Guides: Science: Weblinks

Government Sources

The following links are to authoritative government web sites and resources you could use for your studies.

Australian Bureau of Statistics: Understanding statistics The Understanding Statistics pages are here to support your statistical literacy development and assist you understand, evaluate and communicate statistical data and information.
Australian Department of Environment and Energy: Chemical management
Australian Department of Industry, Science and Resources
Australian Department of Health and Aged care Australian Government information of a range of topics and services, such as aged care, mental health and disability services
ChemCentre
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation
Federal Register of Legislation The Federal Register of Legislation (the Legislation Register) is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them. The Legislation Register is managed by the Office of Parliamentary Counsel in accordance with the Legislation Act 2003.
Geological Survey of Western Australia
Information Series: Department of Water & Environmental Regulation Information, fact sheets, resources, guidelines, reports, bulletins, records, management strategies, plans, legislation and more for water and environment in Western Australia.
National Health and Medical Research Council
National Measurement Institute (NMI)
PathWest Laboratory Medicine WA
Public Health Laboratory Network (PHLN)
Safe Work Australia
Soils: department of primary industries and regional development The department develops management practices to maximise soil productivity and minimise land degradation. It also provides technical information on managing soil constraints, including acidity, water repellence, subsoil compaction, erosion along with nutrient management. And supports agriculture through soil and land condition monitoring, condition assessment and providing management strategies and tools to improve soil condition.
WA Government: Science
WA Science Hall of Fame
Worksafe (WA)

Phone Apps

Khan Academy app

Khan Academy Video Resources

Reading line graphs

Non-government Sources

The following are reliable non-government sources of information:

AustLII AustLII publishes public legal information -- that is, primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports for example) and a substantial collection of law journals.
Australian Association for Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine. The major professional society for practicing laboratory professionals in Australia and New Zealand . Clinical laboratory medicine, advocacy, education, training and continual professional development. Promoting better health outcomes by leading in the setting of standards for best practice.
Cultural Atlas The Cultural Atlas is an educational resource providing comprehensive information on the cultural background of Australia’s migrant populations. The aim is to improve social cohesion and promote inclusion in an increasingly culturally diverse society.
Hand Hygiene Australia
Lab+Life Scientist Our Lab+Life Scientist magazine and LabOnline website provide busy life, analytical and environmental science professionals with an easy‐to‐use, readily available source of information that is crucial to gaining valuable industry insight. Content includes: The latest industry news, Feature and technical articles, Case studies, New products, Industry directory, Event information.
LabNetWest inc. LABNETWEST Inc. is the Association of Science Technicians in Independent Schools in Western Australia and is incorporated as a charitable institution established for the advancement of education. Its purpose is to provide interaction between Science Technicians; promote ideas and solutions to practical problems; facilitate Professional Development sessions and a support network and encourage the exchange of information with other scientific groups.
The Merck Index Online - Royal Society of Chemistry For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this trusted resource is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry.The Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database.
National Association of Testing Authorities Australia (NATA) The national accreditation body for Australia. Serving the national and public interest, by ensuring that organisations comply with relevant international and Australian standards and so are competent to provide consistently reliable testing, calibration, measurement and inspection data to government, industry and the wider community.
Periodic Table by Web Elements The periodic table is an arrangement of the chemical elements ordered by atomic number so that periodic properties of the elements (chemical periodicity) are made clear. Includes printable table
Periodic Videos A lesson about every single element on the periodic table. Created by the Periodic Videos team using the TED-Ed platform.
Preproom Preproom.org is a FREE website resource for school science departments. We include searchable practical and equipment databases, a data and info library, thousands of downloadables, guides, and a directory of useful links.
RACI Royal Australian Chemical Institute
Royal Society of Chemistry Royal Society of Chemistry has many useful pages including: campaigning and outreach, journals, books and databases, resources and tools, news and events.
Science and Technology Australia Science & Technology Australia (STA) is Australia’s peak body in science and technology - representing about 70,000 Australian scientists and technologists working across all scientific disciplines. STA is a respected and influential contributor to debate on public policy, providing a strong voice for those represented.
Science Khan Academy Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
Soil Science Australia Soil classification concerns the grouping of soils with a similar range of properties (chemical, physical and biological) into units that can be geo-referenced and mapped. Soils are a very complex natural resource, they contain all naturally occurring chemical elements and combine simultaneously solid, liquid and gaseous states. Moreover, the number of physical, chemical and biological characteristics and their combinations are nearly endless.
ThoughtCo - Science ThoughtCo is a premier reference site with a 20+ year focus on expert-created education content. In-depth articles, written by literature writers, Ph.D.s, and experienced instructors, are designed to give you the answers and information in a clear, easy-to-navigate format.
The Western Australian Biodiversity Science Institute An independent institute, joint venture partnership with leading research organisations, with multi-disciplinary research expertise. Funded by the Western Australian Government’s Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation. The institute is a science research broker that helps identify end user needs and biodiversity knowledge gaps. It helps address WA’s strategic biodiversity priorities through collaborative research.

How to Evaluating Websites

Not all of the information you find on the internet is accurate, up-to-date and reliable.

It is important to evaluate your information before you decide to use it in your assignment.

Ask yourself:

- how relevant is it?

- is it current and up-to-date?

- is it published by a reputable author or organisation?

WA Government Career Centre Industry Profile

For the Department of Training and Workforce Development's industry profile of your area see the following: