It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Serving Alcohol Responsibly"Anyone serving alcohol to customers must do so responsibly. This includes owners and licensees of premises, bar and drinks staff and security and other staff who might make judgements about patron behaviour. It is an ideal resource for learners in hospitality and related courses"--Container.
The Australian Bar Attendant's Handbook by George Ellis"This is the full guide, endorsed by the Australian Hotels Association in relation to the management, service of alcohol and the way in which to run a bar. It is aimed at TAFE students and Food and Beverage Certificate students."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 641.874 ELL
Publication Date: 2012
Bar & Beverage Management by NRA"This text focuses on bar and beverage management topics. It includes essential content plus learning activities, case studies, professional profiles, research topics and more that support course objectives. The text and exam are part of the ManageFirst Program® from the National Restaurant Association (NRA). This edition is created to teach restaurant and hospitality students the core competencies of the Ten Pillars of Restaurant Management. The Ten Pillars of Restaurant Management is a job task analysis created with the input and validation of the industry that clearly indicates what a restaurant management professional must know in order to effectively and efficiently run a safe and profitable operation. The ManageFirst Program training program is based on a set of competencies defined by the restaurant, hospitality and foodservice industry as those needed for success. This competency-based program features 10 topics each with a textbook, online exam prep for students, instructor resources, a certification exam, certificate, and credential. The online exam prep for students is available with each textbook and includes helpful learning modules on test-taking strategies, practice tests for every chapter, a comprehensive cumulative practice test, and more! This textbook includes an exam answer sheet to be used with the paper-and-pencil version of the ManageFirst certification exam."--
Call Number: 647.95068 BAR
Publication Date: 2012
The Essentials of Wine by John P. LaloganesDesigned for a variety of audiences, this book combines a framework for understanding wine and making intelligent food pairing decisions. By emphasizing the basics of wine and the basics of food pairing techniques, it offers content that is relevant to novice and intermediate readers and restaurateurs. Thoroughly class-tested, it includes classic pairing combinations and principles that can be used with New World cuisine. Colorful maps, practice quizzes and pronunciation guides help demystify the subject and guide readers through the maze of wine information.
Call Number: 641.22 LAL
Publication Date: 2009
Food and Beverage Service by John CousinsUnderstand both the key concepts and modern developments within the global food and beverage service industry with this new edition of the internationally respected text.
An invaluable reference for trainers, practitioners and anyone working towards professional qualifications in food and beverage service, this new edition has been thoroughly updated to include a greater focus on the international nature of the hospitality industry. In addition to offering broad and in-depth coverage of concepts, skills and knowledge, it explores how modern trends and technological developments have impacted on food and beverage service globally.
Call Number: 647.95 COU
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Food & Beverage Management by NRAThis text focuses on principles of food and beverage management topics. It includes essential content plus learning activities, case studies, professional profiles, research topics and more that support course objectives.
Call Number: 647.95 PRI
Publication Date: 2012
Your Shout: History of Australian Beer"More than any other ritual in the past 200 years, two people sharing a beer has defined the Australian character. It has brought us together in pubs and at sporting events, lubricating our friendships, quenching our thirst and rewarding our labours at days end. Your Shout is the definitive history of beer in Australia, an untold story that both delights and surprises. This two-part series traces the development of Australia's most familiar beer brands, including Fosters, XXXX, Coopers, VB, West End and Swan and examines how regional variations in beers developed around the nation. Your Shout also tells some of Australia's most colourful stories and yarns about the men and women who have served beer in Australia's public houses in both the cities and in the outback - and takes a look at some of our best-known beer-drinking rituals, including the age-old tradition of the 'shout'. Featuring interviews with historians as well as footage from some of this country's best-known beer advertising campaigns, from early pub art through to the more recent high-end television commercials, Your Shout is the definitive look at our beloved amber nectar"--Container.