Skip to Main Content
eBooks - Nursing Care - Health Services Assitance
Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners. (2019)
Equips you with the knowledge to provide the safest and most effective patient care possible; provides evidence-based guidelines to ensure best practice that is matched to the National Occupational Standards and the Care Certificate; includes new chapters on administering injections, ear irrigation and examining the feet of people with diabetes, and an entirely rewritten chapter on protocols.
Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease 14th Ed. (2020)
Memmler's The Human Body in Health and Disease, Fourteenth Edition is a textbook for introductory-level allied health and nursing students who need a basic understanding of anatomy and physiology, the interrelationships between structure and function, and the effects of disease on body systems.
Nursing Care Planning (2018)
Describes the nursing process and of mastering a concept map framework to better implement the nursing process.
The subsequent plan of care evolves naturally as an extension of this process, and the use of electronic medical records and other technological advancements helps ensure that all members
have access to the same information to address patient and family needs when delivering care.
Books in the Library - Nursing Care - Health Services Assitance
Clinical Nursing Skills: An Australian perspective. (2017)
Clinical Nursing Skills provides students with a strong, industry-focused foundation in nursing across various clinical settings. It includes the essential theory as well as relevant practical examples, which illustrate the skills required to prepare students for the workplace and help them achieve clinical competence.
Health services assistance : supporting nursing in acute care. (2020)
Part 1. Organisational requirements. 1. Participate in workplace health and safety. 2. Comply with infection prevention and control policies and procedures. Part 2. Health support. 3. Recognise healthy body systems. 4. Interpret and appply medical terminology appropriately. 5. Communicate and work in health and community services. 6. Assist with movement. 7. Transport individuals. Part 3. Acute care specialisation. 8. Assist with nursing care in an acute care environment. 9. Provide non-client contact support in an acute care environment. 10. Respond effectively to behaviours of concern. Part 4. Client skills. 11. Work with diverse people. 12. Work with people with mental health issues. 13. Provide support to people living with dementia. 14. Deliver care services using a palliative approach. 15. Organise personal work priorities and development.
Learning to Care (2019)
Illustrated throughout, this exciting resource is designed to fully equip
trainee as a professional healthcare providers with chapters ranging from 'how to learn' and essay writing to communication skills,
reflective practice, and the role of evidence-based clinical decision making.
Complete with a full exploration of basic anatomy and physiology, together with the care and treatment of common disorders,
Comes with a wide range of helpful learning features such as 'Hot Spots' and the 'Medicine Trolley',
all designed to aid learning and help foster safe clinical practice.
Patient and Person: Interpersonal skills in nursing. 7th Edition (2021)
The book includes empathy, dealing with challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient. Nurses will learn to build trusting relationships and support patients in their health journey. Narratives and stories to explain practical application of theoretical concepts. Forty-two learning activities to enable students to understand the content and practise skills in a focused manner. Person-centred approach throughout. Online scenario-based videos to demonstrate the use of specific skills. Renewed emphasis about the importance of reflection in culture care. Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing for Patient and Person, 7e, included in all print purchases.
Health services assistance : supporting nursing in acute care - 3rd ed. (2023)
PART 1 Core -- 1. Participate in work health and safety -- 2. Apply basicprinciples and practices of infection prevention and control -- 3. Recognise healthy body systems -- 4. Communicate and work in health and community services -- 5. Interpret and apply medical terminology appropriately -- 6. Work with diverse people -- 7. Organise personal work priorities and development -- PART 2 Electives ' Acute care specialisation -- 8. Assist with movement -- 9. Transport individuals -- 10. Provide non-client contact support in an acute care environment -- 11. Assist with nursing care in an acute care environment -- 12. Respond effectively to behaviours of concern -- PART 3 Alternative elective units -- 13. Work with people with mental health issues -- 14. Provide support for people living with dementia -- 15. Deliver care services using a palliative approach -- 16. Maintain a high standard of service -- 17. Assist with an Allied Health program HLTAHA001
Online Videos - Nursing Care - Health Services Assitance
Websites - Nursing Care - Health Services Assitance
Clinical Skill - Breathing Assessment (2017)
Learning Objective
After reading the skill overview, watching the video, following up some of the references/web sites and completing the self-test quiz you should be ready to be assessed in practice in the skill of assessing the patient’s breathing.
