Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Dementia Care: survival guide. (2nd edition) (2023)
Ideal for quick reference, this pocket-sized guide puts all the crucial information on caring for patients with dementia at your fingertips. Evidence-based and fully updated for this second edition, it includes all you need to know on: person-centred dementia care; dementia-friendly environments; working with families as partners; communication and managing behaviour; pain assessment; nutrition and medication; advanced care plans; and much more.
Fast Facts for Dementia Care: what nurses need to know. (2nd Edition) (2021)
This quick-access clinical reference for nurses in adult health settings addresses the most prevalent and complex management challenges in caring for people with dementia. The second edition--completely updated with the newest guidelines for evidence-based, person-centered care--includes two new chapters on the Emotional Needs of People with Dementia and Self-Neglect and Elder Abuse, along with new information on cultural considerations and distinguishing between dementia and delirium. Quotes from people with dementia are included in this edition to give first-person accounts of their experiences.
Communication skills for effective dementia care: A practical guide to communication and interaction training (CAIT) (2019)
Effective communication is critical for everyone, and this insightful book teaches the skills needed by healthcare staff in their day-to-day interactions with people with dementia and their families. Often when people with dementia exhibit behaviour that challenges, it is an indication that their needs are not being met. The authors illustrate the key aspects of communication for the development of a skilled and confident workforce, capable of providing thoroughly effective care that reduces levels of agitation in people with dementia. The first six chapters describe the CAIT (Communication and Interaction Training) framework established by the authors. This is followed by chapters contributed by experts on the Positive Care Approach. This book also gives guidance on appropriate touch and communication with people in the late stages of dementia or PWD - People With Dementia.
Books
Essentials of Dementia: everything you really need to know for working in dementia care (2018)
To provide high quality dementia care, professionals need to be both knowledgeable about dementia and skilled in the provision of care. This book is an introductory reference guide that will help students, professionals and practitioners develop their skills and expertise to better respond to the needs of people with dementia. It sets out information and advice on essential topics, research and evidence-based practice within dementia care in a clear, sensible way.
The Story of Dementia (2018)
Each of the nine main chapters focuses on an individual or individuals (twelve in number) who, in his view, have made significant contributions to our knowledge. The message is one of hope. Although the medical model has yielded little in the way of advances, that is not true of psychosocial initiatives. This little book tells the hidden story of positive approaches, and those who have devoted their lives to finding alternative creative solutions to one of today's great challenges. If your life is at all touched by dementia, you should be reading it.
Creative Connections in Dementia Care: engaging activities to enhance communication (2015)
Creativity is preserved in dementia long after other abilities are lost, so that making art provides rich opportunities for meaningful engagement for people with Alzheimer’s or dementia. Creative Connections in Dementia Care provides care partners with the knowledge and easy-to-follow steps they need to successfully implement art projects in a group or one-on-one setting and no art experience is required! Written for anyone who cares for a person with dementia family members, friends, and professionals this how-to manual is packed with guidance to help enhance communication, interactions, task breakdown, and problem-solving efforts while also encouraging the abilities of each participant.
Websites
Alzheimer's WA : the dementia care experts
Support and other services for your dementia journey.
Dementia Australia
About dementia - Help sheets - About you - Resources - Risk reduction - Library
Dementia Care: Promoting wellbeing and independence for residence living with dementia.
We’ve connected experience with theory to deepen our understanding of the challenges people living with dementia face.
We are able to support people living with dementia, with a focus on promoting well-being and independence, and what brings meaning and purpose to the lives of each individual. Your care team partners will provide care that is flexible, compassionate and responsive to the needs of each and every resident.
Dementia Foundation for Spark Life.
Dementia Foundation for Spark of Life is a pioneering foundation with
a focus on elevating the quality of dementia care.
The work of this Foundation is unique because it brings the
conscious practice of love and compassion into dementia care;
igniting the Spark of Life.
Mind Essentials: A practical online resource for nurses and midwives
MIND Essentials will provide you with practical information and strategies to support people in your care, who experience behaviours related to a range of mental health issues. The resource has been designed for use by all nurses and midwives working within hospital or community settings across the Hunter New England Area Health Service.
