Guides: South Metropolitan TAFE Library Service: Find Information

Find Library Resources

Supersearch will find physical items in our campus libraries and our e-Resources, as well as many items in our databases, online journal collections, and EduTV.

If you need some help with Supersearch, read our search tips, try our Find It self-paced online course, or ask at your campus library.

SuperSearch Help Guides

Find Streamed Videos

Click on a button below to search one of our streamed video collections.

Find Databases

Click a tab to find a Database by title.
You can also find databases on your Subject/Study Guides.

ABI / Inform Global [Proquest] > SMT This link opens in a new window A comprehensive and diverse business database. It includes Company profiles, industry and commodity reports, and business cases.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers a broad range of subjects including arts, children, humanities, multicultural, psychology and more. (Full text back to 2001 for Journals like- Aviation Week, Art and Australia, Discover, New Scientist)
Alexander Street Press Video Collection > SMT This link opens in a new window Alexander Street Press Video Collection includes Music and Performing Arts, Classical and World Musio. Issues in Health Science, Social Science and Engineering, Anthropology, Business Economics, History, Diversity, Art and Design, Personal Interest, Psychology and Counselling.
Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures) > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers anatomy and physiology with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations.
Arts, The [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window This database provides vocational information focused on the arts. Subject coverage includes architecture, building and construction, business, design, education, fashion, media and more.
Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) This link opens in a new window AustLII is an online free-access resource for Australian legal information, including legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals; as well as law reform and Royal Commission reports.
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window The ABS website provides free access to Australian statistical information and census data.
Australian Indigenous Health InfoNet > SMT This link opens in a new window ECU's database of resources related to Indigenous Health in Australia.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window The APAFT database brings together over 260 journals coving Australia's political, economic and social affairs and forms an essential reference for study and research.
Australian Standards Select Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The Techstreet database allows access to Australian and New Zealand Standards
ANZ Reference Centre Plus [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Provides information from the Australian/New Zealand Reference Centre. Australian National News Wire, AAPPS Bulletin, Premier & Regional News, Advertiser Adelaide, Perth, Aboriginal Art of Australia.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central > SMT This link opens in a new window Historical and regional fashion information, images from Victoria & Albert Museum fashion collection and more. Previously called, the Berg Fashion Library, this database covers the social, cultural, and historical aspects of world-wide fashion, dress and textiles. It provides in-depth text and image content from pre-history to today.
Business [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes ABI/Inform Complete, Hoover's Company Profiles and others. This database provides vocational information focused on the arts. Subject coverage includes architecture, building and construction, business, design, education, fashion, media and more.
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier Publications provides information on Company Profiles and Analysis including MarketLine Company Profiles Authority, Cited References, Images and Indexes.

CINAHL Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINaHL) is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 indexed journals.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Subjects include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, new technologies, and social and professional context.
Computing [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window Proquest’s Computing database includes computer security, software development, Web Commerce & much more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The care and health policy is published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Cochrane produces systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy. Intervention reviews assess the benefits and harms of interventions used in healthcare and health policy.
Directory of Open Access Books > SMT This link opens in a new window Scholarly books available freely on the Internet with coverage across a wide range of subject areas.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) > SMT This link opens in a new window Extensive index of open access journals from around the world.
eBooks on ProQuest Central > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers many subject areas including Fine Arts, Business Studies, Education and Languages, Geography, ICT, Travel, Tourism and Hospitality. Health, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy, Psychology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Computer Science, Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Maths and Science.
eBooks on EBSCOhost > SMT This link opens in a new window The eBook Collection has a selection of online books customised to the needs of SMT staff and students. Titles include Business and Economics, Computer Science and Technology, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health and Medicine, and Study Aids.
eBooks on Ovid > SMT This link opens in a new window Ovid eBooks contain the Nursing made incredibly easy series as well as other medical based e-book titles.
EBSCO [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window EBSCO contains Academic Journals, Books, Monographs, Essays, Periodicals, Conference Proceedings. Included are Image Quick View Type with Photos, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations.
Education Journals [Proquest] > SMT This link opens in a new window Contains the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. Offers complete information on hundreds of educational topics in primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education subjects.
Education Research Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is a online resource for education research and covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, including multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, full text for more than 1,200 journals, and full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
EduTV > SMT This link opens in a new window EduTV includes over 20,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series
Engineering (full text 2012 - 2016) [Emerald] > SMT This link opens in a new window Emerald Engineering e-Journal Collection includes 23 titles that emphasize the core areas of mechanical and electrical engineering. Full text access for years 2012 - 2016
Engineering Collection [Informit] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit’s Engineering Collection covers chemical, civil, electrical and mechanical engineering. The database offers scholarly journals, trade publications, reports and conference proceedings.
Environment Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.

