Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease 14th Ed. (2020)
Memmler's The Human Body in Health and Disease, Fourteenth Edition is a textbook for introductory-level allied health and nursing students who need a basic understanding of anatomy and physiology, the interrelationships between structure and function, and the effects of disease on body systems.
Medical Terminology: an Illustrated Guide : An Illustrated Guide 9th ed. (2020)
Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any health care setting.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy (2019)
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Medical Terminology for Dummies (2019)
Every job in the medical field needs some background in medical terminology. From the check-in desk to the doctor to the pharmaceutical sales rep, and everyone around and in between, healthcare professionals and those in adjacent fields use a common and consistent vocabulary to improve quality, safety, and efficiency.
Black's Medical Dictionary (2009)
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professsionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It containsover 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations. This new edition contains new materialon: - HPV vaccine : the vaccine now given to all young girls to protect against cervical cancer - Monoclonal Antibodies: the `designer' drugs of the future - The new guidelines for fibroid treatment - Endoscopy and laparoscopy - the more and more widely used types of keyhole surgery - Coronary angioplasty: the emergency tretament of heart attacks - The latest on MRSA and stem cell research
Bailliere's Dictionary for Nurses and Health Care Workers (2019)
For a variety of settings raging from the high-tech high-dependency environment to primary care and community settings
Clear artwork helps further clarify terms and difficult concepts
Includes common abbreviations, prefixes, suffixes and roots, together with units of measurement and normal values
Helpful appendices cover nutrition, resuscitation, first aid, medicines control, immunization and vaccinations, and prevention and control of infection
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions (2017)
With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases.
As well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions,
and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts.
Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more.
Updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
To Log into the Library Catalogue and Subscription Databases.
Use your Student/Staff Number & Current Password.
The A-Z of medical terms (2017)
This colourful pocket-sized spiral bound book describes alphabetically the main anatomical terms, including prefixes and suffixes.
Health Services Assistance: Supporting nursing in acute care (2018) Chapter 4
Chapter 4 - Interpret and apply medical terminology appropriately
The Language of Medicine (2016)
An illustrated, easy-to-understand approach presents medical terms within the context of the body's anatomy and physiology, and in health and disease.
Learn a working medical vocabulary built on the most frequently encountered prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms.
Practical exercises and case studies make learning more interesting and demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice.
Medical Terminology (2017)
Now packed with new illustrations and more clinically relevant than ever before, this fully updated Guide helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any health care setting. To help students learn both medical terms and how they are used in real-world settings, this reader-friendly book demonstrates how medical terms are built from word parts, introduces body structures, diseases, and treatments, and covers each body system. .
Medical Terminology for Health Professions (2016)
Emphasizing current, relevant terms, this title simplifies the process of memorizing complex medical terminology by focusing on the important word parts;common prefixes, suffixes and root words;to provide a foundation for learning hundreds of medical terms. Organized by body systems, chapters begin with an overview of the terminology related to the body's structures and functions, proceed through diseases and disorders, and end with diagnostic procedures and treatments.
