hand tools that you're likely to have in common with the other building trades, even if you're using them for a different purpose.
-
Hardened Steel Tools
Many steel tools or implements are hardened, or contain components made from hardened steel e.g. hammers, chisels, drill bits, pin punches, letter and numeric stamp punches, split wedges, crowbars and wrecking bars, cutting tools and various machinery parts.
Timber and Composites Machining
-
The Handplane Book
In this book, professional furniture maker Garrett Hack helps woodworkers reclaim their woodworking heritage by presenting a treasure trove of information about handplanes. Everything is covered here: history, theory, and practice.
-
Design for CNC : furniture projects and fabrication technique
Design, DIY, and computer-controlled fabrication are a powerful combination for making high-quality customized things. Written by the founders of the architecture, design, and research firm Filson and Rohrbacher, this book takes you through the basics of CNC fabrication, the design process, production, and construction of your own furniture designs.
-
Cementing Counter-tops and Review
Formica counter-top lamination does not require clamping to adhere to flake board. Contact cement is applied to both surfaces. Dolls and jay rollers help to match the surfaces.
-
Woodworking Power Tools series
This series of live-action videotapes details both basic and advanced operational techniques for each of the five most important and useful power tools found in the woodworking shop.
-
What is a CNC Router and How does it Work?
CNC routers have changed the way many individuals and industries fabricate their creations and products by increasing efficiency beyond previous levels. But what is a CNC router and how does it work? Here is an outline of CNC routers so you can better understand the basic mechanisms behind them.
-
Favourite Composites Tools
This page is a start to a big list of favorite hand and small power tools for composites work.
The Lathe Book
Completely revised and updated, The Lathe Book, 3rd Edition is the definitive guide to this essential turning machine written by legendary woodturning author, teacher, and lathe designer Ernie Conover.
Modern Woodworking
Modern Woodworking is a comprehensive text designed to meet the needs of both beginning and advanced woodworking classes. This text provides full coverage of standard woodworking procedures, as well as new methods, tools, and materials. Safety is strongly stressed throughout the book, with particular emphasis given to explanation of OSHA and EPA regulations as they apply to woodworkers.
Taunton's Complete Illustrated Guide to Bandsaws
The format is highly visual, covering all there is to know about working with a bandsaw -- from basic uses to some of the most advanced techniques -- including shaping operations and sophisticated joinery.
Woodworking with Power Tools
Expert craftsmen and craftswomen explain how they choose, maintain, and use every kind of power tool, from tablesaws to plunge routers, bandsaws to bench planers. There's advice on tool maintenance, techniques for getting the most from your tools, and projects made using power tools.
The Tool Book
Clear photography and illustrations present more than 200 hand tools from every angle, showing you how to use and care for them, why each tool is right for the job and why it deserves pride of place in your collection.
Woodworking with Hand Tools
In Woodworking with Hand Tools, expert craftsmen explain how they choose, sharpen, and use every kind of hand tool. There's advice on tool maintenance, techniques for getting the most from the tools, and projects made using hand tools. With clear photographs, drawings, and step-by-step instructions, Woodworking with Hand Tools will be a useful and necessary resource for anyone who works wood.
The Handplane Book
In this book, professional furniture maker Garrett Hack helps woodworkers reclaim their woodworking heritage by presenting a treasure trove of information about handplanes. Everything is covered here: history, theory, and practice.