Reference materials such as dictionaries and handbooks are a good starting point to gain an overview of your subject area.
Communicating in the 21st Century
The perfect tool for students, lecturers and professionals at graduate, postgraduate and professional certificate levels. Well-developed interpersonal and communication skills are increasingly in demand by employers in all industries. Includes self-assessment tasks, ethical dilemma case studies, review questions and applied exercises. This is a resource to keep for professional and personal development.
Crude Unit Corrosion Guide - A Manual for Plant Operators, Process Engineers, Metallurgists, Maintenance Engineers, Inspectors, and Equipment Specialists (3rd Edition)
This Guide was written for Plant Operators, Process Engineers, Metallurgists, Maintenance Engineers, Inspectors, and all others who deal with crude unit corrosion and fouling issues on a daily basis. This book presents the most important aspects of corrosion and fouling control in the atmospheric and vacuum sections of crude units and the corresponding sections in bitumen upgraders.
Dictionary of Oil and Gas Production
This dictionary provides a synthesis of information currently available but only in a diverse array of sources. A very handy ready-reference, the material covered is diverse, particular entries are focused and linked with each other so as to provide a good degree of comprehensiveness. For example, there is much information on well engineering including example calculations, and this is linked to wells at particular oil fields.
Electrical Safety In Flammable Gas/Vapor Laden Atmospheres
This book provides comprehensive coverage of electrical system installation within areas where flammable gases and liquids are handled and processed. The accurate hazard evaluation of flammability risks associated with chemical and petrochemical locations is critical in determining the point at which the costs of electrical equipment and installation is balanced with explosion safety requirements.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Pipeline Integrity
Reference guide to the broad range of topics that fall under the umbrella of pipeline integrity. It is a compilation of the common terms, concepts, technologies and methods that one is likely to encounter in study, research or practice in this specialized field. The definitions and explanations have been written in language accessible to the non-specialist, involving simplification of often complex concepts.
Engineering Ethics
Engineering has made an enormous contribution to providing the material well-being that promotes human flourishing. It can also be the cause of immense human suffering. The ethics of engineering is relatively unexplored compared to other professions such as medicine and business, but interest is undergoing a revival. This book aims to provide engineers with an inspiring view of the overall ethical direction of their profession in a way that has direct practical outcomes for their work practices
Geometrical Tolerancing Desk Reference
Geometrical tolerancing is the standard technique that designers and engineers use to specify and control the form, location and orientation of the features of components and manufactured parts. This innovative book has been created to simplify and codify the use and understanding of geometrical tolerancing. It is a complete, self contained reference for daily use. An indispensable guide for anyone who creates or needs to understand technical drawings.
Industrial Machinery Repair
Macaw's Encyclopedia of Pipeline Defects, Second Edition
Illustrates the range of defects that may be encountered in high-pressure steel pipelines and their pipeline coatings. It gives advice on the probable cause and significance of the defects and comments on appropriate remedial actions.
Power Electronics Handbook
With this book readers should be able to provide technical design leadership on assigned power electronics design projects and lead the design from the concept to production involving significant scope and complexity. Covering all aspects of power electronics and its applications.
Reservoir Engineering Handbook
Reference to the tools, techniques, and science for predicting oil reservoir performance even in the most difficult fields. Topics covered in the handbook include: Processes to enhance production, Well modification to maximize oil and gas recovery, Completion and evaluation of wells, well testing, and well surveys.
Rubber Seals for Fluid and Hydraulic Systems
Comprehensive guide to the manufacturing and applications of rubber seals, with essential coverage for industry sectors including aviation, oil drilling and the automotive industry. The characteristics of rubbers as seals, their manufacturing procedures, the implications of their physical and chemical characteristics for the sealing function in the fluid and hydraulic systems, how rubbers seal and prevent leaks, what properties are required for sealing function, and how they change.
Thermal Insulation Handbook for the Oil, Gas, and Petrochemical Industries
This book addresses relative design, materials, procedures, and standard installation necessities for various oil and gas infrastructure such as pipelines, subsea equipment, vessels, and tanks. Helping oil and gas engineers ensure that their products are exporting safely and that the equipment's integrity is protected.
Welding materials handbook
Describing various welding materials and techniques available to the SEABEE welder. Emphasis is placed upon interchangeability of materials ordinarily found in the Naval Construction Forces Table of Allowance. The data provided covers a majority of maintenance situations. Also describing several related maintenance techniques. These include: Wearfacing, MAPP Gas Welding, and some cold processes that can be substituted for welding procedures in certain maintenance applications.
A wide range of engineering resources (ebooks, dictionaries, encyclopedia, conference proceedings) and tools for the targeted subjects such as oil and gas, mechanical engineering, marine engineering and industrial engineering and related topics. Tools include a unit converter, material properties data, equation worksheet. See our Knovel Guide for more details
