Skip to Main Content
Physical Books in the Library
Clinical Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners (2016)
Request It through the Library catalogue. Divided into three sections; the first looks at fundamental skills applicable to all staff, such as accountability, communication and record keeping. Section two explores core clinical skills such as respiratory care, pulse, blood glucose management and catheter care. Section three outlines complex clinical skills that require more in-depth training, such as medication and intravenous cannulation. An invaluable resource for healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, this book will also be of use to newly qualified practitioners, and students in health and social care.
eBooks
Essential Laboratory Skills for Biosciences
Essential Laboratory Skills for Biosciences is an essential companion during laboratory sessions. It is designed to be simple and give clear step by step instructions on essential techniques, supported by relevant diagrams. The book includes the use of particular equipment and how to do simple calculations that students come across regularly in laboratory practicals. Written by experienced lecturers this handy pocket book provides: Simple to follow laboratory techniques Clear use of diagrams and illustrations to explain techniques, procedures and equipment Step by step worked out examples of calculations including concentrations, dilutions and molarity Suitable for all first year university students, the techniques in the book will also be useful for postgraduate and final year project students and enhance the practical and theoretical knowledge of all those studying bioscience related subjects.
Fischbach's manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests (2018)
Describes in depth the healthcare provider's role by providing the information necessary for quality care planning, individualized patient assessment, analysis of patient needs, appropriate interventions, patient education, patient follow-up, and outcome evaluation.
Potential risks and complications of diagnostic testing mandate that proper test protocols, interfering factors, follow-up testing, and collaboration among those involved in the testing process.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy (2019)
Stressed about the ins and outs of pathophysiology? Gain confidence, with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 6th Edition . Offering helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text offers all the vitals: cell development, the infection process, cancer warning signs, abnormal cell growth, and more. Packed with easy-to-remember definitions and plentiful illustrations, this supportive guide is the ideal study partner and on-the-job reference for new nurses, students, and all healthcare practitioners. Be expertly guided into a solid foundation in pathophysiology, with: NEW and updated content in a quick-read, bulleted format End-of-book learning support that includes a "Practice Makes Perfect" practice test Dozens of colorful diagrams and illustrations that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions for: Pathophysiology basics - cellular structure; how cells reproduce, age, and die; adaptive cell changes; the concept of homeostasis and how it affects the body; the causes of disease; and the disease development process Infection, cancer, and genetics - the body's defense mechanisms against infection, types of infective microorganisms and how they invade the body, common infectious disease pathophysiology, classifications of cancer, warning signs of cancer, the cancer metastasis process, the role of genes and chromosomes, how cells divide, and genetic abnormalities Cancer as it affects individual body systems - cardiovascular, respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, endocrine, renal system, hematologic, immune, integumentary, sensory, and reproductive system Special chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights that explain key concepts, provide important care reminders, and offer reassurance Now I get it! - illustrations and flowcharts that explain difficult concepts Battling illness - the latest treatments for diseases and disorders The genetic link - connections between genetics and many common disorders Memory joggers - memory tricks and other aids that help you understand and remember difficult concepts That's a wrap ! - a quick review of chapter content Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter that help you retain knowledge About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, COI, is Vice President for Communication and Marketing at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio and Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, RN, COI, is Vice President for Business and Finance at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio, and is Adjunct Faculty at Mercy College School of Nursing in Toledo, Ohio. Carolyn Gersch, PhD, RN, CNE, is Vice President for Operations and Procedures at Connect: RN2ED, in Beavercreek, Ohio, and Director of Nursing Education at Ohio Institute of Allied Health in Dayton, Ohio.
Pathophysiology made incredibly visual! (2017)
The cell is the body’s basic building block and the smallest living component of an organism. The human body consists of millions of cells grouped into highly specialized units that function together throughout the organism’s life.
Large groups of individual cells form tissues, such as muscle, blood, and bone.
Tissues form the organs (such as the brain, heart, and liver), which are integrated into body systems (such as the central nervous system [CNS], cardiovascular system, and digestive system).
Professional guide to pathophysiology (2020)
Lays a foundation for normal cellular physiology and pathologic deviations of disease.
