Skip to Main Content
eBooks
BIOS Instant Notes in Organic Chemistry (2012)
Instant Notes in Organic Chemistry, Second Edition, is the perfect text for undergraduates looking for a concise introduction to the subject, or a study guide to use before examinations. Each topic begins with a summary of essential facts−an ideal revision checklist−followed by a description of the subject that focuses on core information, with clear, simple diagrams that are easy for students to understand and recall in essays and exams.
Fundamentals of Chemistry Laboratory Studies (2012)
Fundamentals of Chemistry: Laboratory Studies focuses on the techniques involved in chemical laboratory operations. Divided into 13 parts, the manual gives information on weights and measures; the different states of matter; atomic and molecular weights; and electron charge. Giving support to these discussions are experiments that show the changes in weight and electron charge of metals, gases, and other materials when exposed to different conditions. The text also looks at experiments on the gravimetric and volumetric stoichiometry of chlorides, sulfates, acids, antimony, and oxalates. The manual also highlights studies conducted on potassium nitrate and chlorate, oxygen, hydrogen, and polymers. The guidebook ends with discussions on molecular geometry, kinetics, and chemical equilibrium. Experiments and illustrations of chemical reactions are presented. Taking into consideration the value of data presented, the manual is a great find for readers wanting to introduce an organized system in conducting laboratory experiments.
The Basics of Chemistry (2003)
Encompasses many different topics in and approaches to introductory chemistry. Discusses broad areas of chemistry including organic chemistry, biochemistry, environmental chemistry, and industrial chemistry. Historical developments of chemical concepts are covered, and biographical information is provided on key individuals responsible for the development of modern chemistry.
General Chemistry (2013)
General Chemistry presents the fundamental concepts of general chemistry in a precise and comprehensive manner for undergraduate students of chemistry and life science at all Indian universities. Adhering strictly to the UGC curriculum, the contents are written in a simple and lucid language enriched with a large number of examples and illustrations.
Basic Concepts of Inorganic Chemistry (2011)
Basic Concepts of Inorganic Chemistry is thoroughly revised and designed as a student text to meet the needs of the students preparing for various competitive examinations. Each concept and principle is unfolded systematically, reflecting the vast experience, command and authority of the author on the subject. The subject has been explained using basic principles that make things easy to understand and absorb both for beginners as well as advanced learners. Each chapter is followed by graded multiple choice questions (the core of the competitive exams) based on concepts, principles and applications, providing the student with necessary recapitulation and ensuring speed and accuracy.
Chemistry (2020)
A practical, complete, and easy-to-use guide for understanding major chemistry concepts and terms Master the fundamentals of chemistry with this fast and easy guide. Chemistry is a fundamental science that touches all other sciences, including biology, physics, electronics, environmental studies, astronomy, and more. Thousands of students have successfully used the previous editions of Chemistry: Concepts and Problems, A Self-Teaching Guide to learn chemistry, either independently, as a refresher, or in parallel with a college chemistry course. This newly revised edition includes updates and additions to improve your success in learning chemistry. This book uses an interactive, self-teaching method including frequent questions and study problems, increasing both the speed of learning and retention. Monitor your progress with self-tests, and master chemistry quickly. This revised Third Edition provides a fresh, step-by-step approach to learning that requires no prerequisites, lets you work at your own pace, and reinforces what you learn, ensuring lifelong mastery. Master the science of basic chemistry with this innovative, self-paced study guide Teach yourself chemistry, refresh your knowledge in preparation for medical studies or other coursework, or enhance your college chemistry course Use self-study features including review questions and quizzes to ensure that you're really learning the material Prepare for a career in the sciences, medicine, or engineering with the core content in this user-friendly guide Authored by expert postsecondary educators, this unique book gently leads students to deeper levels and concepts with practice, critical thinking, problem solving, and self-assessment at every stage.
eBooks
Physics in Anaesthesia. 2nd edition (2021)
North Metro TAFE has a 3 user licence for this eBook. Physics in Anaesthesia gives a complete and structured overview: Explanations start from first principles Simple everyday examples are used to illustrate core concepts Clinical examples highlight the applications of physics in anaesthesia Worked examples and helpful diagrams develop understanding Completely revised MCQs/SBAs now available online with hints and tips, plus answers.
