Guides: Health and Nursing: Books/Standards/Video

Featured Books and eBooks

Print & eBook

Print & eBook

Health Services Assistance: Supporting nursing in acute care

Essential Clinical Skills: Enrolled Nurses

Print & eBook

Print & eBook

Mental Health Nursing: Applying theory to practice

Print & eBook

Understanding the Australian Health Care System

Print & eBook

Living with Chronic Illness and Disability

eBook

Mental Health Care: An introduction for health professionals

Resolving Distress in Dementia: A Person-Centred Approach for Clinical Settings

eBook

Human Biology

Essentials of Human Anatomy & Physiology

Principles of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students in Australia

Print & eBook

Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students at a Glance

Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance

Herlihy's the Human Body in Health and Illness: study guide

MIMS' Medical Microbiology and Immunology

Communication, Research and Health Promotion

Communication: Core interpersonal skills for healthcare practitioners

Communication Skills in Nursing, Health and Social Care

Communication Skills in Nursing Practice

Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care

Research Methods for Nurses and Midwives

Indigenous Health

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples' Health

Burda-Burda Balayi: health professionals and indigenous health working at the interface

Subject Searches

A search of Supersearch (library catalogue) will find resources in varied formats by using search terms and Filters. We have created a few subject searches for you here below. If you find a title of interest, the link will either take you directly to the online resource, or show you which of our libraries hold the physical items.

Anatomy AND Physiology NOT Veterinary

Clinical Skills AND Nursing

Health Care AND Indigenous AND Australians

Mental Health AND Nursing

Medical Terminology

Pharmacology AND Nurs* NOT Veterinary

Note: The * symbol lets you find a word with alternate endings. For example, propagat* will find the keywords: propagation, propagating, propagate.

For more search tips, see our Resource Help: Supersearch online guide.

eBook Collections

You can search our ebook collections for relevant book titles using appropriate search terms.

eBooks on ProQuest Central > SMT Covers many subject areas including Fine Arts, Business Studies, Education and Languages, Geography, ICT, Travel, Tourism and Hospitality. Health, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy, Psychology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Computer Science, Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Maths and Science.
eBooks on EBSCOhost > SMT The eBook Collection has a selection of online books customised to the needs of SMT staff and students. Titles include Business and Economics, Computer Science and Technology, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health and Medicine, and Study Aids.
eBooks on Ovid > SMT Ovid eBooks contain the Nursing made incredibly easy series as well as other medical based e-book titles.

Video on DVD

DVDs may be borrowed from our libraries, usually for 7 days. Use Supersearch to find titles and use Resource Type to limit by Videos.

Communication Skills for Nurses
Delirium, Dementia and Depression
Influences on Health and Wellbeing: lifestyle factors
Pain Management in the Elderly
Scrubbing, Gowning & Gloving
Skin Integrity and Pressure Ulcers
Team Building for Nurses Provides nurse unit managers and nursing team members with the knowledge and practical tools needed to develop a highly effective nursing team. From forming a new team and day-to-day functioning of a team, to the secrets of a successful team, this comprehensive and insightful resource illustrates exactly why teams work best
That sugar film
Working with Aged Care Patients: An Introduction to the Nursing Profession Being a Nursing Assistant is a vital role, one that is as varied as it is important. This program is a comprehensive introduction to working as a Nursing Assistant in an institution or in home health care, and addresses the most common issues experienced in the role. These include how to assist a bed patient with daily care, how to maintain proper hygiene, understanding and implementing the ethics of the health care field, documentation procedures and maintaining records, and other topics such as family visits, meals and social activities. With practical and real-world examples, this is a high-quality resource for health care professionals

Streamed Video Collections

Search our streamed collections for yourself.

Tip: Videos play best in Chrome

Alexander Street Press Video Collection > SMT Alexander Street Press Video Collection includes Music and Performing Arts, Classical and World Musio. Issues in Health Science, Social Science and Engineering, Anthropology, Business Economics, History, Diversity, Art and Design, Personal Interest, Psychology and Counselling.
EduTV > SMT EduTV includes over 20,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series
Kanopy > SMT Kanopy is a streaming video service with customised content on a wide range of subjects, including health and safety, child care, education, hospitality and engineering. (Note that requests for additional titles are only available to staff via the online request form. Students should consult their lecturers or our guides for alternative content.)
Safetycare Safetyhub > SMT Safetycare Safetyhub contains Safetycare's comprehensive library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training video programs.