Skip to Main Content
eBooks - Physiotherapy - Allied Health Assistance
Clinical Reasoning 3rd ed. (2022)
Clinical Reasoning Features Scenarios with 8 step process of the clinical reasoning cycle. For each critical concept, the content is all structured around a scenario with an 8-step process. This gives students the opportunity to connect the theory to something real in a low stakes environment, while also solidifying a step-by-step process they can follow and apply in study and real life. Quick Quiz - At the end of relevant sections, these scaffolded quizzes consolidate student's learning of key concepts developed and connecting it with the scenario from the chapter.
Delavier's Women's Strength Training Anatomy Workouts (2014)
The 290 full-color illustrations allow you to see inside 157 exercises and variations and 49 programs for strengthening, sculpting, and developing your arms, chest, back, shoulders, abs, legs, and glutes. Step-by-step instructions work in tandem with the anatomical illustrations and photos to ensure you understand how to maximize the efficiency of each exercise.
The OTA's Guide to Documentation. (2023)
The OTA's Guide to Documentation: Writing SOAP Notes, Fifth Edition explains the critical skill of documentation while offering multiple opportunities for OTA students to practice documentation through learning activities, worksheets, and bonus videos.
Oxford Handbook of Rehabilitation Medicine (2019)
The conditions covered include neurological, musculoskeletal, neuromuscular, cardiac, pulmonary, cancer, vascular, trauma and burns. The latest advances from the field of orthotics, prosthesis, wheelchairs,technical aids and rehabilitation technology are included.
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Pocketpedia (2022)
the book covers the core topics and field-tested methods in PM&R while also addressing the latest advances in treatment and protocols for bedside decision-making. It includes new information on complex medical care, an increased focus on topics related to disability, expanded coverage of musculoskeletal rehabilitation, and new chapters on current issues such as COVID-19 rehabilitation.
Pilates Anatomy (2019)
Choose from 46 exercises to target a particular body region and delve deeper to stretch, strengthen, and finely coordinate specific muscles. See which key muscles are activated, how variations and minor adjustments can influence effectiveness, and how breathing, alignment, and movement are all fundamentally linked as you work to tone the body, stabilize the core, improve balance, and increase flexibility.
Websites
7 Hand Exercises to Prevent Arthritis
Stiffness and loss of motion in your hands may be the beginning of arthritis. Here’s how to stay loose and pain free
Ahpra & National Boards - Code of conduct
The code describes the professional behaviour and conduct National Boards expect from registered health practitioners. By defining these expectations, the code supports good patient care and the delivery of services within an ethical framework, helping to keep the public safe.
Australian Physiotherapy Association
With over 31 000 members, the Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA) is the peak body representing the interests of Australian physiotherapists and their patients. We are committed to professional excellence and career success for our members, which translates into better patient outcomes and improved health conditions for all Australians. Through our National Groups we offer advanced training and collegial support from physiotherapists working in similar areas.
Core Ethics Documents APTA (US)
The standards for ethics and professionalism in physical therapy are established by the following APTA policies.
Evidence-Based Resources -Patient Care - Evidence Based Practice American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)
Evidence-based practice includes the integration of best-available evidence, clinical expertise, and patient values and circumstances related to patient and client management, practice management, and health policy decision making.
Fall prevention Resources
The resources below may be of use to help you exercise, eat well, and prevent falls. Click on the tabs below to view the different resources.
Government of Western Australia WA country Health Service - Policies
The WA Country Health Service (WACHS) develops policies and supporting information and endorses the use of specific evidence-based practice guidelines to support organisational performance and individual practice.
PEDro - the Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 23 years. It is a free database of over 58,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions. You can SEARCH to answer your questions, BROWSE the latest research in your area of interest, LEARN more about evidence-based practice, access useful RESOURCES, or find out more ABOUT this invaluable global resource.
Physical Therapy Web
Quick Quiz; Musculoskeletal Anatomy
Common Physical Therapy Abbreviations, Acronyms and Charting Shorthand.
Physio Therapy eXercises
Free and simple exercise prescription - Physiotherapyexercises.com is a powerful tool that allows you to search, select and create exercise booklets.
Resources about healthy eating for older people, and health eating for exercise
The resources below may be of use to help you exercise, eat well, and prevent falls. Click on the tabs below to view the different resources.
Safe exercise at home : Information on physical activity and exercise for older peopleactivity
The Safe Exercise at Home website has been developed by physiotherapists from around Australia with clinical and academic expertise in exercise and other forms of physical activity for older people and people with mobility limitations.