Basic Physics (2020)
The book takes complex concepts and breaks them down into practical, easy to digest terms. Subject matter covered includes: Newton's Laws Energy Electricity Magnetism Light Sound And more There are also sections explaining the math behind each concept for those who would like further explanation and understanding. Each chapter features a list of objectives so that students know what they should be learning from each chapter, test questions, and exercises that inspire deeper learning about physics. High school students, college students, and those re-learning physics alike will greatly enhance their physics education with the help of this one-of-a-kind guide.
Commonly asked questions in physics (2014)
The book highlights the core areas of physics that predate the twentieth century, including mechanics, electromagnetism, optics, and thermodynamics. It also focuses on modern physics, covering quantum mechanics, atomic and nuclear physics, fundamental particles, and relativity.
A text book of applied physics (2009)
Applied Physics is designed to cater to the needs of first year undergraduate engineering students of Jawaharlal Nehru Technical University (J.N.T.U). Written in a lucid style, this book assimilates the best practices of conceptual pedagogy.
The Manga Guide to Physics (2009)
In The Manga Guide to Physics, you'll follow alongside Megumi as she learns about the physics of everyday objects like roller skates, slingshots, braking cars, and tennis serves. In no time, you'll master tough concepts like momentum and impulse, parabolic motion, and the relationship between force, mass, and acceleration. You'll also learn how to: -Apply Newton's three laws of motion to real-life problems -Determine how objects will move after a collision -Draw vector diagrams and simplify complex problems using trigonometry -Calculate how an object's kinetic energy changes as its potential energy increases.
Head First Physics (2008)
This book: Helps you think like a physicist so you can understand why things really work the way they do Gives you relevant examples so you can fully grasp the principles before moving on to more complex concepts Designed to be used as a supplement study guide for the College Board's Advanced Placement Physics B Exam Introduces principles for the purpose of solving real-world problems, not memorization Teaches you how to measure, observe, calculate -- and yes -- how to do the math Covers scientific notation, SI units, vectors, motion, momentum conservation, Newton's Laws, energy conservation, weight and mass, gravitation and orbits, circular motion and simple harmonic motion, and much more.
Fundamentals of Physics (2004)
Provides coverage of developments in Physics in the last 100 years, including: Einstein and Relativity, Bohr and others and Quantum Theory, and the more recent theoretical developments like String Theory.
eBooks
Biology : a self-teaching guide (2020)
For students looking for a solid introduction to Biology, the new 3rd Edition of Biology: A Teaching Guide is the perfect learning tool. The latest edition has been updated to include the most up-to-date information on everything from photosynthesis to physiology. For students preparing for exams or individuals who want to review material from years past, the step-by-step format is designed to help students and teachers alike easily understand complex concepts, key terms, and frequently asked questions. The guide includes a comprehensive glossary and self-test questions in each chapter, allowing students to reinforce their knowledge and better understand the concepts.
The Handy Biology Answer Book (2004)
Life itself and today's hottest science are examined in The Handy Biology Answer Book. From the newsworthy (What are stem cells? What is genetically modified food and why is it so controversial?) to the practical (Does antibiotic soap really help reduce infection? How does caffeine affect cells? How many kinds of mushrooms are edible?) and the curious (What is the most dangerous poison produced by a plant?), Handy Biology answers 1,600 questions about human, animal, and plant biology.
Books
Biology (2008)
This text in introductory biology combines the guiding principles of scientific accuracy, currency, and the power of text-art integration for teaching and learning biology. This edition contains a variety of new chapter opening essays and connection modules.
