Skip to Main Content
Massage Therapy : Principles and Practice
This user-friendly text includes more than 700 images, expanded information on the latest protocols, critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter, and updated pathologies which reflect what you will encounter in the field.
The Muscular System Manual
The most comprehensive atlas of muscle actions available, this is the only text that lists and describes all open-chain standard mover actions and all closed-chain reverse mover actions, as well as eccentric contraction and isometric stabilization functions.
Sports Massage eBook & Physical books
The complete guide to sports massage. (2007)
Includes photographs demonstrating massage technique throughout. Sports massage is the skilled manipulation of soft tissue for: the relief and treatment of muscle soreness and pain; the maintenance of muscle balance and improved flexibility; and enhanced rehabilitation from injury.
Sports Injuries Guidebook. (2020)
Dr. Robert Gotlin, a former medical consultant to the New York Knicks, the New York Liberty, the New York Yankees, and the New Jersey Nets, has assembled 24 top specialists in sports medicine to create an authoritative guide covering more than 150 common sports injuries, including the following: Concussions Rotator cuff tears Knee injuries Bone fractures Ligament sprains Muscle strains and tears IT band syndrome Shin splits Chapters cover injuries for most body regions and include anatomical drawings of the injured area, a description of common causes, identification clues, an explanation of symptoms, immediate treatment options, and guidelines for returning to action.
Brukner and Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine. Volume 1 Injuries. Revised Edition. (2017)
CLINICAL SPORTS MEDICINE 5TH EDITION Volume 1 INJURIES "A striking feature of Clinical Sports Medicine has always been the authors'' relentless commitment to ''clinical''. It serves physiotherapists, team clinicians, athletic trainers, sports therapists, sports rehabilitators and trainers, as well as students in the health professions and in Human Movement Studies.
Clinical Sports Medicine: the Medicine of Exercise. Vol 2 The Medicine of excercise. 5th Editon. (2019)
The #1 text in Sports Medicine! This complete practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine covers all aspects of diagnosis and contemporary management of sports-related injuries. The fifth edition has been expanded to accommodate a much higher level of evidence-based content and reflects the huge amount of new research and significant changes in thinking since the previous edition was published.
Body Massage and Massage Basics
Mosby's Fundamentals of Therapeutic Massage. (2021)
Success in massage therapy begins with a solid foundation in the fundamentals! Mosby's Fundamentals of Therapeutic Massage, 7th Edition helps you build the skills you need, from assessing problems and planning treatment to mastering massage techniques and protocols. Hundreds of photographs demonstrate massage techniques step by step, and case studies bring concepts to life. 'How-to' videos on the Evolve companion website show manipulation techniques, body mechanics, positioning and draping, and more. If you want to prepare for licensing and certification exams and succeed in practice, this resource from massage therapy expert Sandy Fritz is your text of choice. Comprehensive coverage includes all of the fundamentals of therapeutic massage, including massage techniques, equipment and supplies, wellness, working with special populations, and business considerations; it also prepares you for success on licensing and certification exams. Step-by-step, full-color photographs demonstrate massage techniques and protocols by body area. Three hours of video on the Evolve website demonstrate techniques and body mechanics - each clip is narrated and performed by author Sandy Fritz - as well as review activities for licensing exams. Proficiency exercises provide opportunities to practice and apply what you are learning. Case studies offer practice with clinical reasoning and prepare you to address conditions commonly encountered in professional practice. Coverage of body mechanics helps you to create an ergonomically effective massage environment and to determine appropriate pressure, drag, and duration application while applying massage methods. Coverage of multiple charting methods helps you develop record-keeping and documentation skills, including SOAP and computer charting with simulation on Evolve. Learning features include chapter outlines, objectives, summaries, key terms, practical applications, activities and exercises, and workbook-type practice. Review tools include matching exercises, short answer questions, fill-in-the-blank questions, drawing exercises, and critical thinking questions, all available on Evolve. Research Literacy and Evidence-Based Practice chapter includes new research findings and explains how research is done, and how to read and understand it. Adaptive Massage chapter explains how to address the needs of specific populations, from pregnant women and infants to hospice patients and people with physical impairments. Massage Career Tracks and Practice Settings chapter covers massage therapy services offered at spas, and looks at the spa as a possible massage career. In-depth coverage of HIPAA shows how to store records in a HIPAA-compliant manner and explains HIPAA requirements and training. Foot in the Door boxes outline the professional skills expected by prospective employers. Updated Basic Pharmacology for the Massage Therapist appendix provides up-to-date information on common medications. NEW! Mock licensing exam is added to the Evolve companion website, and the text now includes review questions at the end of each chapter. NEW! Additional content on critical thinking and research helps in building an evidence-informed practice. NEW! Increased coverage of human trafficking is designed to raise awareness and prevent the spread of this criminal activity. NEW! Updated illustrations in Body Mechanics chapter show how to create an ergonomically effective massage environment.
Indian Head Massage. 4 Edition. (2012)
Indian Head Massage covers the fundamentals of the subject in a clear and accessible format: from anatomy and physiology to health and safety, massage routines and marketing techniques. This edition has been fully updated in line with the latest NOS and relevant VRQ/NVQ qualifications and contains new essential learning features such as health and safety and knowledge check boxes. Multiple choice questions at the end of every chapter provide you with practice for your assessment, whatever awarding body you are following. This book also covers the Indian head massage units for Level 3 Beauty Therapy NVQs/VRQs. Full of new step-by-step photographs, FAQs and definitions, and links to video clips straight from the page, this is an essential text for all students of Indian head massage. Now with a FREE supporting website including interactive multiple choice quizzes, anatomy and physiology labelling activities and links to video clips of the routine.
