Skip to Main Content
eBooks - Medical Terminology - Health Services Assistance
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Medical Terminology (2013)
This handbook shows readers how to master medicine's core terminology so they can successfully pass their academic courses and certification tests. It introduces readers to Greek and Latin roots and provides an outline of the body's systems, an explanation of the body's physiology, and a primer on commonly used terms for diseases, injuries, conditions, tests, and procedures.
Dictionary of Nursing 2nd ed. (2008)
Over 11,000 entries, each providing clear, up-to-date coverage of specialist nursing terms including diseases, symptoms, anatomy, instruments, common drugs and biological terms. It covers both everyday vocabulary relating to patient care and terms from medical specialisations such as psychiatry. It provides the user with a complete guide to the vocabulary likely to be encountered by nurses (and other health care professionals) in their day-to-day work.
Medical Terminology for Dummies (2019)
Every job in the medical field needs some background in medical terminology. From the check-in desk to the doctor to the pharmaceutical sales rep, and everyone around and in between, healthcare professionals and those in adjacent fields use a common and consistent vocabulary to improve quality, safety, and efficiency.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy. (2019)
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease 14th Ed. (2020)
Memmler's The Human Body in Health and Disease, Fourteenth Edition is a textbook for introductory-level allied health and nursing students who need a basic understanding of anatomy and physiology, the interrelationships between structure and function, and the effects of disease on body systems.
Abbreviations - Medical Terminology - Health Services Assistance
Dictionaries in the Library - Medical Terminology - Health Services Assistance
Australian nurses' dictionary (2020)
Includes terms relating to specialist areas, such as health informatics, midwifery, education, research, ethics and complementary therapies. Featuring comprehensive nursing definitions, guidelines, terminology, policies and procedures,
Bailliere's Dictionary for Nurses and Health Care Workers (2019)
For a variety of settings raging from the high-tech high-dependency environment to primary care and community settings
Clear artwork helps further clarify terms and difficult concepts
Includes common abbreviations, prefixes, suffixes and roots, together with units of measurement and normal values
Helpful appendices cover nutrition, resuscitation, first aid, medicines control, immunization and vaccinations, and prevention and control of infection
Black's Medical Dictionary. (2009)
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professsionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It containsover 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations. This new edition contains new materialon: - HPV vaccine : the vaccine now given to all young girls to protect against cervical cancer - Monoclonal Antibodies: the `designer' drugs of the future - The new guidelines for fibroid treatment - Endoscopy and laparoscopy - the more and more widely used types of keyhole surgery - Coronary angioplasty: the emergency tretament of heart attacks - The latest on MRSA and stem cell research
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions (2017)
With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases.
As well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions,
and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts.
Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more.
Updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
Online Videos - Medical Terminology - Health Services Assistance
English Pronunciation Lesson for Doctors (2020)
This is an English pronunciation lesson for doctors, nurses and other health and medical professionals. Correct over 15 important words and practice them in sentences.
Medical Terminology - The Basics - Lesson 1 (2017)
Medical Terminology, Lesson 1: Introduction to Numbers, Locations, Colors, Body Systems and Organs. Also available Medical Terminology, Lesson 2: Introduction to Medical Conditions, Processes and Medical/Surgical Procedures & Medical Terminology, Lesson 3: Prefixes and Suffixes of Medical Conditions and Processes, Introduction to Blood and Electrolyte Markers and Indicators
Medical Terminology (2011)
How to approach medical terms by breaking them up into pieces (prefix, root, suffix). Terms relating to parts of the body, direction, rate, amount, medical procedures and diseases are introduced.
Medical terms - common prefixes (2016)
A review of the common medical prefixes.
Medical Terminology Introduction (2015)
If you ever thought that medical terminology was too complicated for you, here's a great introduction. It will take some of the mystery out of medical language.
Anatomical Terms of Direction and Planes of Section
Success in anatomy and the medical field requires the ability to precisely describe locations of structures in the body. This video is an introduction to the terminology of anatomical directions, the anatomical position and planes of section.
PDF Guidelines - Medical Terminology - Health Services Assistance
WA Clinical Handover Guideline (2017)
The objective of the Clinical Handover Policy (MP 0095/18) is to ensure clinical handover is conducted in a similarly structured manner across WA Health Service Providers. The requirements of this Policy are supported by the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (2nd ed.).
Clinical Handover matrix (2019)
In order to provide optimal patient care by accurately handing over clinical information and ensuring that responsibility and accountability of each patient’s care is clearly defined.
Clinical risk management Guidelines (2019)
A key part of the clinical risk management process is to establish, implement and review controls to address risks. Controls are policies, processes, checklists, actions and safeguards that are actually in place to address risks.