Biology. 8th ed. (Australian version)
The eighth edition, with an increased Australian focus, ensures students receive the most up-to-date, accurate and relevant information. Supplementary and Media Resources guide students through biology's toughest topics.
Nelson biology units 3 & 4 for the Australian curriculum (2014)
Nelson Biology for the Australian Curriculum Units 3 & 4 has been specifically designed to cover the three strands of the ACARA Australian Curriculum - Senior Biology -- Written to the highest achievement standard, this visually engaging series brings Biology to life with clear language and relevant examples. Case studies and Scientific Literacy boxes in every chapter help students connect the study of Biology to the real world.
BIOS Instant Notes in Organic Chemistry (2012)
Instant Notes in Organic Chemistry, Second Edition, is the perfect text for undergraduates looking for a concise introduction to the subject, or a study guide to use before examinations. Each topic begins with a summary of essential facts−an ideal revision checklist−followed by a description of the subject that focuses on core information, with clear, simple diagrams that are easy for students to understand and recall in essays and exams.
Fundamentals of Chemistry Laboratory Studies (2012)
Fundamentals of Chemistry: Laboratory Studies focuses on the techniques involved in chemical laboratory operations. Divided into 13 parts, the manual gives information on weights and measures; the different states of matter; atomic and molecular weights; and electron charge. Giving support to these discussions are experiments that show the changes in weight and electron charge of metals, gases, and other materials when exposed to different conditions. The text also looks at experiments on the gravimetric and volumetric stoichiometry of chlorides, sulfates, acids, antimony, and oxalates. The manual also highlights studies conducted on potassium nitrate and chlorate, oxygen, hydrogen, and polymers. The guidebook ends with discussions on molecular geometry, kinetics, and chemical equilibrium. Experiments and illustrations of chemical reactions are presented. Taking into consideration the value of data presented, the manual is a great find for readers wanting to introduce an organized system in conducting laboratory experiments.
The Basics of Chemistry (2003)
Encompasses many different topics in and approaches to introductory chemistry. Discusses broad areas of chemistry including organic chemistry, biochemistry, environmental chemistry, and industrial chemistry. Historical developments of chemical concepts are covered, and biographical information is provided on key individuals responsible for the development of modern chemistry.
Chemistry (2020)
A practical, complete, and easy-to-use guide for understanding major chemistry concepts and terms Master the fundamentals of chemistry with this fast and easy guide. Chemistry is a fundamental science that touches all other sciences, including biology, physics, electronics, environmental studies, astronomy, and more. Thousands of students have successfully used the previous editions of Chemistry: Concepts and Problems, A Self-Teaching Guide to learn chemistry, either independently, as a refresher, or in parallel with a college chemistry course. This newly revised edition includes updates and additions to improve your success in learning chemistry. This book uses an interactive, self-teaching method including frequent questions and study problems, increasing both the speed of learning and retention. Monitor your progress with self-tests, and master chemistry quickly. This revised Third Edition provides a fresh, step-by-step approach to learning that requires no prerequisites, lets you work at your own pace, and reinforces what you learn, ensuring lifelong mastery. Master the science of basic chemistry with this innovative, self-paced study guide Teach yourself chemistry, refresh your knowledge in preparation for medical studies or other coursework, or enhance your college chemistry course Use self-study features including review questions and quizzes to ensure that you're really learning the material Prepare for a career in the sciences, medicine, or engineering with the core content in this user-friendly guide Authored by expert postsecondary educators, this unique book gently leads students to deeper levels and concepts with practice, critical thinking, problem solving, and self-assessment at every stage.
Physics in Anaesthesia. 2nd edition (2021)
North Metro TAFE has a 3 user licence for this eBook. Physics in Anaesthesia gives a complete and structured overview: Explanations start from first principles Simple everyday examples are used to illustrate core concepts Clinical examples highlight the applications of physics in anaesthesia Worked examples and helpful diagrams develop understanding Completely revised MCQs/SBAs now available online with hints and tips, plus answers.