Florabase > SMT This link opens in a new window FloraBase provides flora education and introduces the Flora Base Home of the Western Australian Herbarium. The database includes Science and Research, Park and Wild life and The Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions.
GreenFILE [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE has general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Partial Full text only.
Haynes Manuals AllAccess > SMT This link opens in a new window Haynes Manuals AllAccess database provides automotive workshop manuals for most cars sold in Australia
Health & Medicine [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window This resource offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals as well as curriculum-based health videos. It includse Nursing and Allied Health, OSH and Family Health.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost has Magazines, Review Reports, Trade Publications and Academic Research has educational information on Hospitality and Tourism issues. Interesting information on the Hospitality and Toursm Industry, Management, Tourism impact, Development, Marketing, Planning and Developing and future trends.
Industrial Engineering and Operations Management [Knovel] > SMT This link opens in a new window Knovel industrial Engineering include subjects like ergonomic design, human factors engineering, workspace design, equipment maintenance and facility management, project management, quality control and six sigma, and supply chain management. Of use to industrial and manufacturing engineers improving facility design, assembly processes, and worker effectiveness to improve quality, achieve faster assembly, and lower worker injuries and downtime
Informit [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit has a number of data bases including APAFT (Australian Public Affairs, Full text); Engineering, and EduTV
IVS Cloud > SMT This link opens in a new window Veterinary medicines information from MIMS Australia
Joanna Briggs Institute > SMT This link opens in a new window The JBI - EBP Database provides a collection of Educational Health Care subjects and issues. The JBI Evidence-Based Practice Journal and the JBI database of Systematic Review and Implementation Reports. Health issues include Medication Errors - (Best Practice sheets), Wound Care (Recommended Practices), Falls - Consumer Information Sheets and Information, plus Instructional Material.
Kanopy > SMT This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a streaming video service with customised content on a wide range of subjects, including health and safety, child care, education, hospitality and engineering. (Note that requests for additional titles are only available to staff via the online request form. Students should consult their lecturers or our guides for alternative content.)
Knovel [Collection] > SMT This link opens in a new window A wide range of engineering resources and tools for the targeted subjects such as oil and gas, mechanical engineering, marine engineering and industrial engineering and related topics. Tools include materials and properties data, as well as the data mining tool which finds numerical data embedded within charts and tables in the resources included in the database. See our Knovel Guide for more details
Learning Ground (Indigenous Education Research Database) > SMT This link opens in a new window ACER's gateway to the latest national and international publications focusing on Indigenous education (early childhood, post school education, adult learning)
Management (full text 2012 - 2016) [Emerald] > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes management journal tiles that are full-text and peer reviewed. Subjects include accounting, marketing, governance, employee relations, facilities, human resources and many more. Full text access for years 2012-2016
Marine Engineering and Naval Architecture [Knovel] > SMT This link opens in a new window Knovel describes the engineering, design, and operation of boats, ships, offshore structures, oil rigs, floating platforms, and their related mechanical and electrical equipment. Provides approaches for improving ship stability, better hydrodynamic design to minimize drag and improve fuel efficiency, improving the corrosion-resistance of metals at sea through coatings, paint, and new materials, and offers compliance guidelines for life saving equipment and design of safer vessels and structures.
Masterfile Complete [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes the Company Information database (eg KFC incl. contacts, revenue, industry information) 350 reference books, biographies and image collections. Includes the New Oxford American Dictionary.
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering [Knovel] > SMT This link opens in a new window Knovel covers the design of motors and drives, pipe design, hydraulics, fluid mechanics and rheology, boiler and pressure vessel design, HVAC, systems and equipment, ship and vehicle design and manufacturing, Finite Element Method, and control of vibration. Of use to mechanical, aerospace, manufacturing, plumbing, and automotive engineers designing mechanical devices for improved performance, increased energy efficiency and user satisfaction. Includes a collection of Knovel Equation Solver interactive equations.
MIMS Online > SMT This link opens in a new window Authoritative information about medications, including descriptions, prescribing information, interactions and side effects. Also allows search by pill size, shape, colour, and markings.
MSD Manual - Consumer Version This link opens in a new window MSD Manual Consumer contains medical information at an appropriate level for patients, parents and caregivers. Easy to understand explanations for 1000s of medical disorders, including symptoms and what doctors do to diagnose and treat medical conditions. Includes photos, video, animations, quizzes and self-assessments.
MSD Manual - Professional Version This link opens in a new window Comprehensive free medical information source for medical and health care professionals and students. Includes 1000s of topics, videos, photos, 3D models, clinical calculators and quizzes.
MSD Manual - Veterinary Manual This link opens in a new window Veterinary reference manual for Veterinary professionals and students, including reference guides, case studies, videos and photos as well as clinical calculators and quizzes.
National Construction Code > SMT This link opens in a new window The National Construction Code (NCC) contains the Building Code of Australia and the Plumbing Code of Australia. It documents the technical requirements for building design and construction. Please complete the ABCB registration form to obtain a login and password to access the NCC Online.
Oil & Gas Engineering [Knovel] > SMT This link opens in a new window Knovel cover subjects like geology, reservoir simulation, drilling and completion fluids, petrophysics, seismology, buried and offshore pipelines corrosion control, refinery design and operation, safety and equipment maintenance, and the chemistry and physical properties of petroleum products.
Oxford Reference Online > SMT This link opens in a new window Provides an online reference covering 25 different subject areas using Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopaedias.