Communicating with patients and colleagues - ACSQHC (2023)
Patient – clinician communication
Resources for patient-clinician communication
Communicating and collaborating with colleagues
Inpatient falls prevention - WA Department of Health
A hospital setting is associated with an increased risk of falling. Falls are one of the most frequently reported clinical incidents in hospitals around the world, including in WA.
Nursing Care Plans (2023)
Writing the best nursing care plan requires a step-by-step approach to correctly complete the parts needed for a care plan -US but still relevant
Patient-clinician communication in hospitals - Communicating for safety at transitions of care: An information sheet for healthcare providers (2016)
Description
An information sheet for healthcare providers outlining:
Why communicating for safety at transitions of care is important
Essential elements of effective patient-clinician communication
Role of healthcare providers
Actions and strategies that may help improve patient-clinician communication
Copyright - Unless stated otherwise, materials provided are covered by a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike (BY-NC-ND) 4.0 International License.
Pressure Injury Prevention (2022)
Home Injury prevention in Western Australia
Injury prevention in Western Australia
The WA Department of Health works with a range of injury prevention stakeholders to prevent injury and improve community safety in Western Australia. These include:
KnowInjury (external site) – networking, training and development opportunities to support the prevention of injury in WA.
Stay On Your Feet® (external site) – information and strategies for older adults, their friends and family and health professionals to prevent slips, trips and falls.
Royal Life Saving Society WA (external site) – education, training and resources to improve safety in and around water.
Kidsafe WA (external site) – preventing childhood injuries by promoting safety at home, at play and on the road, as well product safety.
Driving Change: Road Safety Strategy for Western Australia 2020-2030 (external site) – sets out five priority areas for road safety in WA: safe roads, safer road users, safe speeds, safe vehicles and post-crash response. Delivered by the Road Safety Commission (external site).
Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners. (2019)
Equips you with the knowledge to provide the safest and most effective patient care possible; provides evidence-based guidelines to ensure best practice that is matched to the National Occupational Standards and the Care Certificate; includes new chapters on administering injections, ear irrigation and examining the feet of people with diabetes, and an entirely rewritten chapter on protocols.
Fundamentals of Care (2017)
Chapt 11
Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease 14th Ed. (2020)
Memmler's The Human Body in Health and Disease, Fourteenth Edition is a textbook for introductory-level allied health and nursing students who need a basic understanding of anatomy and physiology, the interrelationships between structure and function, and the effects of disease on body systems.
Nursing Care Planning (2018)
Describes the nursing process and of mastering a concept map framework to better implement the nursing process.
The subsequent plan of care evolves naturally as an extension of this process, and the use of electronic medical records and other technological advancements helps ensure that all members
have access to the same information to address patient and family needs when delivering care.
Clinical Nursing Skills: An Australian perspective. (2017)
Clinical Nursing Skills provides students with a strong, industry-focused foundation in nursing across various clinical settings. It includes the essential theory as well as relevant practical examples, which illustrate the skills required to prepare students for the workplace and help them achieve clinical competence.
Learning to Care (2019)
Illustrated throughout, this exciting resource is designed to fully equip
trainee as a professional healthcare providers with chapters ranging from 'how to learn' and essay writing to communication skills,
reflective practice, and the role of evidence-based clinical decision making.
Complete with a full exploration of basic anatomy and physiology, together with the care and treatment of common disorders,
Comes with a wide range of helpful learning features such as 'Hot Spots' and the 'Medicine Trolley',
all designed to aid learning and help foster safe clinical practice.
Patient and Person: Interpersonal skills in nursing. 7th Edition (2021)
The book includes empathy, dealing with challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient. Nurses will learn to build trusting relationships and support patients in their health journey. Narratives and stories to explain practical application of theoretical concepts. Forty-two learning activities to enable students to understand the content and practise skills in a focused manner. Person-centred approach throughout. Online scenario-based videos to demonstrate the use of specific skills. Renewed emphasis about the importance of reflection in culture care. Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing for Patient and Person, 7e, included in all print purchases.