Universal Music Group Is Exclusive Launch Partner For Innovative Australian Dementia App (2022)
Dementia patients can now plug into music therapy through an innovative Australian app that’s fed by Universal Music Group’s enormous catalogue.
UMG, the world’s leading music company, is the launch partner for Vera, an intuitive, A.I.-powered “music intervention” tool that’s designed to help those battling dementia.
WHO - Dementia - Key facts
Key facts
Currently more than 55 million people have dementia worldwide, over 60% of whom live in low-and middle-income countries. Every year, there are nearly 10 million new cases.
Dementia results from a variety of diseases and injuries that affect the brain. Alzheimer disease is the most common form of dementia and may contribute to 60–70% of cases.
Dementia Care: survival guide. (2nd edition) (2023)
Ideal for quick reference, this pocket-sized guide puts all the crucial information on caring for patients with dementia at your fingertips. Evidence-based and fully updated for this second edition, it includes all you need to know on: person-centred dementia care; dementia-friendly environments; working with families as partners; communication and managing behaviour; pain assessment; nutrition and medication; advanced care plans; and much more.
Fast Facts for Dementia Care: what nurses need to know. (2nd Edition) (2021)
This quick-access clinical reference for nurses in adult health settings addresses the most prevalent and complex management challenges in caring for people with dementia. The second edition--completely updated with the newest guidelines for evidence-based, person-centered care--includes two new chapters on the Emotional Needs of People with Dementia and Self-Neglect and Elder Abuse, along with new information on cultural considerations and distinguishing between dementia and delirium. Quotes from people with dementia are included in this edition to give first-person accounts of their experiences.
Communication skills for effective dementia care: A practical guide to communication and interaction training (CAIT) (2019)
Effective communication is critical for everyone, and this insightful book teaches the skills needed by healthcare staff in their day-to-day interactions with people with dementia and their families. Often when people with dementia exhibit behaviour that challenges, it is an indication that their needs are not being met. The authors illustrate the key aspects of communication for the development of a skilled and confident workforce, capable of providing thoroughly effective care that reduces levels of agitation in people with dementia. The first six chapters describe the CAIT (Communication and Interaction Training) framework established by the authors. This is followed by chapters contributed by experts on the Positive Care Approach. This book also gives guidance on appropriate touch and communication with people in the late stages of dementia or PWD - People With Dementia.
Essentials of Dementia: everything you really need to know for working in dementia care (2018)
To provide high quality dementia care, professionals need to be both knowledgeable about dementia and skilled in the provision of care. This book is an introductory reference guide that will help students, professionals and practitioners develop their skills and expertise to better respond to the needs of people with dementia. It sets out information and advice on essential topics, research and evidence-based practice within dementia care in a clear, sensible way.
The Story of Dementia (2018)
Each of the nine main chapters focuses on an individual or individuals (twelve in number) who, in his view, have made significant contributions to our knowledge. The message is one of hope. Although the medical model has yielded little in the way of advances, that is not true of psychosocial initiatives. This little book tells the hidden story of positive approaches, and those who have devoted their lives to finding alternative creative solutions to one of today's great challenges. If your life is at all touched by dementia, you should be reading it.
Dementia Beyond Drugs: changing the culture of care. (2nd Edition) (2017)
Reducing the use of psychotropic drugs in the symptomatic treatment of dementia is key to successfully implementing compassionate, person-centered practices in your organization - and this book shows clearly why and how it can be done.
Creative Connections in Dementia Care: engaging activities to enhance communication (2015)
Creativity is preserved in dementia long after other abilities are lost, so that making art provides rich opportunities for meaningful engagement for people with Alzheimer’s or dementia. Creative Connections in Dementia Care provides care partners with the knowledge and easy-to-follow steps they need to successfully implement art projects in a group or one-on-one setting and no art experience is required! Written for anyone who cares for a person with dementia family members, friends, and professionals this how-to manual is packed with guidance to help enhance communication, interactions, task breakdown, and problem-solving efforts while also encouraging the abilities of each participant.