Basic Physics (2020)
The book takes complex concepts and breaks them down into practical, easy to digest terms. Subject matter covered includes: Newton's Laws Energy Electricity Magnetism Light Sound And more There are also sections explaining the math behind each concept for those who would like further explanation and understanding. Each chapter features a list of objectives so that students know what they should be learning from each chapter, test questions, and exercises that inspire deeper learning about physics. High school students, college students, and those re-learning physics alike will greatly enhance their physics education with the help of this one-of-a-kind guide.
Commonly asked questions in physics (2014)
The book highlights the core areas of physics that predate the twentieth century, including mechanics, electromagnetism, optics, and thermodynamics. It also focuses on modern physics, covering quantum mechanics, atomic and nuclear physics, fundamental particles, and relativity.
The Manga Guide to Physics (2009)
In The Manga Guide to Physics, you'll follow alongside Megumi as she learns about the physics of everyday objects like roller skates, slingshots, braking cars, and tennis serves. In no time, you'll master tough concepts like momentum and impulse, parabolic motion, and the relationship between force, mass, and acceleration. You'll also learn how to: -Apply Newton's three laws of motion to real-life problems -Determine how objects will move after a collision -Draw vector diagrams and simplify complex problems using trigonometry -Calculate how an object's kinetic energy changes as its potential energy increases.
Head First Physics (2008)
This book: Helps you think like a physicist so you can understand why things really work the way they do Gives you relevant examples so you can fully grasp the principles before moving on to more complex concepts Designed to be used as a supplement study guide for the College Board's Advanced Placement Physics B Exam Introduces principles for the purpose of solving real-world problems, not memorization Teaches you how to measure, observe, calculate -- and yes -- how to do the math Covers scientific notation, SI units, vectors, motion, momentum conservation, Newton's Laws, energy conservation, weight and mass, gravitation and orbits, circular motion and simple harmonic motion, and much more.
Fundamentals of Physics (2004)
Provides coverage of developments in Physics in the last 100 years, including: Einstein and Relativity, Bohr and others and Quantum Theory, and the more recent theoretical developments like String Theory.
The Handy Physics Answer Book (1998)
A collection of answers to 1,000 common questions about physics and related topics.
Biology : a self-teaching guide (2020)
For students looking for a solid introduction to Biology, the new 3rd Edition of Biology: A Teaching Guide is the perfect learning tool. The latest edition has been updated to include the most up-to-date information on everything from photosynthesis to physiology. For students preparing for exams or individuals who want to review material from years past, the step-by-step format is designed to help students and teachers alike easily understand complex concepts, key terms, and frequently asked questions. The guide includes a comprehensive glossary and self-test questions in each chapter, allowing students to reinforce their knowledge and better understand the concepts.
The Handy Biology Answer Book (2004)
Life itself and today's hottest science are examined in The Handy Biology Answer Book. From the newsworthy (What are stem cells? What is genetically modified food and why is it so controversial?) to the practical (Does antibiotic soap really help reduce infection? How does caffeine affect cells? How many kinds of mushrooms are edible?) and the curious (What is the most dangerous poison produced by a plant?), Handy Biology answers 1,600 questions about human, animal, and plant biology.
Biology (2008)
This text in introductory biology combines the guiding principles of scientific accuracy, currency, and the power of text-art integration for teaching and learning biology. This edition contains a variety of new chapter opening essays and connection modules.
Biology. 8th ed. (Australian version)
The eighth edition, with an increased Australian focus, ensures students receive the most up-to-date, accurate and relevant information. Supplementary and Media Resources guide students through biology's toughest topics.
Nelson biology units 3 & 4 for the Australian curriculum (2014)
Nelson Biology for the Australian Curriculum Units 3 & 4 has been specifically designed to cover the three strands of the ACARA Australian Curriculum - Senior Biology -- Written to the highest achievement standard, this visually engaging series brings Biology to life with clear language and relevant examples. Case studies and Scientific Literacy boxes in every chapter help students connect the study of Biology to the real world.