ProQuest Central [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across all major subject areas and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world
PubMed > SMT This link opens in a new window PubMed® comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Safetycare Safetyhub > SMT This link opens in a new window Safetycare Safetyhub contains Safetycare's comprehensive library of Workplace Health & Safety and Skills Training video programs.
Science & Technology [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window This database includes vocational level information focused on science and technology. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
Social Sciences [ProQuest] > SMT This link opens in a new window ProQuest Social Science Journals provide information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
SocINDEX with Full Text [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text has a variety of information including Sociology, Additional Research on Drugs, Human Behavour and Social Work. Also includes a dictionary, books, journals, abstract, articles, Image Quick View, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations. Note that not all records are full-text.
Teacher Reference Center [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window The Teacher Reference Centre provides a comprehensive guide to issues in Education. This includes: Education Research, Reference Tools for Teacher's including Web Publication Tools. Education Intervention for Mental Health, Asthma and Autistic Children, Pregnancy, and so on. Also covers Moderation and Education Reform, Education and Art Therapy, and Diet and Nutrition Programs.
Vogue Archive [Proquest] > SMT This link opens in a new window Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day. Every page, cover, advertisement, image, and fold out is indexed, searchable, and viewable in beautiful high-resolution colour.
Western Australian Legislation This link opens in a new window This is the official site for Western Australian legislation and statutory information. Contains full-text Acts and Regulations as well as other information.
VOCEDplus > SMT This link opens in a new window
World Book Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools including encyclopaedia articles, primary source collections, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.

Icon	What does it mean?
	Australian content – fully or partly
	Chrome – works best in Chrome
	Edge – Works best in Edge
	Error – an error has been reported with this resource. It is being attended to.
	Help sheets – Click icon to access
	Legal Resource
	Maintenance may make this resource temporarily unavailable. Click icon for dates
	You may be required to register or login with the supplier
	Streaming video
	Under review

DATABASE HELP

Check out our Resource Help page

Need a general introduction to database searching? Try our Find It self-paced online course.

Need help finding a database on your topic? Search here:

Use the tabs above to search for EBooks, EJournals or Encyclopedias and other resources.

Need help with searching any of our databases?

Check our Resource Help page, our Australian Standards help page, or our FAQs.

Australian Standards Select Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The Techstreet database allows access to Australian and New Zealand Standards
Directory of Open Access Books > SMT This link opens in a new window Scholarly books available freely on the Internet with coverage across a wide range of subject areas.
eBooks on ProQuest Central > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers many subject areas including Fine Arts, Business Studies, Education and Languages, Geography, ICT, Travel, Tourism and Hospitality. Health, Medicine, Nursing and Pharmacy, Psychology, Social Sciences, Agriculture, Computer Science, Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Maths and Science.
eBooks on EBSCOhost > SMT This link opens in a new window The eBook Collection has a selection of online books customised to the needs of SMT staff and students. Titles include Business and Economics, Computer Science and Technology, Education, Engineering & Technology, Health and Medicine, and Study Aids.
eBooks on Ovid > SMT This link opens in a new window Ovid eBooks contain the Nursing made incredibly easy series as well as other medical based e-book titles.
Knovel [Collection] > SMT This link opens in a new window A wide range of engineering resources and tools for the targeted subjects such as oil and gas, mechanical engineering, marine engineering and industrial engineering and related topics. Tools include materials and properties data, as well as the data mining tool which finds numerical data embedded within charts and tables in the resources included in the database. See our Knovel Guide for more details