The Society for Research in Rehabilitation (UK)
Welcome to The Society of Research in Rehabilitation (SRR) – helping to promote and encourage the advancement of research into all aspects of rehabilitation and disseminate the meaningful results of such research to maximise a person’s ability to achieve their goals in life.
World confederation of Physical Therapy
Our strategic plan for 2022 and beyond focuses on building a thriving and engaged global physiotherapy profession
Arthritis - Get Moving Plus Series
Get Moving! Plus Exercise Series - Arthritis New South Wales
Get Moving! PLUS is not an exercise library for ‘fitness’ purposes per se, instead, it’s an exercise library dedicated to promoting and improving the mobility and strength of joints and muscles that are affected by arthritis and other musculoskeletal conditions.
Get moving plus series of exercise booklets
These exercises can be used for a variety of shoulder related musculoskeletal conditions (including arthritis) to help improve mobility and strength. Everyone’s symptoms and impairments will and can be unique, and there may be other exercises that are more appropriate. Please read the Shoulder Joint Instruction Booklet for all your exercises. Currently, there are no videos available for the shoulder…
Hand Joint Instruction Booklet - Get Moving! Plus
There is a range of exercises included for hand related musculoskeletal conditions (including arthritis). These exercises can be used for a variety of conditions including, but not limited to, wrist and finger joint arthritis, pain, muscle weakness, reduced dexterity, and rehabilitation from different types of hand surgeries.
Hip Joint Instruction Booklet - Get Moving! Plus
These exercises are focused on hip arthritis, to help improve mobility and strength. Everyone’s symptoms and impairments will and can be unique, and there may be other exercises that are more appropriate.
Knee & Ankle Instruction Booklet - Get Moving! Plus
There is a variety of mobility exercises included for the knee. Some exercises can be used for early to mid-stage knee rehab or for those with severe knee arthritis, pain and/or reduced muscle tone and strength.
Shoulder Joint Instruction Booklet - Get Moving! Plus
There is a range of exercises included for shoulder related musculoskeletal conditions (including arthritis). These exercises can be used for a variety of conditions including, but not limited to, shoulder arthritis, “frozen” shoulder or capsulitis, scapulothoracic issues, pain, muscle weakness, and rehabilitation from different types of shoulder surgeries.
Spine Instruction Booklet - Get Moving! Plus
These exercises are focused on mobility and strength of the spine for those who lack mobility, feel “stiff”, suffer chronic pain or have a musculoskeletal condition affecting the spine.
Stay Active at Home - Strength and balance exercises for older adults
Clinical Reasoning 3rd ed. (2022)
Clinical Reasoning Features Scenarios with 8 step process of the clinical reasoning cycle. For each critical concept, the content is all structured around a scenario with an 8-step process. This gives students the opportunity to connect the theory to something real in a low stakes environment, while also solidifying a step-by-step process they can follow and apply in study and real life. Quick Quiz - At the end of relevant sections, these scaffolded quizzes consolidate student's learning of key concepts developed and connecting it with the scenario from the chapter.
Delavier's Women's Strength Training Anatomy Workouts (2014)
The 290 full-color illustrations allow you to see inside 157 exercises and variations and 49 programs for strengthening, sculpting, and developing your arms, chest, back, shoulders, abs, legs, and glutes. Step-by-step instructions work in tandem with the anatomical illustrations and photos to ensure you understand how to maximize the efficiency of each exercise.
The OTA's Guide to Documentation. (2023)
The OTA's Guide to Documentation: Writing SOAP Notes, Fifth Edition explains the critical skill of documentation while offering multiple opportunities for OTA students to practice documentation through learning activities, worksheets, and bonus videos.
Oxford Handbook of Rehabilitation Medicine (2019)
The conditions covered include neurological, musculoskeletal, neuromuscular, cardiac, pulmonary, cancer, vascular, trauma and burns. The latest advances from the field of orthotics, prosthesis, wheelchairs,technical aids and rehabilitation technology are included.
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Pocketpedia (2022)
the book covers the core topics and field-tested methods in PM&R while also addressing the latest advances in treatment and protocols for bedside decision-making. It includes new information on complex medical care, an increased focus on topics related to disability, expanded coverage of musculoskeletal rehabilitation, and new chapters on current issues such as COVID-19 rehabilitation.
Pilates Anatomy (2019)
Choose from 46 exercises to target a particular body region and delve deeper to stretch, strengthen, and finely coordinate specific muscles. See which key muscles are activated, how variations and minor adjustments can influence effectiveness, and how breathing, alignment, and movement are all fundamentally linked as you work to tone the body, stabilize the core, improve balance, and increase flexibility.