Following that, cancer, infection, and fluid and electrolytes each deserve a specific chapter because of their ubiquitous effects.
Organized by body system, with an initial discussion of normal anatomy and physiology as a background for pathology specific to that area.
Subsequent disease entries cover causes, pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, complications, diagnosis, treatment, and special considerations.
Reflects such recent advances in medical knowledge.
Books
Phlebotomy Handbook (2018)
Basic to Advanced links students and health care professionals to the latest information on safe, effective blood collection. Progressing from simple concepts to complex competencies, the text covers all of the communication, clinical, technical, and safety skills.
Phillips's Manual of I. V. Therapeutics (2018)
The perfect resource for any setting where infusion therapy skills are required! Its popular, self-paced approach makes it ideal for classroom and clinical settings as it progresses from the basics to advanced techniques while incorporating theory into clinical application.
Online Videos
Blood Collection for Medical Assistants: Anatomy and Physiology (2021)
It discusses the five types of blood vessels, three preferred venipuncture sites, three elements found in the blood, the four blood types, and seven common blood tests.
Blood Collection for Medical Assistants: Special Considerations (2021)
This program focuses on special considerations when performing phlebotomy on specific populations, including pediatric patients, the elderly, women who have had mastectomies, patients who are obese, and those who have needle phobia. It discusses the volume of blood at different developmental stages, shows techniques for alleviating stress of venipuncture, examines typical behavioral reactions of different ages, and demonstrates procedures for collecting blood from newborns, children, and elderly patients.
BloodSafe Australia - videos
Activating a Massive Transfusion Protocol
Transfusion consent for neonates: A shared decision
Patient Blood Management – an overview
Principles of double independent checking
Shared decision making and patient consent
IV Iron administration in primary care
Minimising blood loss in cardiothoracic surgery
Gastrointestinal bleeding – patient assessment and transfusion
Performing Phlebotomy (2021)
This program teaches medical assistants how to perform venipuncture, troubleshoot problems with gaining venous access, and recognize common complications. It reviews proper labeling, preparation procedures, venipuncture procedures, and types of equipment used.
Phlebotomy Technician - Career Q&A (2019)
What is it like to be a phlebotomy technician? In this Career Q&A video interview, Carol Kleinbrahm talks about her career path, what she does on the job, and the keys to success in health care services. She also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years.
Websites
Australian & New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion
The Australian and New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion comprises over 400 members from diverse scientific, medical and nursing backgrounds working within the area of blood transfusion and related fields.
BloodSafe Australia
Blood Safe E learning Australia has a number of free online courses around transfusion practice and patient blood management.
Blood Tests - Health Direct
From Health Direct find information on the A-Z of different blood tests.
Drawing blood and transfusion
Refer to this page to see diagrams of the different veins, their names and locations for drawing blood.
Haematology Society of Australia and New Zealand
The Haematology Society of Australia & New Zealand (HSANZ) aims to inform members
of the most recent developments in haematology, and to advance knowledge and inspire continued
professional development in this exciting discipline.
How to draw blood
Phlebotomy and venipuncture are critically important to patient care. Mastering these skills will lead to a much better experience for all healthcare practitioners as well as their patients.
This article focuses on the art and science of venipuncture, one of the most important healthcare procedures for nurses and other medical staff.
Lab Tests Online (Australian)
This website contains useful information about understanding different pathology tests.
Public Pathology Australia
Public Pathology Australia is the national peak body for public pathology in Australia.
Public Pathology Australia originated as the National Coalition of Public Pathology (NCOPP) in 2001. The organisation was formed to provide a single voice for the public pathology services operating throughout Australia.
Royal College of Pathologists Of Australasia
The RCPA is the leading organisation representing Pathologists and Senior Scientists in Australasia.
Its mission is to train and support pathologists and senior scientists and to improve the use of pathology testing to achieve better healthcare.
Venepuncture: Phlebotomy and IV Cannula Insertion (2023)
Venepuncture is a routine invasive procedure that involves puncturing a vein with a needle to gain venous access, either for phlebotomy (the collection of blood) or the provision of intravenous therapy (Shlamovitz 2023; TeachMe Surgery 2017).