EBSCO [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window EBSCO contains Academic Journals, Books, Monographs, Essays, Periodicals, Conference Proceedings. Included are Image Quick View Type with Photos, Graphs, Maps, Charts, Diagrams and Illustrations.
ProQuest Central [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across all major subject areas and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world
Informit [Multiple Databases] > SMT This link opens in a new window Informit has a number of data bases including APAFT (Australian Public Affairs, Full text); Engineering, and EduTV
Bloomsbury Fashion Central > SMT This link opens in a new window Historical and regional fashion information, images from Victoria & Albert Museum fashion collection and more. Previously called, the Berg Fashion Library, this database covers the social, cultural, and historical aspects of world-wide fashion, dress and textiles. It provides in-depth text and image content from pre-history to today.
Engineering (full text 2012 - 2016) [Emerald] > SMT This link opens in a new window Emerald Engineering e-Journal Collection includes 23 titles that emphasize the core areas of mechanical and electrical engineering. Full text access for years 2012 - 2016
Management (full text 2012 - 2016) [Emerald] > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes management journal tiles that are full-text and peer reviewed. Subjects include accounting, marketing, governance, employee relations, facilities, human resources and many more. Full text access for years 2012-2016
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) > SMT This link opens in a new window Extensive index of open access journals from around the world.
Joanna Briggs Institute > SMT This link opens in a new window The JBI - EBP Database provides a collection of Educational Health Care subjects and issues. The JBI Evidence-Based Practice Journal and the JBI database of Systematic Review and Implementation Reports. Health issues include Medication Errors - (Best Practice sheets), Wound Care (Recommended Practices), Falls - Consumer Information Sheets and Information, plus Instructional Material.

Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures) > SMT This link opens in a new window Covers anatomy and physiology with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations.
Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) This link opens in a new window AustLII is an online free-access resource for Australian legal information, including legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals; as well as law reform and Royal Commission reports.
Australian Bureau of Statistics This link opens in a new window The ABS website provides free access to Australian statistical information and census data.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The care and health policy is published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Cochrane produces systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy. Intervention reviews assess the benefits and harms of interventions used in healthcare and health policy.
Florabase > SMT This link opens in a new window FloraBase provides flora education and introduces the Flora Base Home of the Western Australian Herbarium. The database includes Science and Research, Park and Wild life and The Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions.
Haynes Manuals AllAccess > SMT This link opens in a new window Haynes Manuals AllAccess database provides automotive workshop manuals for most cars sold in Australia
MSD Manual - Consumer Version This link opens in a new window MSD Manual Consumer contains medical information at an appropriate level for patients, parents and caregivers. Easy to understand explanations for 1000s of medical disorders, including symptoms and what doctors do to diagnose and treat medical conditions. Includes photos, video, animations, quizzes and self-assessments.
MSD Manual - Professional Version This link opens in a new window Comprehensive free medical information source for medical and health care professionals and students. Includes 1000s of topics, videos, photos, 3D models, clinical calculators and quizzes.
MSD Manual - Veterinary Manual This link opens in a new window Veterinary reference manual for Veterinary professionals and students, including reference guides, case studies, videos and photos as well as clinical calculators and quizzes.
National Construction Code > SMT This link opens in a new window The National Construction Code (NCC) contains the Building Code of Australia and the Plumbing Code of Australia. It documents the technical requirements for building design and construction. Please complete the ABCB registration form to obtain a login and password to access the NCC Online.
Oxford Reference Online > SMT This link opens in a new window Provides an online reference covering 25 different subject areas using Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopaedias.
Teacher Reference Center [EBSCO] > SMT This link opens in a new window The Teacher Reference Centre provides a comprehensive guide to issues in Education. This includes: Education Research, Reference Tools for Teacher's including Web Publication Tools. Education Intervention for Mental Health, Asthma and Autistic Children, Pregnancy, and so on. Also covers Moderation and Education Reform, Education and Art Therapy, and Diet and Nutrition Programs.
VOCEDplus > SMT This link opens in a new window
Western Australian Legislation This link opens in a new window This is the official site for Western Australian legislation and statutory information. Contains full-text Acts and Regulations as well as other information.
World Book Online > SMT This link opens in a new window The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools including encyclopaedia articles, primary source collections, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
World Book Discover > SMT This link opens in a new window Includes information on a variety or research topics plus dozens of videos on high-interest topics. Translates research articles into 31 languages and also reads text aloud in English.

Find Standards and Help

Click on the button below to access Australian Standards and find help.

South Metropolitan TAFE Library Service: Find Information

Search the Library Catalogue