Chinese Massage Manual. A comprehensive, step by step introduction to the healing art of Thi na. (2015)
This comprehensive, introductory book covers the essentials of Chinese massage (Tui na), including the fundamental principles of Chinese medicine, and the 20 basic massage techniques. It also includes treatment advice for 12 common ailments, so that the reader can practice what he or she has learnt to good effect. The book covers: · Instruction on 20 specialized massage techniques · How to locate over 50 points to treat specific problems · How to combine massage with Qi Gong for maximum energy and wellbeing · Step-by-step treatments for common colds, lower back pain, sciatica and more · Clear photographs, diagrams and charts The author provides key information in clear, easy to refer to tables and diagrams, making this also an excellent reference for students, and practitioners of related disciplines.
Body Massage and Massage Basics - Videos
Massage Therapist—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight
What is it like to be a massage therapist? In this Career Q&A video interview, Lori Walter talks about her career path, what she does on the job, and keys to success in the field.
Skills Championship, 6, Beauty Therapy
At nineteen Jade’s already opened a beauty salon in Skegness. The programme follows her and her training manager to a health spa in Lincolnshire where she gets a master class in body massage to help prepare her for the WorldSkills competition to be held in Japan.
Evidence Based Practice - Journal articles
Evidence-informed massage therapy – an Australian practitioner perspective
Ooi, S. L., Smith, L., & Pak, S. C. (2018). Evidence-informed massage therapy - an Australian practitioner perspective. Complementary therapies in clinical practice, 31, 325–331. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ctcp.2018.04.004
Massage therapy (MT) is the most popular complementary and alternative medicine therapy used by the Australian public. With the growing emphasis by the Australian health authority on evidence-informed healthcare decision-making, there is an increasing demand for massage therapists to move towards the evidence-informed practice (EIP). With MT research gaining significant attention over the last 30 years, clinical evidence exists to support the efficacies of MT on many health conditions, including chronic low back pain. This growing body of research supports MT to become an evidence-informed therapeutic modality.
Utilization of massage chairs for promoting overall health and wellness: A rapid scoping review
Youn, B. Y., Cho, H., Joo, S., Kim, H. J., & Kim, J. Y. (2023). Utilization of massage chairs for promoting overall health and wellness: A rapid scoping review. Explore (New York, N.Y.), S1550-8307(23)00232-X. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.explore.2023.10.002
Complementary medicine use in the Australian population: Results of a nationally-representative cross-sectional survey
Steel, A., McIntyre, E., Harnett, J., Foley, H., Adams, J., Sibbritt, D., Wardle, J., & Frawley, J. (2018). Complementary medicine use in the Australian population: Results of a nationally-representative cross-sectional survey. Scientific reports, 8(1), 17325. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-018-35508-y
A critical integrative review of complementary medicine education research: key issues and empirical gaps
Gray, A. C., Steel, A., & Adams, J. (2019). A critical integrative review of complementary medicine education research: key issues and empirical gaps. BMC complementary and alternative medicine, 19(1), 73. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12906-019-2466-z
Practice and research in Australian massage therapy: a national workforce survey
Wardle, J. L., Barnett, R., & Adams, J. (2015). Practice and research in Australian massage therapy: a national workforce survey. International journal of therapeutic massage & bodywork, 8(2), 2–11. https://doi.org/10.3822/ijtmb.v8i2.258
What Should We Do Different, More, Start and Stop? Systematic Collection and Dissemination of Massage Education Stakeholder Views from the 2017 Alliance for Massage Therapy Educational Congress
Munk, N., Dyson-Drake, J., & Mastnardo, D. (2019). What Should We Do Different, More, Start and Stop? Systematic Collection and Dissemination of Massage Education Stakeholder Views from the 2017 Alliance for Massage Therapy Educational Congress. International journal of therapeutic massage & bodywork, 12(1), 29–39.
Naturopathy in Australia: Where are we now? Where are we heading?
Ooi, S. L., McLean, L., & Pak, S. C. (2018). Naturopathy in Australia: Where are we now? Where are we heading?. Complementary therapies in clinical practice, 33, 27–35. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ctcp.2018.07.009
The Australian Complementary Medicine Workforce: A Profile of 1,306 Practitioners from the PRACI Study
Steel, A., Leach, M., Wardle, J., Sibbritt, D., Schloss, J., Diezel, H., & Adams, J. (2018). The Australian Complementary Medicine Workforce: A Profile of 1,306 Practitioners from the PRACI Study. Journal of alternative and complementary medicine (New York, N.Y.), 24(4), 385–394. https://doi.org/10.1089/acm.2017.0206
Body Massage and Massage Basics - Websites
Pathophysiology for Massage Therapists
Pathophysiology for Massage Therapists. (2016)
How do diseases and disorders affect the design of massage treatment plans? What precautions are needed? When is massage contraindicated? Develop the knowledge you need to evaluate a client based on how diseases and disorders affect the systems of the body and the critical-thinking skills to apply that knowledge in practice. "A 'functional approach' to pathophysiology fosters understanding of the inter-relationship between body systems and human function. Clients are concerned about how a disorder affects their quality of life and ability to function. My goal for this book is to guide readers to use clinical reasoning to create client-specific, outcome-based massage treatment plans from this vital information--signs, symptoms, diagnosis, and client functional concerns."--Virginia S. Cowen, PhD, LMT, RYT, CSCS The Plus Code inside new, printed texts gives you access to a wealth of instructor and student resources online at DavisPlus, including your Davis Digital Version, animations, flash cards, case studies, quizzes, and podcasts recorded by the author.