Physical Books in the Library - Medical Terminology - Health Services Assistance
The A-Z of medical terms (2017)
This colourful pocket-sized spiral bound book describes alphabetically the main anatomical terms, including prefixes and suffixes.
The Language of Medicine 12th ed. (2020)
Request it through the Library Catalogue. Using Chabner's proven method of learning medical terms by studying them in the context of the human body, this highly-praised and best-selling text helps individuals of all educational backgrounds easily understand and remember important medical terminology by incorporating easy-to-follow explanations, logical and interesting examples, and countless reinforcement exercises.
Medical Terminology (2017)
Now packed with new illustrations and more clinically relevant than ever before, this fully updated Guide helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any health care setting. To help students learn both medical terms and how they are used in real-world settings, this reader-friendly book demonstrates how medical terms are built from word parts, introduces body structures, diseases, and treatments, and covers each body system. .
Medical Terminology for Health Professions (2016)
Emphasizing current, relevant terms, this title simplifies the process of memorizing complex medical terminology by focusing on the important word parts;common prefixes, suffixes and root words;to provide a foundation for learning hundreds of medical terms. Organized by body systems, chapters begin with an overview of the terminology related to the body's structures and functions, proceed through diseases and disorders, and end with diagnostic procedures and treatments.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy (2017)
Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings
Quick and Easy Medical Terminology (2020)
This clear, concise text presents small bits of information followed immediately by a test for comprehension using a combination of programmed and traditional review questions. The ninth edition includes new medical reports with review exercises that are similar to those seen in the clinical setting, plus help from the companion Evolve site, Quick & Easy Medical Terminology gives you simple tools for good communication in the health care environment.
Exploring medical language : a student-directed approach. 11th Edition (2021)
A combination text/workbook provides exercises that make it easy to build an understanding of medical terminology.
Organized by body system, medical terms are divided into two categories:
1) Words built from word parts,
2) Words NOT built from word parts.
Fun and engaging exercises help you first learn word parts and then learn how to combine the parts into full medical terms that make sense.
The text also comes packaged with paper flashcards.
Mosby's medical terminology flash cards. (2018)
For Use in Class and Library : This set of flash cards is designed to help the user succeed in mastering the language of modern health care. The flash cards consist of three color-coded component parts: prefix cards, suffix cards and combining form cards. The front of the card shows the component word part while the back of the card shows the definition of the example term and in most cases a color illustration of the example
Websites - Medical Terminology - Health Services Assistance
Abbreviations - MSD Manual
List of commonly used abbreviations
Acceptable Prescribing Terms and Abbreviations - WA Health Department
PDF POSTERS:
Acceptable prescribing terms and abbreviations- lanyard card (PDF 186KB)
Acceptable prescribing terms and abbreviations - poster (PDF 874KB)
Clinical handover - What is clinical handover? (Government of Western Australia, Department of Health)
Home Clinical handover
Clinical handover
What is clinical handover?
Clinical handover is:
"...is an explicit transfer of information supporting the transfer of clinical accountability and responsibility between healthcare professionals to enable continuity of care for the patient”.
Failure in clinical handover is a major source of preventable patient harm.
Clinical risk management. (Government of Western Australia, Department of Health)
Clinical risk management is about minimising risks and harm to patients by:
identifying what can and does go wrong during care
understanding the factors that influence this
learning lessons from adverse events and poor outcomes
ensuring action is taken to prevent recurrence
putting systems in place to reduce risks
Community Health Clinical Nursing Manual - Evidence-based policies, procedures, and professional guidelines for Community Health professionals
These resources provide evidence-based policies, procedures, and professional guidelines for Child and Adolescent Community Health professionals in Western Australia.
These policy documents were developed to assist in the achievement of an optimum standard of community health care to children, young people, and their families.
They are primarily designed for use by Community Health staff so may contain links that are not accessible externally.
All policy documents must be read in conjunction with the CAHS Clinical Disclaimer.
If you encounter any problems or want to provide feedback, please email us at childcommunity@health.wa.gov.au.
Documenting information communication for safety resource portal
Key messages
Waht are the different types of clinical documents in health care
The Health Care Record
English for Nurses and Medical Professionals
These pages can help nurses, doctors, pharmacists, paramedics, receptionists, specialists or even those who volunteer. They will help you learn some basic English expressions and vocabulary related to the medical field.
Medical Terminology and Word Building (Global RPH)
Medical terminology is composed of a prefix, root word, and suffix:
Prefix: A prefix is placed at the beginning of a word to modify or change its meaning. Pre means "before." Prefixes may also indicate a location, number, or time.
Root: central part of a word.
Suffix: The ending part of a word that modifies the meaning of the word.
Additional resources: [Intro to med terms] [Med terms rules] [Med term reference] [Word building reference] [Practice Exams]
Medication safety resources - WA Health Dept.
List of PDF's in relation to medications and prescribing them.