Clinical Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners (2016)
Request It through the Library catalogue. Divided into three sections; the first looks at fundamental skills applicable to all staff, such as accountability, communication and record keeping. Section two explores core clinical skills such as respiratory care, pulse, blood glucose management and catheter care. Section three outlines complex clinical skills that require more in-depth training, such as medication and intravenous cannulation. An invaluable resource for healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, this book will also be of use to newly qualified practitioners, and students in health and social care.
Essential Clinical Skills: Enrolled Nurses (2019)
Essential Clinical Skills, clearly and succinctly explains each key clinical skill and provides a structured format for students to undertake many of the skills taught in HLT54115.
Essential Laboratory Skills for Biosciences
Essential Laboratory Skills for Biosciences is an essential companion during laboratory sessions. It is designed to be simple and give clear step by step instructions on essential techniques, supported by relevant diagrams. The book includes the use of particular equipment and how to do simple calculations that students come across regularly in laboratory practicals. Written by experienced lecturers this handy pocket book provides: Simple to follow laboratory techniques Clear use of diagrams and illustrations to explain techniques, procedures and equipment Step by step worked out examples of calculations including concentrations, dilutions and molarity Suitable for all first year university students, the techniques in the book will also be useful for postgraduate and final year project students and enhance the practical and theoretical knowledge of all those studying bioscience related subjects.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy (2019)
Stressed about the ins and outs of pathophysiology? Gain confidence, with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 6th Edition . Offering helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text offers all the vitals: cell development, the infection process, cancer warning signs, abnormal cell growth, and more. Packed with easy-to-remember definitions and plentiful illustrations, this supportive guide is the ideal study partner and on-the-job reference for new nurses, students, and all healthcare practitioners. Be expertly guided into a solid foundation in pathophysiology, with: NEW and updated content in a quick-read, bulleted format End-of-book learning support that includes a "Practice Makes Perfect" practice test Dozens of colorful diagrams and illustrations that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions for: Pathophysiology basics - cellular structure; how cells reproduce, age, and die; adaptive cell changes; the concept of homeostasis and how it affects the body; the causes of disease; and the disease development process Infection, cancer, and genetics - the body's defense mechanisms against infection, types of infective microorganisms and how they invade the body, common infectious disease pathophysiology, classifications of cancer, warning signs of cancer, the cancer metastasis process, the role of genes and chromosomes, how cells divide, and genetic abnormalities Cancer as it affects individual body systems - cardiovascular, respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, endocrine, renal system, hematologic, immune, integumentary, sensory, and reproductive system Special chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights that explain key concepts, provide important care reminders, and offer reassurance Now I get it! - illustrations and flowcharts that explain difficult concepts Battling illness - the latest treatments for diseases and disorders The genetic link - connections between genetics and many common disorders Memory joggers - memory tricks and other aids that help you understand and remember difficult concepts That's a wrap ! - a quick review of chapter content Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter that help you retain knowledge About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, COI, is Vice President for Communication and Marketing at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio and Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, RN, COI, is Vice President for Business and Finance at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio, and is Adjunct Faculty at Mercy College School of Nursing in Toledo, Ohio. Carolyn Gersch, PhD, RN, CNE, is Vice President for Operations and Procedures at Connect: RN2ED, in Beavercreek, Ohio, and Director of Nursing Education at Ohio Institute of Allied Health in Dayton, Ohio.
The Complete Textbook of Phlebotomy (2018)
Helps develop the phlebotomy-related knowledge and skills you need to become a confident, competent health care professional.
Phlebotomy Handbook (2018)
Basic to Advanced links students and health care professionals to the latest information on safe, effective blood collection. Progressing from simple concepts to complex competencies, the text covers all of the communication, clinical, technical, and safety skills.
Phillips's Manual of I. V. Therapeutics (2018)
The perfect resource for any setting where infusion therapy skills are required! Its popular, self-paced approach makes it ideal for classroom and clinical settings as it progresses from the basics to advanced techniques while incorporating theory into clinical application.