Pronunciations
Learn how to pronounce medical words
Recommendations for terminology, abbreviations and symbols used in medicines documentation - Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
One of the major causes of medication errors is the use of error-prone abbreviations and dose expressions. To promote patient safety, the Recommendations for Terminology, Abbreviations and Symbols used in Medicines Documentation sets out principles for safe, clear and consistent terminology for medicines, and safe terms, abbreviations and dose designations for medicines.
Understanding Medical Words
This tutorial teaches you about medical words. You'll learn how parts of medical words are put together. You'll also find quizzes to check what you've learned.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Medical Terminology (2013)
This handbook shows readers how to master medicine's core terminology so they can successfully pass their academic courses and certification tests. It introduces readers to Greek and Latin roots and provides an outline of the body's systems, an explanation of the body's physiology, and a primer on commonly used terms for diseases, injuries, conditions, tests, and procedures.
Dictionary of Nursing 2nd ed. (2008)
Over 11,000 entries, each providing clear, up-to-date coverage of specialist nursing terms including diseases, symptoms, anatomy, instruments, common drugs and biological terms. It covers both everyday vocabulary relating to patient care and terms from medical specialisations such as psychiatry. It provides the user with a complete guide to the vocabulary likely to be encountered by nurses (and other health care professionals) in their day-to-day work.
Medical Terminology for Dummies (2019)
Every job in the medical field needs some background in medical terminology. From the check-in desk to the doctor to the pharmaceutical sales rep, and everyone around and in between, healthcare professionals and those in adjacent fields use a common and consistent vocabulary to improve quality, safety, and efficiency.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy. (2019)
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease 14th Ed. (2020)
Memmler's The Human Body in Health and Disease, Fourteenth Edition is a textbook for introductory-level allied health and nursing students who need a basic understanding of anatomy and physiology, the interrelationships between structure and function, and the effects of disease on body systems.
Bailliere's Dictionary for Nurses and Health Care Workers (2019)
For a variety of settings raging from the high-tech high-dependency environment to primary care and community settings
Clear artwork helps further clarify terms and difficult concepts
Includes common abbreviations, prefixes, suffixes and roots, together with units of measurement and normal values
Helpful appendices cover nutrition, resuscitation, first aid, medicines control, immunization and vaccinations, and prevention and control of infection
Black's Medical Dictionary. (2009)
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professsionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It containsover 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations. This new edition contains new materialon: - HPV vaccine : the vaccine now given to all young girls to protect against cervical cancer - Monoclonal Antibodies: the `designer' drugs of the future - The new guidelines for fibroid treatment - Endoscopy and laparoscopy - the more and more widely used types of keyhole surgery - Coronary angioplasty: the emergency tretament of heart attacks - The latest on MRSA and stem cell research
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions (2017)
With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases.
As well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions,
and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts.
Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more.
Updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
The A-Z of medical terms (2017)
This colourful pocket-sized spiral bound book describes alphabetically the main anatomical terms, including prefixes and suffixes.
The Language of Medicine 12th ed. (2020)
Request it through the Library Catalogue. Using Chabner's proven method of learning medical terms by studying them in the context of the human body, this highly-praised and best-selling text helps individuals of all educational backgrounds easily understand and remember important medical terminology by incorporating easy-to-follow explanations, logical and interesting examples, and countless reinforcement exercises.
Medical Terminology (2017)
Now packed with new illustrations and more clinically relevant than ever before, this fully updated Guide helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any health care setting. To help students learn both medical terms and how they are used in real-world settings, this reader-friendly book demonstrates how medical terms are built from word parts, introduces body structures, diseases, and treatments, and covers each body system. .
Medical Terminology for Health Professions (2016)
Emphasizing current, relevant terms, this title simplifies the process of memorizing complex medical terminology by focusing on the important word parts;common prefixes, suffixes and root words;to provide a foundation for learning hundreds of medical terms. Organized by body systems, chapters begin with an overview of the terminology related to the body's structures and functions, proceed through diseases and disorders, and end with diagnostic procedures and treatments.
Quick and Easy Medical Terminology (2020)
This clear, concise text presents small bits of information followed immediately by a test for comprehension using a combination of programmed and traditional review questions. The ninth edition includes new medical reports with review exercises that are similar to those seen in the clinical setting, plus help from the companion Evolve site, Quick & Easy Medical Terminology gives you simple tools for good communication in the health care environment.
Exploring medical language : a student-directed approach. 11th Edition (2021)
A combination text/workbook provides exercises that make it easy to build an understanding of medical terminology.
Organized by body system, medical terms are divided into two categories:
1) Words built from word parts,
2) Words NOT built from word parts.
Fun and engaging exercises help you first learn word parts and then learn how to combine the parts into full medical terms that make sense.
The text also comes packaged with paper flashcards.
